European Commission: Joint Research Centre, Bongiardo, D., Chiaramello, D., Dara, A., Cortinovis, R. et al., Atlas of migration 2024, Bongiardo, D.(editor), Dara, A.(editor), Crespi, I.(editor) and Sofos, I.(editor), Publications Office of the European Union, 2024.

The Atlas of Migration is more than just a publication—it is a testament to the power of data and rigorous analysis in illuminating the multifaceted nature of migratory movements. The 2024 edition of the Atlas continues to serve as a vital tool for policymakers, researchers and the public at large, offering a wealth of data to cut through the confusion and misinformation that often surrounds the discourse on migration. The Atlas provides the latest harmonised and validated data on migration for the 27 EU Member States and for 171 countries and territories around the world. It brings together data from many reliable sources, such as Eurostat, the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees, the United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs, the European Commission’s Directorate-General for Migration and Home Affairs, the World Bank and many others. This year’s thematic chapter of the Atlas delves into the nuanced motivations behind migration, moving beyond simplified narratives in favour of a more comprehensive view that acknowledges the diverse and often overlapping reasons that propel individuals to move.

Cohesion Open Data provides transparent data to EU taxpayers on the use of EU budget funds.

In order to address the diversity of country and territory codes and names used in the EU institutions, the European Commission has developed a corporate code list of countries and territories that covers the different use cases its services have.

European Commission: Directorate-General for Justice and Consumers and Pavlou, V., Country report, gender equality – How are EU rules transposed into national law? – Cyprus 2024, Publications Office of the European Union, 2024.

Cyprus is a unitary presidential republic. Until 1960, when Cyprus became independent, the legal system was based on the English legal system, which applied the principles of common law and equity. Following independence in 1960 the English legal system was largely preserved. Currently, the following laws are applicable: the Constitution, the laws in force under Article 188 of the Constitution, the principles of common law and equity and the laws enacted by the Parliament. With the accession to the EU, the Constitution of Cyprus was amended to incorporate the supremacy of EU law over national law.

European Commission: Directorate-General for Justice and Consumers, human european consultancy, Migration Policy Group, Universiteit Utrecht and Demetriou, C., Country report non-discrimination – Transposition and implementation at national level of Council Directives 2000/43 and 2000/78 – Cyprus 2024, Publications Office of the European Union, 2024, https://data.europa.eu/doi/10.2838/258369

Cyprus was granted independence in 1960 with a constitution that set out a power-sharing system, strictly communally divided between the ‘Greeks’ and the ‘Turks’. The Constitution recognises two ‘communities’, the Greeks and the Turks, and three ‘religious groups’, the Maronites, the Armenians and the Latins. The religious groups were obliged to opt to belong to one of the ‘communities’, and opted to belong to the Greek community. The Roma community of Cyprus was not invited to choose which community to belong to, but was deemed to belong to the Turkish community, because of its assumed common language (Turkish) and religion (Muslim) with the Turkish Cypriots.

European Commission: Directorate-General for Education, Youth, Sport and Culture, Education and training monitor 2024 – Cyprus, Publications Office of the European Union, 2024, https://data.europa.eu/doi/10.2766/16539

The Education and Training Monitor’s country reports present and assess the main recent and ongoing policy development at all education levels in the 27 EU Member States. They give the reader more in-depth insight into the performance of a country as regards the EU-level targets agreed within the European Education Area. They are based on the latest available evidence. The Key indicators section presents a statistical overview of the main education and training indicators. Section 1 focuses on learning for sustainability. Section 2 covers early childhood education and care. Section 3 deals with school education policies. Section 4 covers vocational education. Section 5 discusses measures in higher education. Section 6 covers adult learning.

European Investment Bank and Ipsos Public Affairs, EIB investment survey 2024 – Cyprus overview, European Investment Bank, 2025, https://data.europa.eu/doi/10.2867/692147

This unique insight into the corporate investment in Cyprus examines companies' finance needs and the constraints they face. The 2024 edition also provides insight into the pressing issues facing firms, such as climate change, high energy costs and the green transition. The survey, which has been administered since 2016, covers about 13 000 firms across the European Union, including a small sample of US firms.

Grunberger, K., Andreou, E., Kaourma, T., Markides, C., Nearchou, P. et al., EUROMOD country report – Cyprus – 2021-2024, Grunberger, K.(editor), Publications Office of the European Union, 2025, https://data.europa.eu/doi/10.2760/2269609

This report documents the work done in the most recent annual update for Cyprus. This work was carried out by the EUROMOD core development team, based at the JRC in Seville, in collaboration with the national team

European Commission: Directorate-General for Environment, Stevens & Bolton LLP and Fogleman, V., Facilitating enforcement of the Environmental Liability Directive (ELD) by competent authorities – Cyprus, Publications Office of the European Union, 2025, https://data.europa.eu/doi/10.2779/636480

There were two ELD occurrences in Cyprus up to November 2021. One occurrence involved damage to protected species and natural habitats. The other occurrence involved an imminent threat of environmental damage (threat to human health and the environment (air, soil and waters).

