European Commission: Joint Research Centre, Bongiardo, D., Chiaramello, D., Dara, A., Cortinovis, R. et al., Atlas of migration 2024, Bongiardo, D.(editor), Dara, A.(editor), Crespi, I.(editor) and Sofos, I.(editor), Publications Office of the European Union, 2024.

The Atlas of Migration is more than just a publication—it is a testament to the power of data and rigorous analysis in illuminating the multifaceted nature of migratory movements. The 2024 edition of the Atlas continues to serve as a vital tool for policymakers, researchers and the public at large, offering a wealth of data to cut through the confusion and misinformation that often surrounds the discourse on migration. The Atlas provides the latest harmonised and validated data on migration for the 27 EU Member States and for 171 countries and territories around the world. It brings together data from many reliable sources, such as Eurostat, the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees, the United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs, the European Commission’s Directorate-General for Migration and Home Affairs, the World Bank and many others. This year’s thematic chapter of the Atlas delves into the nuanced motivations behind migration, moving beyond simplified narratives in favour of a more comprehensive view that acknowledges the diverse and often overlapping reasons that propel individuals to move.

European Commission: Directorate-General for Mobility and Transport, Vanhaverbeke, L., Verbist, D., Van den Steen, N. and Csukas, M., Consumer monitor 2024 – Country report – Austria, Publications Office of the European Union, 2025, https://data.europa.eu/doi/10.2832/9438022

This report highlights the main findings of the 2024 EAFO Consumer Monitor survey and presents the results for Austria.

In order to address the diversity of country and territory codes and names used in the EU institutions, the European Commission has developed a corporate code list of countries and territories that covers the different use cases its services have.

European Commission: Directorate-General for Justice and Consumers and Guerrero, M., Publications Office of the European Union, 2024.

Austria is a federal republic. Its legislation is based on the constitutional principles of the Federal Constitutional Act (Bundes-Verfassungsgesetz)1 and additional constitutional legislation which can be found in a variety of legal sources. Apart from this, there are state constitutional acts for the nine Austrian states (Bundesländer). State constitutional law may not contradict federal constitutional law. On a non-constitutional level, however, there is no hierarchy between state and federal law. Constitutional changes usually require a two-thirds majority of votes in the national/state parliament(s) (Nationalrat/Landtage). For changes to non-constitutional law, a simple majority will generally suffice.

European Commission: Directorate-General for Justice and Consumers and Schindlauer, D., Publications Office of the European Union, 2024

The Austrian federal legislature has implemented legislation covering the complete scope of the directives. In the area of employment (public and private), all the grounds are protected. Ethnic affiliation and disability are further protected grounds in the area of access to and supply of goods and services, while the broadest scope of protection (including education, health and social protection/security) is in place for the ground of ethnic affiliation only. Provincial legislations have, within the limit of their competence, broadened the scope of protection beyond the workplace for all grounds. Therefore, there is protection for all grounds in relation to employment, access to and supply of goods and services, education, health and social protection/security. The provincial powers are especially important with regard to housing, social benefits, health and education. Regarding social benefits, several provinces (Upper Austria, Tyrol and Lower Austria) have initiated a policy of issuing legislation to restrict access to social benefits for migrants and refugees.

European Commission: Directorate-General for Education, Youth, Sport and Culture, Education and training monitor 2024 – Austria, Publications Office of the European Union, 2024, https://data.europa.eu/doi/10.2766/763132

The Education and Training Monitor’s country reports present and assess the main recent and ongoing policy development at all education levels in the 27 EU Member States. They give the reader more in-depth insight into the performance of a country as regards the EU-level targets agreed within the European Education Area. They are based on the latest available evidence. The Key indicators section presents a statistical overview of the main education and training indicators. Section 1 focuses on learning for sustainability. Section 2 covers early childhood education and care. Section 3 deals with school education policies. Section 4 covers vocational education. Section 5 discusses measures in higher education. Section 6 covers adult learning.

