Will AI make accidental nuclear war more likely? If so, how might these risks be reduced? AI and the Bomb provides a coherent, innovative, and multidisciplinary examination of the potential effects of AI technology on nuclear strategy and escalation risk. It addresses a gap in the international relations and strategic studies literature, and its findings have significant theoretical and policy ramifications for using AI technology in the nuclear enterprise. The book advances an innovative theoretical framework to consider AI technology and atomic risk, drawing on insights from political psychology, neuroscience, computer science, and strategic studies. In this multidisciplinary work, James Johnson unpacks the seminal cognitive-psychological features of the Cold War-era scholarship, and offers a novel explanation of why these matter for AI applications and strategic thinking. The study offers crucial insights for policymakers and contributes to the literature that examines the impact of military force and technological change.

An international and interdisciplinary perspective on the adoption and governance of artificial intelligence (AI) and machine learning (ML) in defence and military innovation by major and middle powers. Advancements in AI and ML pose pressing questions related to evolving conceptions of military power, compliance with international humanitarian law, peace promotion, strategic stability, arms control, future operational environments, and technology races. To navigate the breadth of this AI and international security agenda, the contributors to this book include experts on AI, technology governance, and defence innovation to assess military AI strategic perspectives from major and middle AI powers alike. These include views of how the United States, China, Japan, South Korea, the European Union, and Russia see AI/ML as a technology with the potential to reshape military affairs and power structures in the broader international system. This diverse set of views aims to help elucidate key similarities and differences between AI powers in the evolving strategic context. A valuable read for scholars of security studies, public policy, and STS studies with an interest in the impacts of AI and ML technologies

This book discusses the impact of artificial intelligence (AI) on international relations theories. As a phenomenon, AI is everywhere in the real world and growing. Through its transformative nature, it is simultaneously simplifying and complicating processes. Importantly, it also overlooks and "misunderstands". Globally, leaders, diplomats and policymakers have had to familiarise themselves and grapple with concepts such as algorithms, automation, machine learning, and neural networks. These and other features of modern AI are redefining our world, and with it, the long-held assumptions scholars of IR have relied on for their theoretical accounts of our universe. The book takes a historic, contemporary and long-term approach to explain and anticipate AI's impact on IR - and vice versa - through a systematic treatment of 9 theoretical paradigms and schools of thought including realism, liberalism, feminism, postcolonial theory and green theory.

This textbook offers a starting point for the education of attorneys and other legal professionals about the potential impact of artificial intelligence (AI) on the law, as well as a forum for discussing artificial intelligence's legal and ethical concerns. Intended for classroom use, this book will help students, legal professionals and policymakers alike. AI is swiftly transforming the world, including the legal system. Legal applications to areas such as ethics, human rights, climate change, labor law, health, social protection, inequality, lethal autonomous weapons, the criminal justice system and autonomous vehicles, contract drafting, legal investigation, criminal analysis and evidence investigation, utilize AI. As AI becomes more sophisticated, its impact on the law will likely increase.

This book discusses the implications of artificial intelligence (AI) on post-COVID-19 international relations. With the decline and fall of U.S. global leadership and the emergence of new powerful actors, as hastened by the global pandemic, new arms are now used in new forms of wars with new players. The balance of power swings between geostrategic interests and those linked to the global governance of virtual space and the race to technological sovereignty. Chapters focus on the challenges imposed by these changes on different parts of the international system--law, governance, diplomacy, international psychological security--and articulate new strategies and ethical policies as possible solutions. The volume is interdisciplinary and will appeal to researchers, students, and professionals across fields interested in the ethics of AI in the international system.

The main objective of this book is to introduce cyber security using modern technologies like Artificial Intelligence, Quantum Cryptography and Blockchain. The book provides in-depth coverage of important concepts related to cyber security. Beginning with an introduction to Quantum Computing, Post-Quantum Digital Signatures and Artificial Intelligence for cyber security of modern networks and it also covers various cyber-attacks and the defence measures, strategies and techniques that need to be followed to combat them, the book goes on to explore several crucial topics such as security of Advanced Metering Infrastructure in Smart Grids, key management protocols, Network Forensic, Intrusion Detection Using Machine Learning, Cloud computing security risk assessment model and framework, Cyber-Physical Energy Systems Security, Biometric Random Key Generator using Deep Neural Network and Encrypted Network Traffic Classification. Additionally, the book provides new techniques to handle the modern threats with more intelligence. It also includes some modern techniques for cyber security such as blockchain for modern security, quantum cryptography, forensic tools etc. Additionally, it provides a comprehensive survey of cutting-edge research on cybersecurity of modern networks, giving the reader a general overview of the field. It also provides interdisciplinary solutions to protect modern networks from any type of attack or manipulation.