The country profile on food safety is a compilation of key information for each Member State used by European Commission’s Directorate-General for Health and Food Safety to support its control and monitoring activities.

European Institute for Gender Equality, 2024.

With a score of 60.9 out of 100, Cyprus ranks 20th in the Gender Equality Index 2024, 9.1 points below the EU score. Since last year’s edition, Cyprus’s score has increased by only 0.2 points1. The main improvements have been in the domains of work (+ 0.8 points, driven by the participation sub-domain) and money (+ 0.8 points, mostly within the financial resources sub-domain). Cyprus also registered a 0.4-point decrease in the domain of power (especially in the social sub-domain), continuing the trend initiated in 2020. Since 2010, Cyprus’s overall score has increased by 11.9 points, with improvements in all domains and especially in the domain of power (+ 13.4 points).

European Commission: Directorate-General for Economic and Financial Affairs, In-depth review 2025 – Cyprus, Publications Office of the European Union, 2025, https://data.europa.eu/doi/10.2765/28583

This in-depth review presents the main findings of the Commission’s staff assessment of macroeconomic vulnerabilities for Cyprus for the purposes of Regulation (EU) No 1176/2011 on the prevention and correction of macroeconomic imbalances. It provides technical input to the Commission for the Communication “European Semester – 2025 Spring Package” that will set out the Commission’s assessment as to the existence of imbalances or excessive imbalances in Cyprus. That Communication will be published in June 2025.

European Commission: Directorate-General for Communication, Media use in the European Union – Eurobarometer report, European Commission, 2024, https://data.europa.eu/doi/10.2775/8195308

Standard Eurobarometer 102 Autumn 2024 3 The Standard Eurobarometer 102.2 (ST102) survey of autumn 2024 was conducted from 10 October to 5 November 2024 in 38 countries or territories: the 27 Member States of the European Union (EU), eight candidate countries (Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, Moldova, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Serbia and Türkiye), the Turkish Cypriot Community in the part of the country not controlled by the Government of the Republic of Cyprus, as well as in Kosovo, and the United Kingdom. The full report of the Standard Eurobarometer 102 survey consists of multiple volumes.

European Commission: Directorate-General for Economic and Financial Affairs, Post-programme surveillance report – Cyprus, autumn 2024, Publications Office of the European Union, 2024, https://data.europa.eu/doi/10.2765/966254

The 17th post-programme surveillance mission to Cyprus took place from 30 September to 7 October 2024. This mission involved European Commission staff in liaison with European Central Bank (ECB) staff. European Stability Mechanism (ESM) staff participated on aspects relating to the ESM’s Early Warning System.

European Commission: Directorate-General for Structural Reform Support, Public administration and governance – Cyprus, 2023, Publications Office of the European Union, 2025, https://data.europa.eu/doi/10.2887/6500302

Overall, in 2022, Cyprus ranked below the average of the 27 European Union Member States (EU-27) on government effectiveness. Between 2019 and 2022, government effectiveness in Cyprus fell to its lowest point of 0.7, before recovering somewhat to 0.73 in 2022. This downward trend can be attributed to the COVID-19 pandemic’s impact on government operations across various sectors, leading to strained resources and challenges in maintaining the quality of public services and policy implementation. Economic instability and shifting public perception and confidence in the government’s crisis management and policy effectiveness may also have contributed to the decline. Despite the slight improvement in 2022, the effectiveness level remains below the pre-pandemic period, indicating a need for continued focus on enhancing public administration and governance resilience in Cyprus.

European Commission: Directorate-General for Taxation and Customs Union, Center for Social and Economic Research (CASE), Oxford Economics, Syntesia, Poniatowski, G. et al., VAT gap in the EU – Country report 2024 – Cyprus, Publications Office of the European Union, 2025, https://data.europa.eu/doi/10.2778/9284865

The VAT Gap represents the difference between expected VAT revenues and those actually collected, reflecting compliance challenges, policy inefficiencies, and enforcement gaps. As part of the European Commission’s ongoing efforts to improve VAT compliance and revenue collection, these 27 country reports provide in-depth analyses of the VAT Gap at a national level. Each report offers a detailed examination of a specific Member State’s VAT Gap trends, key drivers, and the impact of policy measures. By breaking down the data country by country, the reports serve as essential resources for national tax administrations, policymakers, and researchers seeking targeted insights without navigating the full EU-wide analysis.