European Commission: Joint Research Centre, Bongiardo, D., Chiaramello, D., Dara, A., Cortinovis, R. et al., Atlas of migration 2024, Bongiardo, D.(editor), Dara, A.(editor), Crespi, I.(editor) and Sofos, I.(editor), Publications Office of the European Union, 2024.

The Atlas of Migration is more than just a publication—it is a testament to the power of data and rigorous analysis in illuminating the multifaceted nature of migratory movements. The 2024 edition of the Atlas continues to serve as a vital tool for policymakers, researchers and the public at large, offering a wealth of data to cut through the confusion and misinformation that often surrounds the discourse on migration. The Atlas provides the latest harmonised and validated data on migration for the 27 EU Member States and for 171 countries and territories around the world. It brings together data from many reliable sources, such as Eurostat, the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees, the United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs, the European Commission’s Directorate-General for Migration and Home Affairs, the World Bank and many others. This year’s thematic chapter of the Atlas delves into the nuanced motivations behind migration, moving beyond simplified narratives in favour of a more comprehensive view that acknowledges the diverse and often overlapping reasons that propel individuals to move.

European Commission: Directorate-General for Mobility and Transport, Vanhaverbeke, L., Verbist, D., Barrera, G. and Csukas, M., Consumer monitor 2023 – Country report – Denmark, Publications Office of the European Union, 2024.

The European Green Deal aims for a 90% reduction of greenhouse gas emissions for transport. Different policies are in place to achieve this goal, including standards on CO2 vehicle emissions, public procurement rules, or the recently adopted Alternative Fuels Infrastructure Regulation (AFIR). Nevertheless, in 2019, the transport sector was responsible for around one quarter of the EU’s total CO2 emissions, 60.6% of which were emitted by passenger cars. The passenger car is still the main transport mode and has continued to increase its share since the year 2004.

In order to address the diversity of country and territory codes and names used in the EU institutions, the European Commission has developed a corporate code list of countries and territories that covers the different use cases its services have.

European Commission: Directorate-General for Justice and Consumers and Laursen, H., Publications Office of the European Union, 2024.

European Commission: Directorate-General for Justice and Consumers and Justesen, P., Publications Office of the European Union, 2024.

In the 1960s and 1970s, the Danish Parliament debated whether legislation on discrimination in the labour market due to race, religion and other grounds should be enacted. The social partners, i.e. employers’ organisations and employees’ organisations in the labour market, rejected the proposal, arguing that Denmark had a tradition of collective agreements rather than legislation in the labour market. As no such collective agreements on anti-discrimination were concluded, victims of discrimination on grounds of race, ethnicity, sexual orientation and religion were not protected until 1996, when anti-discrimination legislation was finally enacted.

Citation style European Commission: Directorate-General for Employment, Social Affairs and Inclusion and Bengtsson, S., Disability-relevance of quality assurance systems in social services – Denmark, Publications Office of the European Union, 2024.

The author’s first recommendation for Denmark is to carry out an evaluation of the social inspectorates’ activities for the period 2017-2022. The National Board of Social Services itself carried out an evaluation of social inspectorates in 2018, which concluded that they had functioned as intended. The evaluation concerned the years 2015-2017 but skipped the first year of reform, when the new inspectorates were working out how to operate. Some private social services had to close in the initial years of their operation. The social inspectorates made an effort to ensure that the service providers reported more, with the result that it could appear as if the problems were getting bigger, sometimes because the number of reported uses of force increased.

This country page links to recent analytical work on the economy of Denmark.

European Commission: Directorate-General for Education, Youth, Sport and Culture, Education and training monitor 2023 – Denmark, Publications Office of the European Union, 2023.

The Education and Training Monitor’s country reports present and assess the main recent and ongoing policy development at all education levels in EU Member States. They give the reader more in-depth insight into the performance of a country as regards the EU-level targets agreed within the European Education Area. They are based on the most up-to-date quantitative and qualitative evidence available. The Key indicators section presents a statistical overview of the main education and training indicators. Section 1 focuses on the attractiveness of the teaching profession against a backdrop of teacher shortages. Section 2 covers early childhood education and care. Section 3 deals with school education policies. Section 4 covers vocational education. Section 5 discusses measures in higher education. Section 6 covers adult learning.

European Investment Bank, EIB investment survey 2023 – Denmark overview, European Investment Bank, 2024.

This unique insight into the corporate investment in Denmark examines companies' finance needs and the constraints they face. The 2023 edition also provides insight into the pressing issues facing firms, such as climate change, high energy costs and the green transition. The survey, which has been administered since 2016, covers about 13 000 firms across the European Union, including a small sample of US firms.

European Commission: Eurostat, Joint Research Centre, Greve, B., De Poli, S., Dreoni, I. et al., EUROMOD country report – Denmark – 2020-2023, De Poli, S.(editor) and Dreoni, I.(editor), Publications Office of the European Union, 2024.

This report documents the work done in the most recent annual update for Denmark. This work was carried out by the EUROMOD core development team, based at the JRC in Seville, in collaboration with the national team.

The country profile on food safety is a compilation of key information for each Member State used by European Commission’s Directorate-General for Health and Food Safety to support its control and monitoring activities.