For decades, films such as WarGames and The Terminator have warned that the combination of artificial intelligence and nuclear weapons might be a recipe for an apocalypse. Might these prophecies of doom become reality in coming decades? Using insights from computer science, Deterrence under Uncertainty: Artificial Intelligence and Nuclear Warfare evaluates how AI could make nuclear war winnable, and whether that possibility is likely. Detailed chapters explain how the landscape of nuclear deterrence is changing and debunks the myths of machine intelligence and nuclear weapons. This book gives a practitioner's perspective on how artificial intelligence and other emerging technologies could change the role of nuclear weapons in international relations.

This book covers different aspects of advances in research, technological development, and innovation results in artificial intelligence, computational modeling, electrical, electronics, telecommunication, data communications, defense engineering, innovation, technology and society, managing technology and sustained innovation, business development, security and cryptography, and software engineering. In addition, the volume focuses on research results focused on finding innovative solutions in intelligent systems concerning the topics mentioned above, which are developed in national and international postgraduate programs and associated research groups and networks. This book interests the industry, teachers, undergraduate and graduate students, and researchers working in intelligent systems, security and defense, and technological, human, and administrative sciences.  

The concept of Hybrid Warfare has gained prominence in recent decades. It is a novel terminology, but the concept is detectable since antiquity: Ancient Chinese, Ancient Greeks and the Jews of Exodus were all well familiar, so well to have let us know. Similarly, bioagents have been used malevolently since always. What is novel is that these two, in the present context, are not only interfacing smoothly, but in an enhanced context: The Hybrid Warfare, which has now enriched its portfolio, from actions of provocation, insurgency, economic warfare, special operations, proxy warfare and social destabilization to the Residual domain, the cyberspace, while the conventional, 3D space expands. Now the Space and the Deep are included in the topography of the friction zone. In this, the bio- factor becomes not only relevant but also an amplifier: using the technology malevolently, all the advances made to combat disease may be used to cause, further, or perplex and complicate disease. Improved or totally novel or even alien germs may replace explosives in bombs, shells or suicidal /kamimaze drones and taint bullets and fragments. Microrobots may deliver cancer cells to targeted individuals to foster cancer, or specific supergerms for an infection to rage unchallenged. And what happens if the mechanism of these cancers and infections is intentionally provided with an Abort signal? Global extortions would become probable, not just possible. Far from Science Fiction, this dystopia becomes more probable by the day. The Artificial Intelligence simply makes it easier to occur. Technology allows manipulation and intervention in levels and extends only imagined in the Past, but the application of these capabilities is clearly of dual use, with the destructive potential leveraged by the complexity of the social and state structure. Within this book, we explore the "How" (occasionally the "What" also) in some of these instances. From cyber terrorists to aggressive bioindustrialists and "democratized" ballistic and cruise missile technology, it could be coined as "The Book of Modern Mayhem".

IoT for Defense and National Security Practical case-based guide illustrating the challenges and solutions of adopting IoT in both secure and hostile environments IoT for Defense and National Security covers topics on IoT security, architecture, robotics, sensing, policy, operations, and more, including the latest results from the premier IoT research initiative of the U.S. Defense Department, the Internet of Battle Things. The text also discusses challenges in converting defense industrial operations to IoT and summarizes policy recommendations for regulating government use of IoT in free societies. As a modern reference, this book covers multiple technologies in IoT including survivable tactical IoT using content-based routing, mobile ad-hoc networks, and electronically formed beams. Examples of IoT architectures include using KepServerEX for edge connectivity and AWS IoT Core and Amazon S3 for IoT data. To aid in reader comprehension, the text uses case studies illustrating the challenges and solutions for using robotic devices in defense applications, plus case studies on using IoT for a defense industrial base. Written by leading researchers and practitioners of IoT technology for defense and national security, IoT for Defense and National Security also includes information on: Changes in warfare driven by IoT weapons, logistics, and systems IoT resource allocation (monitoring existing resources and reallocating them in response to adversarial actions) Principles of AI-enabled processing for Internet of Battlefield Things, including machine learning and inference Vulnerabilities in tactical IoT communications, networks, servers and architectures, and strategies for securing them Adapting rapidly expanding commercial IoT to power IoT for defense For application engineers from defense-related companies as well as managers, policy makers, and academics, IoT for Defense and National Security is a one-of-a-kind resource, providing expansive coverage of an important yet sensitive topic that is often shielded from the public due to classified or restricted distributions.

