The Brussels I-bis Regulation remains the most significant legal instrument for procedural law in the EU, providing the cornerstone for questions of international jurisdiction and enforcement of judgments in civil and commercial matters. This authoritative book provides a thorough and practical analysis of the Regulation, with particular focus on its implementation and application. With comprehensive coverage of the relevant CJEU case law, and rigorous analysis of the jurisprudence of the Brussels Regulation, this book acts as both a detailed reference work for the understanding and practical application of the Regulation, and a roadmap for its future. It highlights the challenges involved in the application of the Regulation, such as interpretation of its concepts and the achievement of its underlying purposes, as well as the efficiency and potential costs, and provides suggestions for legislative improvements.

Der Digital Markets Act (DMA) dient der Ex-ante-Regulierung grosser digitaler Plattformen, die eine Gatekeeper-Funktion haben. Er enthalt nicht nur viele neue Regeln fur die Gatekeeper, sondern hat auch unmittelbare Auswirkungen auf alle Nutzer:innen der Plattformen. Der Einfuhrungsband Das Handbuch ist der ideale Einstieg in die hochkomplexe Materie. Es macht die Neuregelungen greifbar und beantwortet die wichtigsten Fragen, u.a.: Wie werden die vom DMA adressierten Gatekeeper identifiziert? Welche Verhaltenspflichten werden Gatekeepern im Einzelnen auferlegt? Welche Befugnisse haben EU-Kommission und nationale Behorden gegenuber Gatekeepern? Inwiefern profitieren gewerbliche Nutzer:innen - vor allem in der Herstellung, im Einzelhandel, in der Werbung, im Verlagswesen und in der Software- oder App-Entwicklung - von den neuen Vorschriften? Wie konnen Nutzer:innen die neuen Rechte durchsetzen? Welche Rechte haben Dritte vor Behorden und nationalen Gerichten? Welche Verfahrensfragen sind zu beachten?

Le droit de l’Union européenne régit un nombre de plus en plus élevé d’activités. Il assure des droits étendus aux citoyens européens. Il promeut la libre circulation des personnes, des biens, des services et des capitaux. Il organise la concurrence entre les entreprises et protège les travailleurs et les consommateurs. Le droit matériel de l’Union assure également la promotion des valeurs de l’Union dans divers domaines dont les crises récentes ont souligné le caractère existentiel : protection de la santé et de l’environnement, régulation des marchés financiers, approvisionnement énergétique, droit d’asile et politique d’immigration, régulation des nouvelles technologies, dans un cadre favorisant la promotion de la coopération internationale. Le présent ouvrage propose une présentation d’ensemble du droit de l’Union, afin de permettre la compréhension de ses notions et règles fondamentales. Synthétique et concret, ce manuel entend rendre compte à la fois de la diversité des règles et de la profonde unité qui les inspire, en éclairant systématiquement les développements les plus récents à la lumière de leur construction historique.

In two volumes, this book covers in a comprehensive, internally balanced, systematic and detailed way the field of European Union (EU) banking law and regulation. In three parts, Volume I offers a brief introduction to the role of banks in the contemporary financial system and the theory of banking regulation, a thorough analysis of international financial standards which are contained in the sources of public international banking law (and of public international financial law, in general), a detailed presentation of the gradual evolution and the sources of EU banking law, as well as a precise analysis of the law-making process and the key institutional aspects of this branch of EU economic law. The standards and rules adopted and the institutions created in the aftermath of the (2007-2009) global financial crisis and the subsequent euro area fiscal crisis, as well as during the current pandemic crisis are discussed, as appropriate. A detailed analysis of the substantive aspects ofEU banking law will follow in Volume II

This book analyses the tax law of the European Union, which has developed in the space between the national legal orders of the Member States on the one hand and the international regime (particularly the influences of the OECD, including BEPS) on the other. In that framework, the author considers the whole body of the tax law of the European Union: the general principles applicable to both direct and indirect taxation, the principle of equality and its more specific expressions on the basic freedoms and the prohibition of state aid, the principles of neutrality and ability to pay, taxpayers' fundamental rights, the justifications of infringements, including the fight against tax avoidance, secondary legislation in the area of direct taxes and details of the Union's VAT law and excise taxes.

This Handbook of European Environment and Climate Law is the 2nd edition of the work previously titled Handbook of European Environment Law. It is associated with the Traité de droit européen de l’environnement et du climat and the Manuel de droit européen de l’environnement et du climat, both in the French language and published in the same collection, and with which it shares a same structure. The Traité provides a more in-depth approach, with further historic, policy and caselaw considerations, and more complete references.

This book assesses the impact of the implementation of EU Directives 2019/770 (DCD) and 2019/771 (SGD) in the EU Member States. Taking a country report approach, each contribution pays specific attention to the systematic implications (e.g. the relationship with the law of obligations and contracts, intellectual property law and data protection law), to the influence on the formation of concepts and terms in the national law. In addition, the author of each country report investigates the use of the options which the EU legislator left in the discretion of national legislators (e.g. Art. 12 SGD). Finally, the book explores any voluntary extended implementation of the contents of the directives. It offers a complete guide to DCD and SGD and their implementation across the EU.