Publications Office of the European Union, Ramponi, M., Fernández Nebreda, B., Rozbroj Jasinskaja, N., Moro, M. et al., High-value datasets best practices report, Fernández Nebreda, B.(editor) and Rozbroj Jasinskaja, N.(editor), Publications Office of the European Union, 2024.

This study delves into Commission Implementing Regulation (EU) 2023/138 , which complements the open data directive (Directive (EU) 2019/1024) by setting specific requirements for high-value datasets. These datasets provide significant social and economic benefits, enhancing public sector data accessibility. As the regulation came into force on 9 June 2024, this report aims to highlight best practices and strategies employed by EU Member States (MSs) in implementing these requirements. A key component of the study’s methodology involved conducting interviews with representatives from seven MSs: Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Italy, the Netherlands, Romania and Finland.

Publications Office of the European Union, Eendenburg, L., Fernández Nebreda, B., Suárez, J. and Rozbroj Jasinskaja, N., High-value datasets – Cross-country findability and comparability of metadata, Fernández Nebreda, B.(editor) and Rozbroj Jasinskaja, N.(editor), Publications Office of the European Union, 2024.

The implementation of high-value datasets (HVDs) across European Union (EU) Member States is crucial for advancing open data initiatives and facilitating cross-country data reuse. While progress varies among Member States, a standardised approach is essential to ensure the comparability and interoperability of HVDs at the EU level. The current study addresses the challenges in harmonising metadata and improving the findability and accessibility of HVDs, guided by the FAIR principles (based on improved findability, accessibility, interoperability and reuse) and the DCAT-AP HVD guidelines.

European Commission: European Innovation Council and SMEs Executive Agency and Rolla, C., Monitoring industrial ecosystems – EU Member States fact sheets – Denmark, Publications Office of the European Union, 2024.

This Fact Sheet forms part of a series of 27 Fact Sheets, each one providing data insights into the twin transition and the technological performance of industrial ecosystems of a specific EU Member State. It has been prepared within the ‘European Monitor of Industrial Ecosystems’ (EMI) project the goal of which is to analyse the green and digital transformation of industrial ecosystems and progress made over time. This particular Fact Sheet provides data insights into the twin transition and the technological performance of industrial ecosystems in Denmark.

European University Institute and Simonsen, S., Monitoring media pluralism in the digital era – Application of the Media Pluralism Monitor in the European Member States and candidate countries in 2023 – Country report – Denmark, European University Institute, 2024.

The Media Pluralism Monitor (MPM) is a research tool that is designed to identify potential risks to media pluralism in the Member States of the European Union and in Candidate Countries. This narrative report has been produced on the basis of the implementation of the MPM that was carried out in 2023. The implementation was conducted in 27 EU Member States, as well as in Albania, Montenegro, The Republic of North Macedonia, Serbia and Turkey. This year a part of the MPM has also been piloted in Bosnia and Herzegovina and Moldova. This project, under a preparatory action of the European Parliament, was supported by a grant awarded by the European Commission to the Centre for Media Pluralism and Media Freedom (CMPF) at the European University Institute.

European Commission: Directorate-General for Structural Reform Support, Public administration and governance – Denmark, 2022, Publications Office of the European Union, 2023.

European Commission: Directorate-General for Communication, Public opinion in the EU regions – Denmark – National report, January-February 2024, European Commission, 2024.

This Flash Eurobarometer, ‘Public opinion in the EU regions’ (FL539), was conducted at the request of the Directorate-General for Communication. The survey is designed to assess the views of EU citizens living in each of 194 individual regions across the 27 EU Member States.

European Central Bank, Juul Hviid, S. and Schroeder, C., Real effects of credit supply shocks – Evidence from Danish banks, firms, and workers, European Central Bank, 2024.

Contractions in credit supply can lead firms to reduce their level of employment, yet little is known about how these shocks affect the composition of firms’ employees and outcomes at the worker level. This paper investigates how bank distress affects credit provision and its effects on employment beyond firm-level aggregates. To do so, we use a novel dataset built from administrative and tax records linking all banks, firms, and workers in Denmark.

European Parliament: Directorate-General for Internal Policies of the Union, Wikström Avaria, A., Schnedl, A. and Marzocchi, O., The situation of Article 2 TEU values in Denmark – In-depth analysis, European Parliament, 2024.

This briefing, written by the Policy Department for Citizens’ Rights and Constitutional Affairs at the request of the European Parliament's Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs - Democracy, Rule of Law and Fundamental Rights Monitoring Group, examines the situation of Democracy, Rule of Law and Fundamental Rights in Denmark and how the values of Article 2 of the TEU are respected and implemented in the country.

Cedefop and Georgiadis, N., Vocational education and training – Policy briefs 2023 – Denmark, Publications Office of the European Union, 2024.

This VET policy brief produced by Cedefop presents a snapshot of vocational education and training policy developments in Denmark between 2020 and the beginning of 2023. It presents the context and the challenges the country faces, a selection of the latest VET-related statistics, as well as the national priorities until 2030 identified in the Danish national implementation plan. This VET policy brief provides information from Cedefop monitoring and analysis on the implementation of the Council Recommendation on VET and Osnabrück Declaration. It offers stakeholders a regular source of information on VET policy developments that could be used for future policy making.