This book explores the zero-waste concept in the biobased sector, proposing technologies and procedures to meet the sustainable development goals. The volume categorizes food waste sources and proposes an impressive number of high value-added compounds (e.g., platform chemicals, enzymes, nutraceuticals, antioxidants, organic acids, phosphate, bioadsorbents, pectin, solvents, and pigments) that can be obtained in a sequential biocascade, via chemical, biochemical, thermal, and physical technologies.

This edited volume covers the key role of bioeconomy for next-generation industrial production to achieve Sustainable Development Goals. It addresses the key environmental challenges due to biowaste generation and their application in boosting the economy through the conversion of biowaste into valuable products for sustainable growth and future needs. This book also describes the potential future research scope and possibilities in bioeconomy towards sustainable industrial ecology and circular economy.  In recent years, competition has increased for determinate resources. There is an urgent need to look for sustainable, non-polluting alternate sources to meet the demands of an ever-increasing population. Sustainable processes and production while using biological material can produce food, fodder, agricultural inputs, fuel etc. with lesser inputs and reduced emission of pollutants. Agricultural waste and food waste are another concern which demands immediate interventions. The Bioeconomy can be a possible way to address these challenges. It includes sustainable production of food, fodder, fiber, fuel, agricultural inputs, and other goods while using renewable resources or different types of waste. This is beneficial to resolve diverse environmental problems such as future bioenergy production technology, societal transformations, pollution management, industrial circular economy, agricultural practices and food securities, climate management etc. Bioeconomy helps to move from a linear economy to a circular economy.

The book explores the production of biohydrogen from food waste via anaerobic fermentation, focusing on effect factors, control methods and optimization. The book introduces food waste treatment and disposal technologies, including operational principles and process control. The authors discuss the use of aged refuse, the effect of several key factors on anaerobic gas production rate, process parameters optimization for enhancing biohydrogen yield, key factors in biohydrogen production from sewage sludge fermentation, and new developments in nutrition recovery from food waste. This book spans the entire production cycle, from waste recovery to its conversion processes, end-product, and by-product utilization.

This book focuses on the utilization of bio-resources and their conversion pathways for a sustainable future. It is a broad area that has given birth to concepts like the biorefinery, as well as a new stream known as biotechnology. Its scope includes biochemical and microbiological engineering, biocatalysis and biotransformation, biosynthesis and metabolic engineering, bioprocess and biosystem engineering, bioenergy and biorefineries, cell culture and biomedical engineering, food, agricultural and marine biotechnology, bioseparation and biopurification engineering, bioremediation and environmental biotechnology, etc.

Filamentous Fungi Biorefinery, the latest release in the Current Developments in Biotechnology and Bioengineering series, builds on knowledge on the classification of filamentous fungi and presence and roles played in ecosystems. The importance of filamentous fungi is then further corroborated through a description of their present applications in biotechnological processes. Knowledge on fungal biology is extended through discussion on structure and composition together with a description of growth potentialities of filamentous fungi in/on a wide range of substrates.

The book discusses the technology advances and innovations into industrial applications to improve supply chain sustainability and food security. It captures the highlights of the 13th International Congress of Engineering ICEF13 under congress themes, including sustainable food systems, food security, advances in food Process engineering, novel food processing technologies, food process systems engineering and modeling, among others.

This book presents the latest research on food supply chain management with a focus on urbanisation. The contributions involve food distribution in cities, food waste minimisation, and food security with a focus on models and approaches to achieve more sustainable and circular food supply chains.

This book focuses on the sustainability challenge of reducing food waste at the level of consumer-society. It considers environmental, economic, social and ethical factors. Perspectives included in the book address households, consumers, and organizations, and their role in reducing food waste.

This book covers all the existing possibilities of using food waste as a potential, alternative and ‘ready to use’, feed stock for biofuels production. Moreover, it also presents all the sustainable and economically feasible biofuels option with their details strategies, mechanism, advantages, draw backs and future scope. It also explores in depth knowledge of food waste, and details the processing as well as opportunities to utilize it at for mass scale biofuels production.

This book compiles current information pertaining to food waste, placing particular emphasis on the themes of food waste management, biorefineries, valuable specialty products and technoeconomic analysis. It explores new resource technologies, the bioeconomy, the technoeconomical evaluation of food-waste-based biorefineries, and the policies and regulations related to a food-waste-based economy.

This book serves as a guide, leading readers towards a world where waste ceases to be a burden, but a wellspring of possibilities. Whether the goal is to enhance expertise, ignite creativity, or develop a thorough grasp of waste's transformative possibilities, this book serves to achieve a more sustainable and prosperous future. It provides an invaluable treasure of knowledge for readers, researchers, working professionals, and academics alike, and offers a comprehensive roadmap to address the waste crisis with sustainable solutions.  The book introduces readers to a diverse range of sustainable approaches that address the pressing challenges of waste management and resource conservation. From converting waste into building materials to employing waste in innovative 3D printing applications, these sustainable approaches empower individuals to make informed choices for a greener future. It provides in-depth insights that captivate waste management and environmental specialists while offering accessible entry points for those new to the subject.

This book provides knowledge on the biohydrogen production from industrial and municipal organic waste materials. The waste materials used in hydrogen production are categorized as agricultural waste, municipal waste, industrial waste, and other hazardous wastes. Biohydrogen production from wastes materials opened a new opportunity for the widespread use of everlasting renewable energy source.