This book provides a practical handbook for legislation. Written by a team of experts, practitioners and scholars, it invites national institutions to apply its teachings in the context of their own drafting manuals and laws. Analysis focuses on general principles and best practice within the context of the different systems of government in Europe. Questions explored include subsidiarity, legitimacy, efficacy, effectiveness, efficiency, proportionality, monitoring and regulatory impact assessment.

Le droit fiscal de l’Union européenne prévoit deux modalités d’intégration des fiscalités nationales : l’intégration négative, qui suppose l’interdiction des restrictions fiscales à la libre circulation des marchandises, la prohibition des restrictions fiscales à la libre circulation des personnes, des services et des capitaux, et l’encadrement des aides d’État sous forme fiscale ; et l’intégration positive, qui passe par l’harmonisation des droits fiscaux nationaux, l’élimination des doubles impositions, et la coopération administrative et politique en matière fiscale. À terme, la question de la création d’un impôt européen devra bien entendu être posée. Cette question, renouvelée par la nécessité de financer le plan « Next Generation EU », montre à quel point le droit fiscal de l’Union européenne est une matière essentielle, passionnante et hautement symbolique.

The Palgrave Handbook of Environmental Policy and Law provides readers with information on developments in the two fields of environmental policy and environmental law in both developed and developing countries. In particular, the Handbook analyses policies and statutes used at the local, regional, national, and international level in locations of differing climates, governance, and levels of development that aim to protect the environment and ensure ecologically sustainable development.

This handbook analyses the European Banking Union legal framework focusing on legislative acts (regulations and directives), case law and the resolution procedures. In addition, it will pay attention to the division of responsibilities between the ECB and the national authorities, with special attention to the Single Supervisory Mechanism (SSM) and the Single Resolution Mechanism (SRM). To give a more complete picture, the book will also cover the implementation of European Deposit Insurance Scheme (so called third pillar) still under construction, and appeal to academics, researchers and students of banking and financial law.

This multidisciplinary book provides an insight into the taxation of individuals, businesses, passive investment and the non-profit sector. It reviews the harmonisation debate in the areas of corporate taxation and Value Added Tax, and also analyses the current developments as to energy and environmental taxation. Tax competition, state aid and the impact of the international polemic against aggressive tax planning are explored, as are the more procedural but equally important topics dealing with cooperation between tax authorities, exchange of information, taxpayer rights and dispute resolution. The final part of this book examines the external dimension to EU tax law - not only as far as the fundamental freedoms are concerned but also in the context of trade agreements and association agreements

This Research Handbook offers a comprehensive and state-of-the-art collection on the competition law (antitrust) prohibition of abuse of a dominant position and monopolization. It draws from the long and influential traditions of leading jurisdictions such as the European Union and the United States to analyse applicable rules and policy in these jurisdictions. It also takes a comparative approach to identify common threads and differences. Bringing together contributions from authoritative legal and economic experts, it provides an in-depth analysis of foundational legal and economic principles which guide the Research Handbook's exploration of the concept and prohibition of abuse of a dominant position.

The Research Handbook on EU Competition Law and the Energy Transitioncomprehensively analyses key topics in the field, covering both traditional and emerging antitrust, state aid, and policy issues related to energy transformation, increased sustainability goals and the functioning of European energy markets. Across 17 authoritative chapters, leading experts in the competition, state aid and energy law fields blend academic rigour with practical insights. Contemporary issues are discussed such as the European energy markets' regulatory frameworks, the legality of agreements between energy players, market power abuse in energy markets, and the way that states may play a direct role when intervening in the sector to promote renewable energy forms of the security of energy supply. The Research Handbook examines current geopolitical, social and technological changes and challenges in the energy sector within an economic law context and addresses the ongoing restructuring of European energy markets.

This comprehensive Research Handbook discusses how the EU has used its regulatory power to steer towards environmentally friendly behaviour, delving into the deep concerns related to the compliance with and enforcement of EU environmental law. It also highlights the important role of civil society’s use of environmental procedural rights, and characterizes how the CJEU case law has contributed to the effective implementation of EU environmental legislation.

This Research Handbook provides a panoramic guide to the study and research of EU citizenship and its development within a challenging environment characterised by restrictive access to social benefits, Brexit, Euroscepticism and Covid-19. It combines theoretical perspectives with analyses of both the existing and future rights, duties and social protection that EU citizens ought to enjoy in a democratic and principled European Union.

