OECD Publishing, 2022.

Laws and regulations affect the daily lives of businesses and citizens. It is important that they are designed in a way that takes account of their social, environmental and business impacts and ensures they remain relevant in today’s fast-changing context.

OECD, European Observatory on Health Systems and Policies. OECD Publishing, 2023-

The State of Health in the EU country profiles provide a concise and policy-relevant overview of health and health systems in all EU countries, Iceland and Norway, emphasising the particular characteristics and challenges in each country. They are designed to create a means of mutual learning and voluntary exchanges that support the efforts of countries in their evidence-based policy making. Each country profile provides a short synthesis of: the health status in the country; the determinants of health, focussing on behavioural risk factors; the organisation of the health system; and the effectiveness, accessibility and resilience of the health system. The profiles are the joint work of the OECD and the European Observatory on Health Systems and Policies, in co-operation with the European Commission.

IEA, 2021.

The International Energy Agency (IEA) regularly conducts peer reviews of the energy policies of its member countries. This process supports energy policy development and encourages the exchange of best practices and experiences to help drive secure and affordable energy transitions.

OECD, 2023

This profile identifies strengths, challenges and specific areas of action on cancer prevention and care in Portugal as part of the European Cancer Inequalities Registry, a flagship initiative of Europe’s Beating Cancer Plan. It provides a short synthesis of: the national cancer burden; risk factors for cancer (focusing on behavioural and environmental risk factors); early detection programmes; and cancer care performance (focusing on accessibility, care quality, costs and the impact of COVID-19 on cancer care).

OECD Publishing, 2023.

This reliable source of yearly data covers a wide range of statistics on international trade of OECD countries and provides detailed data in value by commodity and by partner country. The first four volumes each contain the tables for six countries, published in the order in which they become available. The fifth contains seven countries and the sixth volume also includes the OECD country groupings OECD Total and EU28-Extra.

For each country, this publication shows detailed tables relating to the Harmonised System HS 2012 classification, Sections and Divisions (one- and two- digit). Each table presents imports and exports of a given commodity with more than seventy partner countries or country groupings for the most recent five-year period available.

OECD Publishing, 2023.

Global economic developments have begun to improve, helped by lower energy prices, improving business and consumer sentiment, and the reopening of China. However, the OECD Economic Outlook highlights that the upturn is fragile and the recovery is set to remain weak by past standards, with the effects of tighter monetary policy increasingly being felt. The Outlook underlines a range of risks, including the possibility that inflation could prove more persistent than projected and that the impact of higher interest rates on financial markets and economic activity could be stronger than expected. Well-calibrated policy measures are required to unwind the impact of the recent sequence of negative shocks to the global economy, restore economic stability, and strengthen prospects for strong, inclusive and sustainable improvements in living standards.

This issue includes an assessment of the global economic situation, a chapter on promoting gender equality to strengthen economic growth and resilience and a chapter summarising developments and providing projections for each individual country. Coverage is provided for all OECD members as well as for selected partner economies.

OECD Publishing, 2023

The Portuguese economy has rebounded strongly from the COVID-19 crisis. Though high inflation and weak global economic conditions have slowed growth in 2022, renewed fiscal support helped to cushion the impact. Public debt relative to GDP has declined below its 2019 level, but rapid population ageing and strong investment needs are increasing fiscal pressures. Potential growth and productivity gains have declined and skill shortages have emerged. Implementing the ambitious Recovery and Resilience Plan and ensuring fiscal sustainability through more efficient spending and a strengthened fiscal framework are key to a sustained recovery. Streamlining complex administrative processes as part of the public sector’s digitalisation efforts and reviewing regulations in professional services and retail trade can improve productivity. In addition, investment in the green transition should continue to reduce greenhouse gas emissions and strengthen climate resilience, in line with Portugal’s goal of carbon neutrality. At the same time, while life expectancy is high, the health sector is suffering from staff shortages, underinvestment and long waiting lists. Moving towards a more integrated system of primary, community and hospital care could improve the quality of care and value for money. Reforming primary care would also help to improve access for low-income households and limit avoidable hospitalisations.