EC Library Guide on the Treaty of Paris: EU resources
A selection of EU publications on the European Coal and Steel Community1
(In chronological order)
- Forty years of access and preservation: Historical archives of the European Union
European University Institute, European University Institute, 2024.
Organised into thematic chapters, this catalogue explores diverse facets of European integration history.
Collège Monnet: 1952-1955. Inventaire des archives de la Commission européenne by
ISBN: 9789268080696Publication Date: 2023Cet ouvrage est le premier volet d'une série de publications sur l'ensemble des archives des cabinets des membres de la Haute Autorité. Ce premier tome est consacré aux membres du collège sous la présidence de Jean Monnet de 1952 à 1955.The role of the European Parliament. Part I, The European Coal and Steel Community 1952-2002 by
Publication Date: 2015This study, the first part of a wider analysis on the European Parliament's role in EU budgetary powers, traces the very first phase of interinstitutional relations in the framework of the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC).- ISBN: 9789282366523Publication Date: 2015This study traces the very first phase of interinstitutional relations in the framework of the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC). After a brief historical introduction, the study explains the structure, objectives and means of action of the ECSC.
The committees of the common Assembly by
ISBN: 9789282325346Publication Date: 2008Study of the main work of the committees of the common Assembly of the ECSE between 1952 and 1958
- Video: ECSC actors in the origins, 2002
European Communities, 2002, Duration: 00:57:55
These video stockshots include testimonies by several persons who played a role in the ECSC: Winrich Behr, François Duchêne, Michel Gaudet, Max Kohnstamm, Richard Mayne, René-Jacques Rabier, Edmund Wellenstein
Haute Autorité CECA: Inventaire des dossiers 1952-1967, volume 1-3 by
Publication Date: 1996-2002Volume 1: Histoire administrative sommaire de la Haute Autorité de la Communauté européenne du Charbon et de l'Acier -- CEAB 2: Secrétariat général -- CEAB 5: Relations extérieures -- CEAB 13: Groupes de travail -- CEAB 14: Commission des quatre présidents -- CEAB 15: Comité consultatif de la CECA -- Liste de concordance entre les numéros de dossiers et les numéros de microfiches.
Volume 2: CEAB 1 et 4: Service juridique -- CEAB 3: Archives centrales.
Volume 3: CEAB 7: Charbon -- CEAB 8: Acier.The history of the High Authority of the European Coal and Steel Community: Supranationality in operation by
ISBN: 0297821725Publication Date: 1994A chronicle of the first supranational European institution, from its establishment up to the merging of the executive bodies of the three Communities (EEC, ECSC, Euratom), which led to its demise in 1967. How it managed to overcome the differences between former enemies and lay the foundations for the Europe of the future.Inventaire des archives historiques: Dossiers de la Haute Autorité de la CECA by
ISBN: 92-825-6816-4Publication Date: 1987Ce deuxième volume de la série d'inventaires des Archives historiques des Communautés européennes concerne les actions principales menées par la Haute Autorité et le Comité consultatif de la CECA pendant l'année 1953. Il faut essentiellement mentionner l'établissement, le 10 février 1953, du Marché commun du charbon, du minerai de fer et de la ferraille.
- Options européennes 1945-1985
European Commission, Van Helmont, J. and Deniau, J., 1986,
Jacques van Helmont a participé à tous les grands moments de la vie européenne aux côtés de Jean Monnet pendant un quart de siècle, en particulier comme secrétaire général du comité d'action pour les États-Unis d'Europe. C'est donc comme témoin engagé qu'il pose la question: « comment expliquer alors qu'en quarante ans tant d'hommes de bonne volonté et de grand talent n'aient pas mené l'Europe à l'union attendue? ». Il y apporte des éléments de réponse en relatant les progrès et les échecs de l'unité européenne. (Source : Gosselin, G., Études internationales, 19 (2), 1988
Inventory of the historical archives: Records of the High Authority of the ECSC by
ISBN: 92-825-4954-2Publication Date: 1985Descriptive entries for records (1952) from the historical archives of the ECSC and for speeches (1952-1967) of European personalities.Opening of the historical archives of the European Communities to the public by
Publication Date: 1983The Treaty of 18 April 1951 establishing the European Coal and Steel Community came into force on 23 July 1952. The first Community Institution, the High Authority, took up its duties on 10 August 1952. Thirty years have elapsed since then. In accordance with general practice, the European Communities are now opening their archives to the public in order to facilitate research into the building of Europe and to make the aims, procedures and activities of the Communities more widely known.
- Années 1950-1966
European Commission. Publications Office of the European Union, 1967.
Chronologie de la Communauté Européenne du Charbon et de l’Acier (années 1959 à 1966).
Footnote
- For different language versions, check the EU Publications website.