European University Institute, Gamito Cantero, M., Gentile, G., European University Institute, 2023.

This policy brief outlines the prospects, challenges, and potential directions for the use of artificial intelligence (AI) in the judiciary, using Estonia as a case study. It summarises various perspectives on the use of technology and especially AI in the justice sector drawing on the experience of Estonian judges, administrators, and academics. It further offers policy recommendations for the development, implementation, and use of AI tools and automated decision making (ADM) systems in the judiciary.

The Atlas of demography is an interactive knowledge management tool that enables policymakers and citizens to observe, monitor and anticipate demographic challenges. In the Data section, you can explore population, fertility, mortality and migration at the EU, national, regional and local levels.

European Commission: Joint Research Centre, Bongiardo, D., Chiaramello, D., Dara, A., Cortinovis, R. et al., Atlas of migration 2024, Bongiardo, D.(editor), Dara, A.(editor), Crespi, I.(editor) and Sofos, I.(editor), Publications Office of the European Union, 2024.

The Atlas of Migration is more than just a publication—it is a testament to the power of data and rigorous analysis in illuminating the multifaceted nature of migratory movements. The 2024 edition of the Atlas continues to serve as a vital tool for policymakers, researchers and the public at large, offering a wealth of data to cut through the confusion and misinformation that often surrounds the discourse on migration. The Atlas provides the latest harmonised and validated data on migration for the 27 EU Member States and for 171 countries and territories around the world. It brings together data from many reliable sources, such as Eurostat, the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees, the United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs, the European Commission’s Directorate-General for Migration and Home Affairs, the World Bank and many others. This year’s thematic chapter of the Atlas delves into the nuanced motivations behind migration, moving beyond simplified narratives in favour of a more comprehensive view that acknowledges the diverse and often overlapping reasons that propel individuals to move.

Cohesion Open Data provides transparent data to EU taxpayers on the use of EU budget funds.

In order to address the diversity of country and territory codes and names used in the EU institutions, the European Commission has developed a corporate code list of countries and territories that covers the different use cases its services have.

European Union, Directorate General for Justice and Consumers, Publications Office of the European Union, 2024.

The European Commission’s Gender Equality Strategy 2020-2025 sets the current framework for EU action to promote one of its fundamental values, equality between women and men. The report focuses on key actions and achievements on gender equality by EU institutions and Estonia.

European Commission: Directorate-General for Justice and Consumers and Sepper, M., Publications Office of the European Union, 2024.

This country page links to recent analytical work on the economy of Estonia.

European Commission, Directorate General for Education, Youth, Sport and Culture, Publications Office of the European Union, 2023.

The Education and Training Monitor’s country reports present and assess the main recent and ongoing policy development at all education levels in EU Member States. They give the reader more in-depth insight into the performance of a country as regards the EU-level targets agreed within the European Education Area. They are based on the most up-to-date quantitative and qualitative evidence available. The Key indicators section presents a statistical overview of the main education and training indicators. Section 1 focuses on the attractiveness of the teaching profession against a backdrop of teacher shortages. Section 2 covers early childhood education and care. Section 3 deals with school education policies. Section 4 covers vocational education. Section 5 discusses measures in higher education. Section 6 covers adult learning.

European Investment Bank, 2024.

This unique insight into the corporate investment in Estonia examines companies' finance needs and the constraints they face. The 2023 edition also provides insight into the pressing issues facing firms, such as climate change, high energy costs and the green transition. The survey, which has been administered since 2016, covers about 13 000 firms across the European Union, including a small sample of US firms.

European Commission, Directorate General for Environment, Publications Office of the European Union, 2022.

Europe has ambitious laws and policies to protect air and water, to promote the circular economy, prevent waste generation, raise recycling rates, and safeguard nature. Implementation is key to achieving environmental objectives, and meeting obligations as defined by the EU environmental legislation. In 2016, the Commission undertook to report regularly on the state of the implementation of EU environmental legislation.

European Commission, Directorate-General for Climate Action, Publications Office of the European Union, 2022.

To fight the climate crisis, the EU’s goal is to cut its net greenhouse gas emissions by 55% by 2030. For Estonia, this means reducing emissions by 24% by 2030 in sectors outside the EU Emissions Trading System, compared to 2005. These include emissions from transport, buildings, agriculture and waste. To get there, the European Commission estimates that at least 37% of Estonia’s final energy consumption would need to come from renewable sources by 2030. Equally, with a national energy efficiency target of 42% by 2030, there is potential for Estonia to contribute more to the proposed EU-wide goals of 39% for primary energy consumption and 36% for final energy consumption.

European Commission, Directorate-General for Economic and Financial Affairs, Publications Office of the European Union, 2023.

European Economy Institutional Papers are important reports analysing the economic situation and economic developments prepared by the European Commission's Directorate-General for Economic and Financial Affairs, which serve to underpin economic policy-making by the European Commission, the Council of the European Union and the European Parliament.

The country profile on food safety is a compilation of key information for each Member State used by European Commission’s Directorate-General for Health and Food Safety to support its control and monitoring activities.

European Commission, Directorate-General for Regional and Urban Policy, Publications Office of the European Union, 2022.

Estonia’s green objectives: cease electricity production from oil shale by 2035; phase out oil shale in energy production by 2040; climate neutrality by 2050 in line with the Green Deal objectives.

European Commission, Directorate-General for Structural Reform Support, Publications Office of the European Union, 2023.

The country reports present an overview of the characteristics and recent developments in the public administrations in the Member States (EU-27) from a qualitative and quantitative perspective. They are based on analytical work carried out under the “European Public Administration Country Knowledge” (EUPACK) project.

Ooijen, C., et al. Publications Office of the European Union, 2023.

This report is the first in a series of four that aims to establish a standard methodology for open data impact assessments that can be used across Europe. This exercise is key because a consistent definition of the impact of open data does not exist. The lack of a robust, conceptual foundation has made it more difficult for data portals to demonstrate their value through empirical evidence. It also challenges the EU’s ability to understand and compare performance across Member States.