In Volume 31 of Advances in Taxation, the editor John Hasseldine includes studies from expert contributors to explore topics such as: firms' domestic and foreign effective tax rates; tax avoidance; and tax compliance. In addition, one study reviews prior literature on tax increment financing, an economic development tool frequently used by U.S. local governments. Reporting peer-reviewed research contributions from the U.S. and Canada, this volume is essential reading for those looking to keep abreast of the most recent research, including empirical studies using a variety of research methods from different institutional settings and contexts.

This book thoroughly covers tax planning structures (ab)using intangibles and the compatibility of current and future measures against such structures in relation to higher-ranking law

This book focuses on the financial and economic law framework regarding virtual currencies or crypto-assets in Europe. It establishes a typology of virtual currencies or crypto-assets and assesses whether they can be considered as money. It analyzes whether the existing EU legal frameworks on electronic money, payment services, anti-money laundering, and markets in financial instruments can be applied to virtual currencies or crypto-assets. A functional comparison is made to the US, where more regulatory initiative has been identified. In 2023, the European legislator adopted a regulatory package enacting a sweeping reform of the legal framework. This package includes revised anti-money laundering rules, rules on information accompanying the transfer of crypto-assets (“Crypto Travel Rule”), rules on administrative cooperation, a pilot regime for blockchain-based securities trading, rules on digital operational resilience, and – most importantly – rules on markets in crypto-assets. The Markets in Crypto-Assets Regulation (MiCAR) will form the core of EU regulation of crypto-assets for years to come and a thorough understanding of this framework is therefore key to all practitioners in this field.

Cryptocurrencies and digital assets have continued to gain widespread acceptance from both retail and institutional investors. With this rapid growth in both the crypto and digital asset spaces, there has also been an unfortunate steady drumbeat of fraudulent activity. It has been reported that in 2021 alone over $14 billion in crypto was stolen from investors. Frauds have touched all aspects of the crypto universe ranging from outright Bitcoin theft, pig butchering, and wallet phising to DeFi rug pulls, exchange hacks, mining scams and NFT fraud. The Cryptocurrency and Digital Asset Fraud Casebook will provide up to date information and analysis on fraudulent activity in the crypto space.

This book addresses the most widespread forms of financial crime today, namely corporate fraud, corruption, tax fraud, the shadow economy, informal entrepreneurship, money laundering, international informal capital flows, cybercrimes, and cryptocurrency scams. Given the rapid rise of digitalization, especially due to the COVID-19 pandemic, there has been a huge surge in financial crime, especially in the form of cybercrime, which affects people’s financial security. Hence, the aim of this book is to stress the connected nature of financial crime and good governance, in order to achieve the most positive, sustainable development of society. The book analyzes financial crime in the context of digitalization.

This book analyses the tax law of the European Union, which has developed in the space between the national legal orders of the Member States on the one hand and the international regime (particularly the influences of the OECD, including BEPS) on the other. In that framework, the author considers the whole body of the tax law of the European Union: the general principles applicable to both direct and indirect taxation, the principle of equality and its more specific expressions on the basic freedoms and the prohibition of state aid, the principles of neutrality and ability to pay, taxpayers' fundamental rights, the justifications of infringements, including the fight against tax avoidance, secondary legislation in the area of direct taxes and details of the Union's VAT law and excise taxes.

This book examines the main issues arising from exit taxation and constructively challenges the main arguments with special focus on the idea of aligning “taxation where the value was created”, considering selected countries’ experiences and EU law and from a tax treaty perspective. An alternative international solution is proposed.

The book's primary purpose is to understand the economic, social, and political impact of financial crimes and earning management on the Indian national economy. The book is divided into four parts that focus on different sectors which lead to financial crimes in a country: Financial crimes, White Collar Crimes, Cybercrimes, Creative Accounting. Investigating topics such as drug mafia, money laundering, online fraud, accounting fraud, and more, the comprehensive investigation of different aspects of financial crimes, this book offers insight into its central problems and how they can be controlled. It is ideal for financial crime researchers.

