This book introduces modern safety management in rail transport, focusing on the challenges resulting from the digital economy. It details how the cybersecurity of railway technical systems and risk can be managed.   The rail transport sector is increased integrated into the digital economy. Ensuing the safety of technical systems and managing the rail system as a whole are key challenges for rail transport designers, managers, users and other stakeholders. Developing of rail transport based on the interoperability of different systems requires both searching for modern solutions and ensuring a high level of standardization of processes. In the context of the widespread digitalization of railway systems, new hazards arise that can lead to undesirable events. This book examines these issues.   The book will be of interest to rail professionals, and researchers into transport systems and reliability.

This book is closely related to the energy conservation problem of rail transport systems, focusing on reducing the energy consumption of train operation. The system process of train operation is analyzed and the relationship between train operation and energy consumption is introduced. The fundamental theories, modelling and application of technologies for energy-efficient train driving are presented, discussing timely topics such as energy-efficient train control and timetabling, integrated timetabling and regenerative braking, and maximizing regenerated energy usage with energy storage systems. In addition, the modelling and application of a traction power simulation platform is introduced, to calculate the detailed energy flow over a railway network. The book is enriched with a set of practical examples to illustrate the performance of the proposed methods in improving energy efficiency of both urban and long-distance trains. Overall, the book provides a timely guide to professionals in the railway industry, and to researchers and graduate students in transport, electrical and control engineering. 

This textbook examines key railway engineering topics useful for railway design and control. Conventional railways are considered together with high-speed railways, tramways, metros, maglev and hyperloop systems, people movers, monorails and rack railways. Every system of transport is described in its basic technical characteristics, especially in terms of transportation system capacity, alignment design criteria and construction costs. It is an introductory book to specific topics of the railway engineering field, and thus, the mathematical treatment is purposely brief and simplified. The book is an ideal learning resource for students of civil engineering, as well as a valuable reference for practicing engineers involved with railway designs.

Taking a global approach, this insightful Handbook brings together leading researchers to provide a comprehensive overview of the state-of-the-art in railway regulation with a particular focus on countries that rely heavily on railways for transportation links, such as Japan, India and France. Despite numerous liberalisation attempts in recent years, the railway sector is still excessively complex, with regulations varying throughout the world. The Handbook on Railway Regulation gathers, for the first time, these various approaches and practices, using a historical and systematic approach to identify the main lessons for all countries. The Handbook also considers the most pressing issues for those working in and with railway systems, and outlines future trends in the development of global rail. Specific topics covered include the digitalization dilemma in the industry, rail sector reforms and regulation, and competition in the market for rail freight and passenger services.    This Handbook provides an invaluable contribution to the discussion of railway regulation worldwide, and will be a crucial compendium for students and scholars of transportation, regulation and competition looking to explore different approaches to the topic.

This book systematically expounds on the scientific principles and technologies of Rail Transit Intelligent Technology based on the high development of artificial intelligence theory and technology. The contents include technical principles, theoretical algorithms and practical engineering technologies of intelligent monitoring of rail transit system, intelligent sensing and identification of train power system, intelligent technology in rail transit system operation, intelligent maintenance of carriage environment, etc. It can be used as a textbook or teaching reference book for related fields in universities, including rail transit system, communication, automation, intelligent equipment design and manufacturing, artificial intelligence, computer science and technology, electrical engineering and automation, etc. It is used as an academic reference for professionals in rail transit system design, operation, and maintenance.

This open access book discusses modern cutting-edge techniques and theoretical research in the domain of transportation engineering. As China's Belt and Road Initiative (BRI) gains momentum over these years, the construction of transport routes between China and its neighboring countries has seen an unprecedented rise, which draws increased attention from researchers to the theoretical advances and technological innovation in the construction of transportation facilities. It will be an invaluable asset for the development of transport infrastructure construction technologies worldwide. Among the landmark engineering projects in the initiative are the Piraeus Port in Greece, the 100-MW photovoltaic power plant in Hungary-Kauposberg, and the Monnet Railway in Kenya, each of which stands out with its innovative highlights in theoretical research and technological advances. The book is expected to share with global experts and engineers in the field of transportation advanced research results and technologies in construction from China, discuss new research topics and explore feasible solutions in the realm of transportation engineering. The main topics discussed in this book include: a. New theories and technologies for the construction of roads, railroads, subways, airports, bridges, tunnels and other infrastructure; b. Advanced theories and technologies for the construction of ports, dams, reservoirs, sluices, hydraulic tunnels, canals and other infrastructure; c. Novel materials and innovative application of these materials to the construction of transportation facilities. This book is intended for graduate and doctoral students, experts and engineers in the field of transportation engineering.

This book reflects the latest research trends, methods, and experimental results in the field of electrical and information technologies for rail transportation, which covers abundant state-of-the-art research theories and ideas. As a vital field of research that is highly relevant to current developments in a number of technological domains, the subjects it covered include intelligent computing, information processing, communication technology, automatic control, etc. The objective of the proceedings is to provide a major interdisciplinary forum for researchers, engineers, academicians, and industrial professionals to present the most innovative research and development in the field of rail transportation electrical and information technologies. Engineers and researchers in academia, industry, and government will also explore an insightful view of the solutions that combine ideas from multiple disciplines in this field.

