While several atlases of Ancient Egypt exist, no atlas of contemporary Egypt has yet been published. Thus, this work fills a void and offers the general public an illustrated panorama of Egypt at the beginning of the 21st century. Through the contributions of some fifty researchers, it presents in an accessible form the key facts and challenges that concern present-day Egypt in the realms of politics, economics, demographics, the environment, society and culture, and geopolitics. To this end, the Atlas relies on a wide array of previously unpublished sources, most especially maps, which help to unlock and interpret the results of the official Egyptian census of 2017, providing an up-to-date view of the country and a better understanding of Egypt today.

This book provides accurate and integrated information about land resources especially with the accelerated progress of information technology to help Egypt and similar countries to achieve the country sustainable development goals in the field of agriculture and natural resources. The Egyptian National sustainable development plans mainly aim to conserve the arable lands in the Nile Delta and the Nile Valley, in addition to the oases and desert fringes. Moreover, increasing land productivity is a vital national goal for filling the food gap.  Consequently, providing accurate and integrated information about land natural resources using the recent technologies such as satellite data/images and geoinformatics techniques. Such information would be a base for planning, decision making and research needs all over the world due to the importance of Egypt as the biggest and leading country in the MENA regions. The book provides land natural resources database as a platform, upon which additional thematic information can be added in the future to serve multi approached sustainable development. The book highlights the usage of digital information in monitoring urban planning and encroachment, in addition to soil and land capability classification. Moreover, networks of irrigation/drainages, railways, and utilities are added for a wide management range. Various available information systems were employed to initiate the targeted land resources database (e.g., ArcGIS, ERDAS IMAGINE and ENVI). Data of previous soil survey projects were the basis for the created digital database including High Dam Soil Survey, Soil map of Egypt and Land Master Plane. The Digital Elevation Model (DEM) was elaborated using SRTM space images, in addition to spot heights and contour lines derived from the topographic maps (scale 1:50,000) produced by the Egyptian Survey Authority (ESA). The resulted thematic layers were incorporated in the created GIS land resources database.  The book is a unique and a great source of information and knowledge for all researchers around the globe particularly for MENA regions. Researchers, graduate students, the policy planners and decision making will find this book very useful for them. are most people who could benefit from the book. We believe the book will be an added value to the existing information and knowledge.

This book focuses on Egypt as a representative example of emerging economies struggling to achieve their sustainable development goals (SDGs). The Egyptian government has launched Egypt's Vision 2030 in line with the 2030 Agenda, also known as the Sustainable Development Strategy (SDS), which encompasses the economic, social and environmental dimensions of development. It is under the SDS that all development plans in Egypt are incorporated while at the same time being strongly guided by the SDGs. Aware of the principle of shared but differentiated responsibility, Egypt also recognizes that fundamental challenges remain, despite a strong willingness to achieve the SDGs. High birth rates, brain drain phenomena, water scarcity, migration, discrimination against women and girls, a growing informal sector and instability in neighboring states (especially Libya and Syria) are only some of the many hindrances to sustainable development. In order to address thesechallenges, Egypt relies heavily on the SDGs, which are aimed at transforming our world. Although there is an urgent need for a drastic change in the way we use the Earth, the question arises as to whether the SDGs are sufficient to facilitate such a transformation. This book explores the key environmentally related Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and offers a cutting-edge assessment of current progress with a view to reaching these objectives by 2030. The book highlights some of the key findings and ideas for how research may help achieve the 17 Sustainable Development Goals in enterprises. The book provides a useful framework that can help and aid the Egyptian government to assess the many goals and targets outlined in the 2030 Agenda. The analysis of Egypt can be used as a blueprint for other developing nations and globally in order to guide policy toward achieving the SDGs. Covering food security, water resilience, climate change, agronomics, rural life, environmental impact assessment as a tool for measuring the achievement of the goals, Egyptian education, the COVID-19 pandemic, cultural and societal dimensions, this book will be of great interest to students and scholars of sustainable development and climate change, as well as practitioners and policymakers involved in sustainable development and disaster management.

This richly illustrated book reviews the geology, tectonics, sedimentary basins and strategic resources of North Africa in 21 chapters. Chapter 1 is a regional synthesis. Chapter 2 examines the deep crustal and upper mantle structure. Chapter 3 compares the West African Craton. Chapters 4,5,6,7 deal with Pan-African-, Variscan (Hercynian)- and Alpine-Belts. Precambrian Geology of Hoggar Shield, north Central Africa will be addressed in Chapter 8. The North African Neoproterozoic and Phanerozoic sedimentary basins are the topic of Chapter 9. Phanerozoic magmatism and geodynamic framework of North Africa are addressed in Chapter 10. Chapters 11,12 deal with petroleum geology and water resources. Important non-metallic- and metallic- ore deposits are presented in Chapter 13,14,15,16. Chapters 17,18 explore geothermal energy and other strategic resources. Chapters 19,20 discuss seismicity, seismotectonics and Neotectonics, and Advances of exploration geophysics in North Africa. The lasttwo chapters (20, 21) focus on meteoric impact craters, geoheritage, geoparks and geotourism in North Africa.      

In Muslim-majority countries, safeguarding minority rights and advancing gender equality are vital components of the broader human rights discussion. Minority rights encompass various groups, including ethnic, religious, and linguistic minorities, who often face discrimination, marginalisation and unequal treatment within society. These challenges are rooted in historical, cultural and socio-political factors that shape legal frameworks and societal attitudes towards minority communities. Similarly, gender dynamics play a significant role in the human rights discourse in these nations, as women encounter various forms of discrimination and inequality, such as limited access to education, employment, and participation in decision-making processes. This volume explores the legal frameworks concerning minority rights and gender equality in Egypt and Malaysia, shedding light on the challenges faced by marginalised groups in these countries. It evaluates the effectiveness of legal instruments and mechanisms in addressing discrimination and promoting inclusivity within these societies. Furthermore, it examines laws, government policies and court rulings related to women's rights, covering essential topics such as education, employment and political engagement. This volume offers valuable insights for policymakers, legal practitioners, academics and activists dedicated to understanding and advocating for human rights in these societies.

There is a significant discrepancy between the population of Egypt and the GDP of this country. This book offers pragmatic policy prescriptions for Egyptian decision-makers. It provides a path forward and toward a better future for the Egyptian people. The country faces challenges with household income, social welfare, productivity, and many other markers of twenty-first century economic success even vis-à-vis other developing country peers. This book focuses on framing the optimal macroeconomic policy agenda for Egypt in the face of the big global, regional and national forces that are being accelerated, intensified or changed by the COVID-19 crisis rather than on specific sectoral policy formulations. The authors present these big questions in the context of showing how Egypt can best navigate the risks and seize the opportunities of the current period of intense flux and transition, to put itself in the best possible position to create prosperity, stability, and hope for its citizens. The authors examine to what extent the Egyptian authorities can fulfill their ambitious development plans and in producing this work, to provide useful lessons that can be applied to other governments struggling to respond to the challenges of the age.

This open access book seeks to provide a survey of historical, geopolitical, economic, and environmental developments in the last 150 years and to highlight future challenges it faces as it pertains to the areas mentioned earlier. It argues that the centrality of the canal--geo-strategically and otherwise--requires a shift in scholarly focus to study the various aspects from an interdisciplinary perspective. This book addresses several gaps in the literature--the first being a lack of a systematic examination of historical aspects in the development of the canal in 150 years. The second is a careful study of the canal's geostrategic importance. The third is a combination of several disciplines that examine the centrality of the Suez Canal.