This new edition of Anti-Money Laundering will update the topics discussed, and introduce the changes and updates including information on the AMLA Act of 2020, new EU standards and directives, anti-money laundering on digital currencies and more. Money laundering is endemic. As much as 5 percent of global GDP ($3.6 trillion) is laundered by criminals each year. It's no wonder that every financial institution in the United States--including banks, credit card companies, insurers, securities brokerages, private funds, and money service businesses--must comply with complex examination, training, and reporting requirements mandated by a welter of federal anti-money laundering (AML) laws. Ignorance of crime is no excuse before the law. Financial institutions and businesses that unknowingly serve as conduits for money laundering are no less liable to prosecution and fines than those that condone or abet it.

'Corruption' in public procurement typically involves procurement decisions taken in favour of preferred bidders in exchange for improper compensation (the acceptance of bribes, for example), while supplier collusion refers to a type of cartel activity, in which firms rig their bids in a tendering process. Although these practices are distinct, they frequently occur together in the public procurement context, reinforcing one another. Combatting Corruption and Collusion in Public Procurement: A Challenge for Governments Worldwide examines the causes of corruption and collusion in the public procurement sphere, its resulting harm, and how states can best try to combat these practices. This book provides a legal, economic, and practical analysis of issues concerning corruption and supplier collusion in public procurement, both generally and in seven diverse and representative jurisdictions: the United Kingdom, the United States, Brazil, Hungary and Poland, Ukraine, and Canada. It encompasses a discussion of both 'generic' cross-jurisdictional issues and specific proposals for individual jurisdictions. It offers practical guidance on building robust regimes for combatting corruption and collusion in public procurement and how to bolster and improve them when they are faltering.

This book interrogates the transnational field of (anti-)corruption and elite crime. Using the lens of luxury, art, and antiquities, the contributors reconceptualize the driving dialectics of corruption and anti-corruption. Compliance, Defiance  and 'Dirty' Luxury brings together scholars across criminology, anthropology, sociology, and the humanities to tackle these dialectics from different angles and positions, digging deeper into these corrupt zigzags of compliance and defiance. This approach reveals a self-reinforcing, accelerating, neoliberal perpetuum mobile churning out a frenzy of public-private crime-fighting initiatives that stimulate the expansion of various control and surveillance architectures which time and again fail. This volume opens new theoretical and empirical paths of investigation for criminologists and anthropologists alike.

Countering Terrorist and Criminal Financing provides an up-to-date overview and critical analysis of terrorism financing, focusing on tactics and practical measures directed at preventing money laundering and countering the flow of terrorism funding. In doing so, the book details some of the major doctrines, outlining policies of states and key regional and global partnerships in Europe, Asia, North America, South America, the Middle East, and Africa. Chapters bring together a diverse range of expert scholars and practitioners who specialise in theoretical principles, utilising empirical research and an analysis of the cross-national networks and cross-group collaborations that underpin the illicit activities that fund such groups. The book serves as the most current and comprehensive resource in the area of countering the financing of terrorism and organised crime--incorporating regional and group-specific approaches, challenges, and consequences. This focus encompasses legal measures, social policies, and military operations and security force responses by states and non-state actors to assemble the most up-to-date counter-terrorist financing information into a single volume.

Cryptocurrencies and digital assets have continued to gain widespread acceptance from both retail and institutional investors. With this rapid growth in both the crypto and digital asset spaces, there has also been an unfortunate steady drumbeat of fraudulent activity. It has been reported that in 2021 alone over $14 billion in crypto was stolen from investors. Frauds have touched all aspects of the crypto universe ranging from outright Bitcoin theft, pig butchering, and wallet phising to DeFi rug pulls, exchange hacks, mining scams and NFT fraud. The Cryptocurrency and Digital Asset Fraud Casebook will provide up to date information and analysis on fraudulent activity in the crypto space.  

Written by an expert team, the Dictionary of Corruption is a comprehensive resource for students, academics, practitioners and professionals. It establishes a common interpretation of the language and terminology in the field of corruption and anti-corruption studies. From bribery to Watergate, amakudari to zero tolerance and from anti-corruption agencies to whistleblowing, the Dictionary provides explanations of over 300 key terms, events and case studies.

Delving into a burgeoning field of research, this enlightening book utilises case studies from across the globe to explore how digital media is used at the grassroots level to combat corruption. Bringing together an impressive range of experts, Alice Mattoni deftly assesses the design, creation and use of a wide range of anti-corruption technologies. This invaluable book introduces the concept of anti-corruption technologies (ACT) to answer critical questions about the opportunities and challenges that established and emerging digital media offers to practitioners. Chapters detail the situated nature of these technologies, before examining key technologies including anonymous crowdsourcing, collaborative platforms, whistleblowing platforms and online monitoring of electoral corruption. Finally, the book offers a critical understanding of the challenges that digital media poses to anti-corruption practitioners in different contexts, and how this is linked to different conceptions of democracy. Comprehensive and empirically-grounded, Digital Media and Grassroot Anti-Corruptionwill be an important resource for students and scholars of corruption studies, digital sociology, law and politics, public policy, regulation and governance, and the study of social movements. It will also be vital reading for anti-corruption practitioners and policymakers interested in civil society organisations working at the grassroots level.