This book provides a comprehensive study of the notion of responsibility in environmental governance. It starts with the observation that, although the rhetoric of responsibility is indeed all-pervasive in environmental and sustainability-related fields, decisive political action is still lacking. Governance architectures increasingly strive to hold different stakeholders responsible by installing accountability and transparency mechanisms to manage environmental problems, yet the structural background conditions affecting these issues continue to generate unevenly distributed, socially unjust, and ecologically devastating consequences. Responsibility in Environmental Governance develops the concept of responsibility as an analytical approach to map and understand these dynamics and to situate diverse meanings of responsibility within larger socio-political contexts.

This handbook represents the state of the current art and science of food waste from multiple perspectives. Recent research has enabled greater understanding and measurement of loss and waste throughout food supply chains, shedding light on contributing factors and practical solutions. The chapters in this book describe and evaluate country case studies, waste management, treatment, prevention, and reduction approaches, and compares research methodologies for better understanding food wastage.

This emphasis of this book is placed on global issues, the environmental impacts of food consumption and wasted food, wasted nutrients, raising awareness via collaborative networks and actions, the effect of food governance and policy in food losses, promotion of sustainable food consumption, food redistribution, optimizing agricultural practices, the concept of zero waste, food security and sustainable land management, optimizing food supply and cold chains, food safety in supply chain management, non-thermal food processing/preservation technologies, food waste prevention/reduction, food waste valorization and recovery. This book analyzes the problem of food waste from every angle and provides critical information on how to minimize waste.

This edited book is a comprehensive collection of chapters on various clean energy technology such as solar energy, waste biomass as energy, hydro-electricity generation, biodiesel production from biomass and strategies to cater the demand of clean renewable energy. Clean energy technologies also enhance economic growth by increasing the supply of energy demand and tackling environmental challenges and their impacts due to the use of other conventional sources of energy. The conventional/non-conventional energy production methods are efficient but it has adverse effects on environment and human health. As environmental concerns are not avoidable therefore the necessity of clean energy production comes in to the picture.  The clean energy can be produced by different wastes which are caused for the environmental pollution. This book covers various aspects of new and renewable clean energy production technology and its utilization in different fields. This is a useful reading material for students and researchers involved in clean energy study.

This book presents a review of renewable energy-based sustainable drying techniques for developing countries. Aspiring towards a world with zero food waste, the book presents discussions on food waste scenarios around the world, the socio-economic status of developing countries and their correlation with food. The book gives an overview of the quality aspects of drying, along with the required energy and time to retain these features.

This book highlights established research and technology on corrosion inhibitors and bio-waste management. It further discusses emerging aspects of utilizing food waste in the field of corrosion inhibition. The topics covered include overview on bio-waste and their management, different types of food waste (i.e., agricultural, vegetable and fruit/fruit juice, plant waste, slaughterhouse trash), and their application as corrosion inhibitors and mitigation of corrosion. It also discusses economic aspects and commercialization of food waste as corrosion inhibitors.

The three sections of this book introduce the reader to the different types of wastes generated, utilization of waste through food processing industry and sustainable waste management technologies. The different chapters describe how the biomass and the valuable nutrients from food industry wastes could be used to develop value-added products. The book reiterates that food wastes and their by-products are an excellent source of sugars, minerals, dietary fiber, organic acids, bio active compounds such as polyphenols, carotenoids and phytochemicals etc.

Sustainable Management of Agro-Food Waste: Fundamental Aspects and Practical Applications provides insights into the latest approaches for optimizing waste produced by these industries. Bioconversion of agro-food waste is a significant concern for maintaining the ecosystem. This book covers current research into the production of a variety of bioactive compounds, bioenergy resources, and nanomaterials using potential microbes associated widely with the industry's waste. With primary focus on the microbial enzymes, secondary metabolites, single cell protein, bioethanol, biohydrogen, bio-fortified compost, bioelectricity, and nanomaterial's, the book presents a range of biotechnological approaches.Sections describe the application of microbial niches in waste recycling and renewable energies like biofuel, plant enzymes, and hormones for different agriculture and allied sectors. With recent advancements in the synthesis of bioactive compounds, bioenergy, and nanomaterials and the discovery of their agriculture, environmental and biomedical applications, it is expected that these methods will be applied at a large scale for industrial application in different sectors.

The rapid increase in industrial processes for the preparation and processing of various food products have resulted in the creation of large quantities of waste. These food wastes contain large amounts of nutrients which can be further converted into useful products, making byproduct technology increasingly important. Byproducts produced from various agro-based industries like cereals, fruits, vegetable processing, fish, meat and poultry can be converted into beneficial products. For instance, cereal and legume processing produces large quantities of wastes which can result in environmental problems affecting air, soil and water quality. These wastes can be efficiently utilized and converted into value added products such as bioethanol, butanol, biohydrogen, biogas, biocoal, industrially treasured enzymes, biofertilizer, proteins and organic acids.   Value Added Products From Food Waste covers waste management techniques utilized for managing raw materials in the food industry in an efficient way, recovering and reusing waste or neutralizing unwanted components. Chapters focus on the latest technologies and efficient management systems in all areas of food processing that make this process economical and minimize the hazards caused by the deposition of waste.