In today's rapidly evolving manufacturing landscape, the future competitiveness for manufacturers hinges on three interlinked paradigms: 1. Circular Economy Models for Zero-Waste Product Lifecycles: The shift from traditional linear models to circular ones is increasingly crucial. Circular strategies extend product lifecycles, optimize resource use, and open new revenue streams, ultimately bolstering resilience, competitiveness and customer relationships. 2. Sustainable Manufacturing Through Decarbonization: As global awareness around sustainability grows, the push toward decarbonized manufacturing processes is no longer optional. Such an approach minimizes environmental impact while aligning with international sustainability goals. 3. Digital Enablement for Paradigm Transformation: Digitization serves as the lynchpin in realizing cleaner manufacturing and circular economy objectives. Tools like the Digital Product Passport (DPP) empower manufacturers to achieve transparency, encourage collaboration, and create unmatched business value, expediting the transition to sustainable and circular manufacturing. One of the most pressing challenges for manufacturers today is achieving the transition to cleaner and circular business models in a financially viable way.

First published in 1989, The Competitiveness of European Industry helps in developing our understanding of the process of improving and measuring industrial competitiveness. The contributors focus on the competitiveness of European industry. Three main topics are discussed: the concept of competitiveness itself; what can be learned about competitiveness at the level of an individual national economy; and processes and strategies in forms which might contribute to improved competitive performance. The first two papers critically assess concepts and measures of national competitiveness and review the performances of the economies of Britain, France, and the Federal German Republic. Then follow accounts of industrial competitiveness in three smaller economies (Belgium, Switzerland, and Sweden), which develop a series of methods and techniques for the analysis of industrial structures and indicate significant policy implications. The three concluding papers look at the competitiveness of British industry at the firm level, focusing on the strategic changes, the competitive process, and technical innovation.

This book delves into contemporary business analytics techniques across sectors for critical decision-making. It combines data, mathematical and statistical models, and information technology to present alternatives for decision evaluation. Offering systematic mechanisms, it explores business contexts, factors, and relationships to foster competitiveness. Beyond managerial perspectives, it includes contributions from professionals, academics, and scholars worldwide, delivering comprehensive knowledge and skills through diverse viewpoints, cases, and applications of analytical tools.

The global energy transition will be a game-changer for global politics. The field of energy geopolitics hence is changing fast, providing challenges, opportunities and variable outcomes for states across the world. The academic scholarship on the geopolitics of renewables has expanded exponentially over the last decade focusing on winners vs losers, conflict vs cooperation and establishing initial expectations and general propositions regarding the outcomes of the global energy transition. Cases studies, however, have been far and few, and appear in book chapters or, more rarely, journal articles. Overall, there is a dearth of academic monographs examining in depth how specific actors in the global system approach new energy geopolitics, how they are impacted by the global energy transition, and how this links with their grand strategy. This short monograph aims to fill this gap by offering an up-to-date case study of EU energy geopolitics. Grounded upon the sub-field of energy geopolitics, it produces a conceptual framework linking the global energy transition with EU grand strategy to assess how it impacts EU's position in the global system, as well as the strategic gains, trade-offs and risks implicated.

This book offers valuable insights into the reconfiguration of Global Value Chains (GVCs) in manufacturing industries and the diverse managerial responses at the firm level. Focusing on small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) from developed economies, the authors explore key intersections between firm strategies, competitiveness, and value-chain analysis, presenting new directions for both managerial practice and research. In response to the rapidly evolving global landscape, the book argues that manufacturing industries must reconfigure into shorter, more regionalized GVCs to improve resilience, balance cost efficiency with sustainability, and better withstand external shocks. The authors analyze three major trends: reshoring (bringing production back home), SMEs' upgrading within GVCs with a focus on social and environmental improvements, and the rise of governance structures rooted in trust and relational capital. By offering in-depth studies of the featured SMEs, the book provides guidelines for redesigning strategies and public policies that enhance SMEs' performance in the modern global context.