This is the second edition of EU Criminal Law, which has become since its publication in 2009 a key point of reference in the field. The second edition is updated and substantially expanded, to take into account the significant growth of EU criminal law as a distinct legal field and the impact of the entry into force of the Lisbon Treaty on European integration in criminal matters. The book offers a holistic and in-depth analysis of the key elements of European integration in criminal matters, including EU powers and competence to criminalise, the evolution of judicial co-operation under the principles of mutual recognition and mutual trust, EU action in the field of criminal procedure including legislation on the rights of the defendant and the victim, the evolving role of European bodies and agencies (such as Europol, Eurojust and the European Public Prosecutor's Office) in European criminal law, and the development of EU-wide surveillance and data gathering and exchange mechanisms.

The book's primary purpose is to understand the economic, social, and political impact of financial crimes and earning management on the Indian national economy. The book is divided into four parts that focus on different sectors which lead to financial crimes in a country: Financial crimes White Collar Crimes Cybercrimes Creative Accounting Investigating topics such as drug mafia, money laundering, online fraud, accounting fraud, and more, the comprehensive investigation of different aspects of financial crimes, this book offers insight into its central problems and how they can be controlled. It is ideal for financial crime researchers.

This book offers a broad international analysis of healthcare corruption, drawing upon criminology, sociology, psychology, law, political and behavioural economics  and nudge theory. It engages with the existing key debates on how to define healthcare corruption and the measurement of it but builds on this and offers new analysis of these issues in the private healthcare sector too. Furthermore, it moves beyond the analysis of funds lost to healthcare and includes the impact and costs of healthcare corruption on victims and family members of victims and the CJS. It also uniquely considers that the healthcare sector victimizes patients and its own employees, with the healthcare sector as part of a carceral state to help highlight how different disciplines can contribute to our understanding in reducing healthcare corruption.

The Legal Regulation of Environmental Crime - The International and European Dimension provides a timely, comprehensive and holistic analysis of the international and EU legal frameworks aimed at tackling environmental crime. Bringing together a team of leading international and EU scholars with distinct expertise in environmental law and environmental criminal law, the volume discusses current reforms of environmental law at the international and EU levels.

What are the criteria used by Financial Action Task Force and the European Union to blacklist jurisdictions at high-risk of money laundering? What are the countries at highest risk according to Panama Papers and FinCEN files? Where do criminals move their illicit money, according to judicial and investigative evidence? This book is a study on the countries at highest risk of attracting money laundering and organised crime proceeds - and how they are identified as such by scholars, policy-makers and anti-money laundering practitioners.

This book presents the results of an international comparative study on the causes of rule deviation in business and medical organizations. Based on document and interview analyses as well as experiments, the discrepancy between (state) regulations and organizational practice is elaborated and discussed in an interdisciplinary perspective. On the basis of the distinction between organizational and individual deviance, it could be shown across national boundaries that the unwritten rules of the organization make a decisive contribution in explaining organizational wrongdoing, as well as their containment. Implications for effective prevention derived from this are also pointed out.

Lobbying is not only the subject of ongoing, heated debates in politics and the public sphere but has also been a focus of the social sciences for decades. This edited volume provides an overview of the current state of research on lobbying from the perspective of Public Choice as a subfield of political science and economics. After a brief introduction to the field, Part I provides an overview of basic concepts and political-economic theories of lobbying from the standpoints of various subfields of Public Choice. Subsequently, Part II investigates the various channels used by interest groups to influence policymakers, such as party donations, informational lobbying, hiring politicians, etc. These chapters also discuss the possibilities and limits of regulating the respective channels. Lastly, Part III sheds light on lobbying in selected regions (i.e., the United States, European Union, Russia, and China). 

This open access book provides an accessible insight into how to tackle corruption in organisations and institutions. It explains how to recognise and analyse corruption issues, together with knowledge and advice on how they can be avoided, prevented, or minimised. It also provides a framework through which readers can examine what strategies are available to tackle corruption issues, a rationale for how to prioritise strategies depending on circumstances and context, and guidance on how to critique various options.

This book presents a series of interconnected studies designed to understand systemic corruption in local governments. Coined as the Corruption Consolidation Framework (CCF), this novel approach elucidates how corruption becomes the rule in formal institutional settings and further consolidates. The CCF analyzes the problem along four dimensions, offering a unique contribution to make sense of a complex problem without oversimplifying the subject. Chapters in the book explore the CCF in case studies conducted across Latin American municipalities in Mexico, Brazil, Chile, and Puerto Rico, however, authors believe the CCF is applicable around the world both in the Global South and in Western countries.

To best understand corruption, one needs to examine how it operates in practice. The case studies examined include examples of corporate bribery, political corruption, facilitation payments, cronyism, state capture, kleptocracy, asset recovery, offshore secrecy, reputation laundering and unexplained wealth, and actors include businesses, governments, politicians, governing bodies and public servants.