Economic growth, security and sustainability across Europe are at risk due to ageing railway infrastructure systems. At present, the majority of such systems are aging and some have even reached their initial design lives. These issues align with a major challenge in civil engineering: how to restore and improve urban infrastructure and built environments. Policy, environmental and physical barriers must be addressed and overcome. The complex and interconnected nature of the problem means that there is a need for academia, industry, communities and governments to work collaboratively. The challenges posed by extreme events from natural and man-made disasters are urgent. Rail Infrastructure Resilience: A Best-Practices Handbook presents developed improvement methods for rail infrastructure systems, toward resilience to extreme conditions. It shows how best to use new information in the engineering design, maintenance, construction and renewal of rail infrastructure resilience, through knowledge exchange and capability development. The book presents the outcome of a major European research project, known as the RISEN project. RISEN aimed to enhance knowledge creation and transfer using both international and intersectoral secondment mechanisms among European Advanced Rail Research Universities and SMEs, and Non-EU, leading rail universities, providing methodological approaches and practical tools for restoring and improving railway infrastructure systems for extreme events. Edited and written by members of this project, this book will be essential reading for researchers and practitioners hoping to find practical solutions to the challenges of rail infrastructure resilience.

Railway Noise and Vibration: Mechanisms, Modelling, and Means of Control, 2nd Edition provides a complete overview of the state of the art in rail noise and vibration theory and modelling.

This book offers new insights into the wider socioeconomic impacts of high-speed rail (HSR). Over the past few decades, significant investments have been made in these systems around the world. The use of public funds for the construction of HSR offers a range of benefits, such as time savings, increased comfort, and reduced traffic congestion, as well as broader economic benefits, including the advancement of less developed regions. These proceedings feature papers presented at the 4th International Workshop on the Socio-economic Impacts of High-Speed Rail. The focus is on impacts on the land-use system, competition vs. integration with alternative transport modes, investment, and evaluation. The book provides an overview of the current state of practice from both theoretical and empirical perspectives. As such, it is of interest to academics in transport economics and related fields, as well as professionals in the transport industry.

This book offers a timely collection of articles on innovative research and developments in the vast field of rail transport, including rail operations, management, economics, vehicles interior design and sustainable infrastructure. It addresses academics and professionals specializing in railway transport analysis, innovation, systems design and new technology. Continuing on the tradition of the previous volumes, the book reports on innovative solutions for energy saving, noise reduction and baggage handling. It elaborates on the implementation of digital technologies and discusses sustainable rail operations along transport corridors. The concept of hyperloop is also discussed as a possible transport mode of the future. All the contributions were selected through an internal competition and a double-blinded peer review process organized by the RailUniNet members 

This book offers a timely collection of chapters on innovative research and education-focused developments in the vast field of rail transport, including rail operations, management, economics, and sustainable infrastructure. Adding on the tradition of the previous four volumes, here a special emphasis is given on the current needs for rail skills development, innovating rail higher education provision, and solutions aimed at bridging the gap between railway education and industry expectations. Strategies for making the rail sector more attractive to early careers and younger generations, and methods to identify and retain talents in the railway sector are also described. Gathering peer-reviewed contributions prepared by the RailUniNet and AstonRail strategic partnership members, this book offers a timely view on current developments on rail-focused teaching and learning methods and approaches with extensive information for both academics and professionals specialising in railway research, technologies, training and education.

Railways are frequently promoted as one of the most sustainable modes of transport. However, their impact will in practice be significantly affected by the ways in which they are designed, constructed, and used. This book provides a comprehensive overview of the issues involved in planning, engineering and operating sustainable railway systems. It introduces and examines a wide range of aspects of railway systems and their interrelationships with other human and natural systems. For each of these aspects it considers the key factors that affect the sustainability of the railway. Students, academic researchers and those in rail industry or related fields who are interested in railways or in transport sustainability more generally will find this to be an invaluable guide. It will be particularly helpful to those who are either relatively new to the railway context, or who have a detailed knowledge of one aspect of railways but are seeking to acquire a more holistic understanding of railway systems.

This textbook provides a comprehensive treatment of railway communications systems and their ever-evolving interconnectivity, smart systems, and complex grids. The author first provides an introduction to railways and goes on to detail wayside networks, onboard networks, safety systems, and services that rely on these networks. In particular, the book covers application aspects, including network and physical layer, maintenance, and technologies that will shape the railway of the future. The book also covers rolling stock networks and systems and details the railway ecosystem that will help people new to the topic understand the core material. The book is oriented to educational purposes in classes such as Intelligent Transportation Systems or Communication Systems Architectures and also for practicing railway engineers. The textbook features supplementary material including homework problems, exercises and more.

Theory and Technology for Improving High-Speed Railway Transportation Capacity present solutions to problems in utilizing new technologies for signaling in high-speed rail towards increasing capacity. The book examines capacity in terms of signaling control and for a railway transport organization. Key problems covered include station intervals and resource occupation. This book provides a handbook for developing capacity through new technology and methods in signaling.  Sections focus on improving high-speed railway transportation capacity using frontier railway technologies and include the experience of the authors on high-speed railways in China to present best practices and novel solutions to railway signaling control and transportation organization. This title includes insights gained from years of work at the State Key Laboratory of Rail Traffic Control and Safety, offering readers a theoretical and systematic summary of the technology that can improve high-speed railway capacity.