This book presents a series of applications of different techniques found in Industry 4.0 with relation to productivity, continuous improvement, quality, decision systems, software development, and automation systems. The techniques used throughout this book allow the reader to replicate the results obtained towards different types of companies that wish to undertake in the new era of the digital industrial revolution. This book can also help students from different areas of engineering to understand how the use of new technologies is applied to solve current relevant problems and how they give the possibility of constant innovation in the different industrial sectors.

The book provides a theoretically sound and practical approach to systematically developing an innovation strategy using new strategic tools, thereby ensuring a company's long-term competitiveness. The strategic foundations for innovation are developed step by step and clearly explained using an innovation framework. In this new understanding of strategy, a company follows a Two-Stars-Strategy. It consists of a present-oriented part and a future-oriented part. This way, companies align themselves simultaneously with two future stars. Learn the path to becoming an innovative company and sustainably enhance your company's innovation performance and future viability. This book is a translation of the original German edition "Innovationsstrategie" by Huber et al., published by Springer-Verlag Germany in 2023. The translation was done with the help of artificial intelligence.

This book focused specifically on the newly emerging issues related to the development of green science/technology, and green economy toward Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). It covers three parts, namely (1) socioeconomic science, (2) environmental science, and (3) development of green technology and economy, each consisting of five to six chapters. The topics covered are meant not only to introduce the basic concepts of green science and technology related to the development of green economy, but also address the challenges, policy instruments, international initiatives and prospective and perspective. More importantly, it presents several innovative idea, indicators and methodologies regarding the measurement of industrial transformation, resource efficiency, green competitiveness, and green trade. To facilitate research innovation/integration and meet the needs for comprehensive education on sustainable development, the book covers a wide range of sectors of major concern in the development of green technology and economy, including green energy, green transportation, green building, green agriculture, and green tourism. The book also features innovation technology and integrated management pervasively adopted worldwide and several unanimous case studies.

This book analyzes the competitiveness of European regions and presents forecasts for 2030 and 2100 under different climate scenarios. It examines the economic impact of climate change from a regional economic perspective and sheds light on various factors that influence regional competitiveness and development. Furthermore, the authors derive reflections on EU climate policy and policy recommendations from the empirical results, which will help both scientists and regional decision-makers to implement policy measures and develop successful adaptation processes for the regions and countries of the EU to climate change.

This book builds an information platform on China's industrial competitiveness, providing scientific design and application case studies for integrated analysis and decision-making facilities and mechanisms for enterprises, industries, financial institutions and governments, which can make up for the lack of adequate information in China's market operations, especially the problems of duplicate construction and vicious competition aggravated by the lack of systematically processed industrial information. This book not only pursues innovation in technical methods and application theories but also pursues the collection, processing and collation of relevant domestic and international data and development and application so as to provide primary results for an industrial competitiveness database adapted to government management needs. The research is closely related to the actual problems in China and extensively uses statistical data to make various model analyses, which has a relativelysizeable academic value.

This book provides a comprehensive exploration of semiconductor supply chain localization, offering insights into the formulation of effective strategies and ways to enhance the competitiveness and sustainability of semiconductor manufacturers through supply chain localization. The semiconductor industry is currently witnessing a significant localization wave, with a growing trend of wafer foundries relocating their production capacity closer to chip designers. This shift is primarily driven by factors such as the US-China trade war, geopolitical considerations, the impact of Covid-19, the Russia-Ukraine conflict, and the increasing importance of environmental awareness. By localizing semiconductor supply chains, companies can effectively address these challenges while also improving their competitive edge and ensuring long-term sustainability in the face of political and war risks. However, achieving supply chain localization in the semiconductor industry is a complex endeavor, as traditional factors considered in semiconductor supply chain management may no longer be decisive. Moreover, existing research on the subject is often scattered across various journal issues and conference proceedings, necessitating a systematic integration of these findings. Furthermore, most of the available supply chain management-related books do not specifically focus on this topic.