The OECD’s Global Minimum Tax and Its Implementation in the EU is a book that aims to elucidate the fundamental and technical issues surrounding the global minimum tax. It seeks to unravel the complex ramifications of GloBE’s technical framework and endeavours to explore the relationship between the OECD’s soft law materials, including the OECD’s GloBE Model Rules and the GloBE Commentary, tax treaties, and the EU’s recently adopted GloBE-Directive. Seldom in the history of international tax law have there been so many evolutions in such a short space of time: in a dizzying array of reports, work programs, consultations, and announcements, the OECD, with the active support of the EU, has developed a framework for a global minimum tax (Pillar Two or GloBE). Meanwhile, jurisdictions face practical difficulties incorporating an incredibly complex set of rules into their domestic legal systems.

This book demystifies the spirit of international tax law by offering a workable definition and suggests that repurposing it from an abstract notion of fairness to concrete policy goals will strengthen the international corporate tax system.

This book provides a comprehensive overview of the implications of tax avoidance for a firm's capital structure, highlighting the key role played by free cash flow and agency conflicts. First, the book provides an outline of the theories and empirical evidence concerning the role of taxes in the Theory of Capital Structure. It reviews the studies investigating the relationship between agency conflicts and capital structure. The book explores the role of free cash flow and agency conflicts in the relationship between tax avoidance and capital structure. In the final section, the results of an empirical investigation conducted on a sample of U.S. public firms are also presented. The empirical research examines whether and how tax avoidance is associated with debt covenant violation across the stages of the corporate life cycle.

This book explores the relationship between tax avoidance regulation and sovereignty within the European Union, analysing the impact of the effective regulatory methods for limiting and eliminating aggressive tax planning by the multinational companies. Focusing on analysing good practice in fiscal regulation efficiency and the results generated by the tax jurisprudence both at national and European level, its main objective is to present the argument for inter-dependency between taxation and the current changes in the concept of sovereignty. It highlights where fiscal regulation has led to uniform, yet flexible, solutions for the actual fight against companies' abusive fiscal conduct, when taking advantage of tax competition.

Tax Avoidance and the Law is a helpful guide to undergraduate and postgraduate students who want a thorough understanding of this dynamic area of Law. The book is written in a way which is easy to follow and conveniently summarises complex case law on tax avoidance. Tax Avoidance and the Law explores the evolution of the UK's General Anti-Abuse Rule. It provides a useful comparison with other Western jurisdictions' anti-avoidance legislation including, the United States of America, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Canada and the EU.

This book explores the intricate realm of tax avoidance, synthesizing existing empirical literature in the field. The work starts by exploring the theoretical underpinnings of tax avoidance, dissecting its unique features compared to tax evasion. It delves into measurement methodologies and dissects the determinants contributing to its prevalence. Moreover, it analyzes the economic consequences of tax avoidance, emphasizing its impact on critical accounting issues, including financial reporting transparency, cost of capital, and firm value. Next, the book offers a foundational understanding of graph theory, unveiling the core elements of networks, such as nodes and edges. The book covers the theoretical fundamentals and addresses the practical side of constructing networks based on real-world relational systems. It emphasizes the importance of effective data collection and representation methods and underscores the importance of optimizing network layouts for enhanced visual representation. Using network analysis, the book further offers a deep dive into empirical studies on tax avoidance over the past two decades, revealing insights into the collaborative nature of this stream of research. Finally, the book summarizes the key insights of the network analysis on tax avoidance. It underscores the dynamic nature of individual authors' roles and affiliations, shedding light on the collaborative dynamics within institutions.  

Cet ouvrage présente une synthèse critique, pratique et exhaustive du cadre juridique et fiscal européen et belge en matière de transferts transfrontaliers de sièges. Il examine les aspects juridiques, comptables et fiscaux des transferts transfrontaliers de sièges vers et depuis la Belgique. Il prend en compte les différents développements et changements récents dans ce domaine (comme la mise en oeuvre de la directive européenne ATAD et de la directive mobilité dans le droit belge, l'entrée en vigueur du Code des sociétés et des associations, la jurisprudence récente de la Cour de justice de l’Union européenne, etc.). En plus d’une mise à jour et d’un affinement du cadre législatif, le sujet est abordé de manière pratique et évalué à travers plusieurs cas concrets et exemples chiffrés, en portant une attention particulière aux zones d’incertitudes, aux difficultés et aux possibilités d’optimisation.