KI-Anwendungen drängen auf breiter Front in das Militär hinein, wodurch sich vielfältige Chancen ergeben (in der Administration, der Krisenfrüherkennung, im militärischen Führungsvorgang, beim Waffeneinsatz, .im ,,Drohnenkrieg",  in hybriden Konflikten). Die Entwicklung von Letalen Autonomen Waffensystemen bringt geopolitische, ethische und (völker-)rechtliche Risiken, deren Lösung derzeit nicht absehbar ist. Bisher scheuen die Mächte, die KI entwickeln, allerdings als ,,letzten Schritt" die Übertragung der Entscheidungsgewalt über das Töten von Menschen an Maschinen. Dieses käme einer Öffnung der ,,Büchse der Pandora" gleich.

A penetrating look at the dark side of emerging AI technologies In The Language of Deception: Weaponizing Next Generation AI, artificial intelligence and cybersecurity veteran Justin Hutchens delivers an incisive and penetrating look at how contemporary and future AI can and will be weaponized for malicious and adversarial purposes. In the book, you will explore multiple foundational concepts to include the history of social engineering and social robotics, the psychology of deception, considerations of machine sentience and consciousness, and the history of how technology has been weaponized in the past. From these foundations, the author examines topics related to the emerging risks of advanced AI technologies, to include: The use of Large Language Models (LLMs) for social manipulation, disinformation, psychological operations, deception and fraud The implementation of LLMs to construct fully autonomous social engineering systems for targeted attacks or for mass manipulation at scale The technical use of LLMs and the underlying transformer architecture for use in technical weapons systems to include advanced next-generation malware, physical robotics, and even autonomous munition systems Speculative future risks such as the alignment problem, disembodiment attacks, and flash wars.

This monograph provides a practical and operational perspective to the question of how to lawfully employ autonomous weapon systems (AWS) from the point-of-view of the technology's end-users: field commanders. While there is international consensus that targeting rules such as proportionality and precautions must be respected when using AWS, there is legal and practical ambiguity as to how to translate this normative commitment into practice. How are commanders in the field, when guns are already blazing, expected to exercise command-and-control when ordering AWS-attacks, and ensure that their targeting obligations remain fulfilled? The book discusses how commanders can use existing targeting frameworks to ensure that their use of AWS remains in compliance with the rules governing the conduct of hostilities.

This book provides the latest developments in functional and engineering materials for defence applications. It contains a total of 20 book chapters in 2 proposed volumes: Vol. 1. Defence Functional Materials and Vol. 2. Defence Engineering Materials. All the book chapters are authored by leading scientists from the premier institutes, such as DRDO laboratory, DMSRDE, Kanpur, India, and edited by Drs. N Eswara Prasad, RJH Wanhill, and DK Setua. Both the authors and the editors are well known internationally for their seminal works in the Functional and Engineering Materials R&D and S&T. The principal purpose of this two-volume book is to provide the salient features of materials selection, synthesis, development and qualification for many a classical applications encompassing aero, naval and ground-based defence systems. They would surely act as valuable vade mecums for both active researchers, defence experts, post-graduate students, and faculty members who like to work and contributeto defence forces through research in areas such as defence materials, products, prototypes, sub-systems and systems that need cutting edge technologies and the latest and best materials and materials solutions.

This book provides the latest developments in functional and engineering materials for defence applications. It contains a total of 20 book chapters in 2 proposed volumes: Vol. 1. Defence Functional Materials and Vol. 2. Defence Engineering Materials. All the book chapters are authored by leading scientists from the premier institutes, such as DRDO laboratory, DMSRDE, Kanpur, India, and edited by Drs. N Eswara Prasad, RJH Wanhill, and DK Setua. Both the authors and the editors are well known internationally for their seminal works in the Functional and Engineering Materials R&D and S&T. The principal purpose of this two-volume book is to provide the salient features of materials selection, synthesis, development and qualification for many a classical applications encompassing aero, naval and ground-based defence systems. They would surely act as valuable vade mecums for both active researchers, defence experts, post-graduate students, and faculty members who like to work and contribute to defence forces through research in areas such as defence materials, products, prototypes, sub-systems and systems that need cutting edge technologies and the latest and best materials and materials solutions.

This open access book is the outcome of a unique multinational effort organized by the Hamburg-based Defense AI Observatory (DAIO) to portray the current state of affairs regarding the use of artificial intelligence (AI) by armed forces around the world. The contributions span a diverse range of geostrategic contexts by providing in-depth case studies on Australia, Canada, China, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, India, Iran, Israel, Italy, Japan, the Netherlands, Russia, Singapore, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Taiwan, Turkey, Ukraine, the UK, and the United States. The book does not speculate about the future implications of AI on armed forces, but rather discusses how armed forces are currently exploring the potential of this emerging technology. By adopting a uniform analytical framework, each case study discusses how armed forces view defense AI; how they are developing AI-enhanced solutions, adapting existing structures and processes, and funding their defense AI endeavors; to what extent defense AI is already fielded and operated; and how soldiers and officers are being trained to work with AI.