This book identifies four key forms of air pollution: indoor, urban, regional and global. It discusses how these four types of pollution are manifest in today's society and examines the scientific and policy challenges that stand in the way of progress. Written in a style that balances scientific underpinnings with accessible language, Pearson and Derwent examine the sources and historical context of air pollutants, before dedicating a chapter to each of the key forms. Armed with these basics, they begin to address the challenges faced by improving indoor, urban and regional air quality, whilst reducing global warming in the years ahead.

Diseases and Health Consequences of Air Pollution, Volume Three, Air Pollution, Human Health, and the Environment is part of a three-volume series. This volume focuses on epidemiological studies and diseases attributed to ambient and indoor air pollutants. It opens with an overview of diseases and health consequences due to air pollution. The chapters discuss health conditions such as respiratory issues, cardiovascular diseases, hypertension and blood pressure, diabetes, nervous system, brain, cancer, stroke--cerebrovascular disease, and skin disease that are linked to exposure to indoor and outdoor air pollutants. The book also evaluates the health cost and economic burden of air pollution and offers risk management and solutions to mitigate the health implications of indoor and ambient air pollution.

This edited book provides a broad focus on methodological theories of earth data analytics and their applications to measuring the process of planetary health, with the goal to build scientific understanding on how geospatial analytics can provide valuable insights in measuring environmental risks in Southeast Asian regions. It is collection of selected papers covering both theoretical and empirical studies focusing on topics relevant to spatial perspectives on planetary health and environmental exposure studies.

This book features a comprehensive analysis of the development of shale gas resources in China, with a focus on the potential environmental impacts that may result. China has the world's largest shale gas resources, which it is keen to develop to alleviate air pollution and successfully transition to a low-carbon energy future. However, one significant obstacle standing between the ambition and reality is the potentially serious environmental impacts of shale gas production.  This book offers a systematic assessment of these potential impacts, including the risk of water contamination, ecological disruption due to the huge consumption of water and methane leakage.

Environmental Noise Pollution, Second Edition, addresses the key debates surrounding environmental noise pollution, its modelling and mitigation using examples from across the globe. Environmental noise pollution is now an established concern in environmental and public policy and is considered one of the most important environmental stressors affecting public health throughout the world. Thoroughly revised, this new edition includes updated global case studies as well as new chapters on 'soundscapes and noise mapping' and 'environmental noise and technology'. This book examines environmental noise pollution, its health implications, noise modelling, the role of strategic noise mapping for problem assessment, major sources of environmental noise pollution, noise mitigation approaches, and related procedural and policy implications.

Health and Environmental Effects of Ambient Air Pollution is part of a series of three volumes for Air Pollution, Human Health, and the Environment. Volume 1 discusses the adverse consequences of ambient air pollutants on human health, animals, plants, and structures. This book examines the production of ambient air pollutants in the environment. It begins with an overview of the classifications, sources, and occurrences of outdoor air pollutants. This book covers meteorological, climate, and topographical factors affecting air pollution, discusses how urbanization and industrialization affect air quality, and explores how climate conditions like global warming, acid rain, and airborne particulate matter impact human health. It also looks at epidemiology studies and socioeconomic aspects of outdoor air pollution, estimating health and cost effects, air quality indices, guidelines, standards, and information networks of ambient air pollutants.

Health Effects of Indoor Air Pollution, Volume Two, Air Pollution, Human Health, and the Environment is part of a three volume series. This volume covers the various classifications of indoor air pollutants and discusses the health impact of indoor pollutants, such as gaseous pollutants and particulate matter. It also examines epidemiological studies related to different air pollutants on health and the workplace. This book begins with an overview of classifications, sources, and occurrences of indoor air pollutants. It also examines the environmental and health impacts due to organic and inorganic air pollutants and how to mitigate them through exposure and risk management.

The book explores processes such as nanotechnology for the degradation of CEC by using various heterogeneous catalysts. The chapters incorporate both theoretical and practical aspects and can serve as a baseline for future studies. So, Management of Contaminants of Emerging Concern (CEC) in Environment is an indispensable resource for university students, teachers, and researchers, especially those working in the area of remediation and management of contaminants of emerging concern.

National and international legal instruments regulating environmental protection, especially aspects like pollution, are not precisely reflected in insurance concepts intended to cover environmental risks. As such, there is a need to identify environmental risks and to propose a taxonomy of environmental risks for various types of insurance coverage. The authors refer to the issues of liability in environmental protection, the scope of insurance coverage and comment on specific issues the importance of which has been noticed by the legislator or insurance practice. The book examines these issues horizontally and vertically from various standpoints, focusing on insurance as a means of managing environmental risks.

Metals in Water: Global Sources, Significance, and Treatment covers metal pollution in water, where they come from, their effects, and remediation processes. Sections overview heavy metals pollution, including their global health impacts and remediation measures. Geogenic and anthropogenic input of heavy metals in water are described, along with global case studies, step-by-step methods on remediation techniques, different detection sensors, and assessment practices of toxicity of heavy metals.

One Health Meets the Exposome: Human, Wildlife, and Ecosystem Health brings together the two powerful conceptual frameworks of One Health and the Exposome to comprehensively examine the myriad of biological, environmental, social, and cultural challenges impacting the interrelated health of humans, wildlife, and ecosystems. One Health as an encompassing concept and collaborative framework recognizes the interconnections among humans, wildlife, and our shared environment with the goal of optimizing health outcomes for all. The Exposome is more specifically oriented to human health and considers cumulative environmental exposures affecting individuals, communities, and populations.

The increased demand of food on account of population explosion has compelled man to use pesticides for better crop production. However, there are many negative impacts of these chemical agrochemicals like toxicity to non-target organisms and retention in bio-systems in the form of their residues, leading to harmful effects on the food chain and food web. This book will be an important source of information for researchers and academicians working in the field of pesticide pollution, its physiology and biochemistry, and development of pesticide remediation technologies.

Recent Advancement of IoT Devices in Pollution Control and Health Applications covers current developments in Internet of Things (IoT)-based pollution control, solid waste management, transportation, and healthcare systems. Because of its effects on physical and biological entities of the environment, the issue of environmental pollution and action has become a global concern. This guide highlights how environmental and health data from connected devices can be stored, analyzed, and eventually used--from developing indices for the state of environmental pollution, to diagnosing and treating patients and the role of IoT-based technology for pollution control.

This book focuses on integrated disaster risk reduction arising out of climate change and shows how communities build resilience through adaptive and transformative strategies at the local and global levels. It integrates disaster risk, uncertainty, and maladaptation to climate change with evidence from empirical research and a systematic review of existing studies. The book adds value to the existing knowledge on climate change adaptation, perception, and policy initiatives to address disaster risk reduction.

Sustainable Nanotechnology for Environmental Remediation provides a single-source solution to researchers working in environmental, wastewater management, biological and composite nanomaterials applications. It addresses the potential environmental risks and uncertainties surrounding the use of nanomaterials for environmental remediation, giving an understanding of their impact on ecological receptors in addition to their potential benefits.