European Investment Bank and Ipsos Public Affairs, EIB investment survey 2024 – Austria overview, European Investment Bank, 2025, https://data.europa.eu/doi/10.2867/614467

This unique insight into the corporate investment in Austria examines companies' finance needs and the constraints they face. The 2024 edition also provides insight into the pressing issues facing firms, such as climate change, high energy costs and the green transition. The survey, which has been administered since 2016, covers about 13 000 firms across the European Union, including a small sample of US firms.

European Commission, Directorate-General for Environment. Publications Office of the European Union, 2022.

Austria's revenue from environmentally relevant taxes remains close to the EU average. Environmental taxes stood at 2.3 % of GDP in 2019 (EU-27 average: 2.37 %). The largest portion of the environmental taxes were the energy taxes at 1.42% of GDP, against an EU average of 1.84 %. Transport taxes represented 0.86% of GDP (EU average being 0.45%), taxes on pollution and resources represented only 0.2%. ln the same year, the environmental tax came to 5.34 % of total revenues from taxes and social security contributions (slightly below the EU average of 5.76 %).

European Commission, Directorate-General for Environment. Publications Office of the European Union, 2022.

Europe has ambitious laws and policies to protect air and water, to promote the circular economy, prevent waste generation, raise recycling rates, and safeguard nature. Implementation is key to achieving environmental objectives, and meeting obligations as defined by the EU environmental legislation. In 2016, the Commission undertook to report regularly on the state of the implementation of EU environmental legislation. It launched the Environmental Implementation Review (EIR), a tool that helps Member States address systemic obstacles to environmental integration by identifying the causes behind poor implementation and by sharing good practices through peer-to-peer support.

Mazzon, A., Fuchs, M. and Wohlgemuth, F., EUROMOD country report – Austria – 2021-2024, Mazzon, A.(editor), Publications Office of the European Union, 2025, https://data.europa.eu/doi/10.2760/5124408

This report documents the work done in the most recent annual update for Finland. This work was carried out by the EUROMOD core development team, based at the JRC in Seville, in collaboration with the national team.

European Commission: Directorate-General for Environment, Stevens & Bolton LLP and Fogleman, V., Facilitating enforcement of the Environmental Liability Directive (ELD) by competent authorities – Austria, Publications Office of the European Union, 2025, https://data.europa.eu/doi/10.2779/813647

There were no ELD occurrences in Austria between 30 April 2007 and 1 November 2021. Competent authorities considered various environmental damage occurrences to determine whether they were ELD occurrences but determined that they were not such occurrences. In this respect, Austria has very strict legislation to protect water and soil. The Water Management Act (Wasserrechtsgesetz; WRG) in particular was a model for strict legislation to protect soil. Competent authorities tend to implement national environmental legislation, in particular the Waste Management Act 2002 (Abfallwirtschaftsgesetz; AWG) and the Water Management Act instead of national ELD legislation.

European Commission: Directorate-General for Structural Reform Support, Public administration and governance – Austria, 2023, Publications Office of the European Union, 2025, https://data.europa.eu/doi/10.2887/2392565

Overall, in 2022 government effectiveness in Austria was above the EU-27 average, ranking in the top third, and remained stable compared with 2019 (before the impact of COVID-19). The stability of government effectiveness reflects the overall stability of institutions in Austria and the pace at which (major) reforms, such as those concerning employment regulations in the public sector, the structure of healthcare provision or the funding of care services are developed and undertaken.

European Commission: Directorate-General for Taxation and Customs Union, Center for Social and Economic Research (CASE), Oxford Economics, Syntesia, Poniatowski, G. et al., VAT gap in the EU – Country report 2024 – Austria, Publications Office of the European Union, 2025, https://data.europa.eu/doi/10.2778/2916600

The VAT Gap represents the difference between expected VAT revenues and those actually collected, reflecting compliance challenges, policy inefficiencies, and enforcement gaps. As part of the European Commission’s ongoing efforts to improve VAT compliance and revenue collection, these 27 country reports provide in-depth analyses of the VAT Gap at a national level. Each report offers a detailed examination of a specific Member State’s VAT Gap trends, key drivers, and the impact of policy measures. By breaking down the data country by country, the reports serve as essential resources for national tax administrations, policymakers, and researchers seeking targeted insights without navigating the full EU-wide analysis.