This innovative Research Handbook explores judicial, scholarly, and theoretical approaches to general principles in the EU legal order against the backdrop of considerable uncertainty about the concept. It does so by analysing both a diverse range of general principles in discrete areas of EU law ('zooming in') and external, wider perspectives on the notion of a general principle of law from international law, comparative law, and legal theory ('zooming out'). Rather than arguing for a single closed definition of what a general principle of law in the EU legal order must look like, this Research Handbook identifies conceptual, theoretical, and legal parameters within which the doctrine of general principles can be meaningfully discussed and contested in EU law. The different analytical layers built into this Research Handbook shed light on whether general principles are defined by the different contexts in which they apply; whether general principles are in practice leading to more coherence between different areas of EU law; and what challenges they create for the EU legal order. Chapters thus contribute to a more refined methodological and doctrinal understanding of general principles in the EU legal order.

The Research Handbook on Private Enforcement of Competition Law in the EUprovides wide-ranging coverage of a key aspect of competition law enforcement which is undergoing constant and rapid growth in significance. The Handbook examines the private enforcement of competition law across the EU and beyond, shedding light on pertinent and underlying issues. This Research Handbook brings different perspectives into the dialogue, curating contributions from judges, academics and practitioners. As a whole, the Handbook delivers a deft exploration of strategies to successfully enforce rights across the EU and encompasses discussion and scrutiny of legal instruments, institutional developments, key litigation issues and judicial practice. It delivers contemporary and comparative reflection on developments in practice, including the impact of the Antitrust Damages directive, and the impact of a range of CJEU case-law.

This Research Handbook explores the complex interplay between competition law and sustainability, and also provides key insights into the role and limitations that tax, environmental laws, consumer laws, and social laws have in promoting sustainability. A distinguished array of international experts examine core principles of environmental and social sustainability, delve into the economic dynamics that shape this multidimensional relationship, and critically analyse how competition law and policy can both positively and negatively shape sustainability outcomes. The Research Handbook presents a detailed overview of various policy questions surrounding sustainability and antitrust law - considering their economic, legal, and institutional aspects - and includes diverse jurisdictional perspectives which highlight the many nuances in this increasingly relevant interface.

This comprehensive Research Handbook investigates the success of EU law enforcement processes. Going beyond traditional analyses of administrations and courts in isolation, it focuses on the increased cooperation seen between national and EU authorities, and on the widening variety of means used to enhance compliance with EU norms. Bringing together leading experts from law, political science, economics and socio-legal studies, this Research Handbook provides a state-of-the-art analysis of EU enforcement laws, policies, and scholarship. It presents conceptual, institutional, and sectoral perspectives on EU law enforcement, advancing existing knowledge on why, when, and how laws are being followed or disobeyed. Contributors explore enforcement in specific EU policy areas, including foreign relations, economic policy, the internal market, competitiveness, and citizen rights. It argues that an overarching EU enforcement strategy would be more successful than the current model of diverse methods of enforcement in different policy areas.

Over the years, the European Union has developed relationships with other international institutions, mainly as a result of its increasingly active role as a global actor and the transfer of competences from the Member States to the EU. This book presents a comprehensive and critical assessment of the EU's engagement with other international institutions, examining both the EU's representation and cooperation as well as the influence of these bodies on the development of EU law and policy.

This Research Handbookanalyses the role of law in a universe fractured by new and disruptive technologies such as metaverse platforms. Contributing authors explore how the law will and must adapt as new dimensions are introduced to issues such as intellectual property rights, e-commerce, NFTs and cryptocurrencies, data privacy, contract law, but also human rights, consumer law and criminal law. The issue of abuse and manipulation of users is the focus of several contributions. In this innovative Research Handbook,global experts discuss the philosophical and legal questions raised by the use of immersive platforms for leisure and gaming, as well as professional, commercial and medical activities. The authors employ legal frameworks to understand the metaverse from the perspectives of personality, property, obligation, harm and liability, examining how current law succeeds and falters in regulating the challenges presented by virtual worlds. They consider the dangers to ordinary citizens and vulnerable consumers and provide insights on how legislation should be developed prior to the creation of a fully functioning metaverse in order to prevent the erosion of fundamental human rights.

Expert contributors from international and interdisciplinary backgrounds set the politics of EU law in both a historical and contemporary context, exploring the relations between different EU institutions across a variety of substantive policy areas. Identifying the main sites of interaction between law and politics, chapters highlight key theoretical insights providing an in-depth understanding of the field. With up-to-date coverage of the latest developments, this Research Handbook analyses the impact of Brexit, economic and financial crises, migration crises and important trends for law and governance. Discerning and forward-thinking, this Research Handbook will be key reading for students and scholars of European law, European politics, and those with an interest in exploring the interface between the two. Its accessible approach will also engage practitioners in EU law and politics, including lawyers and national government and EU institution officials.

The Routledge Handbook of Commercial Space Law provides a definitive survey of the transitions and adjustments across the stakeholder community contributing to outer space activities. The interaction between NewSpace, traditional aerospace industrials, and non-traditional space-related technologies is driving market changes which will affect state practice in what has until now been a government dominated market. Greater private commercial participation will lead to new economic approaches to risk-sharing models driven by a space services dominated market. This handbook is a detailed reference source of original articles which analyse and critically evaluate the scope of the current paradigm change, and explain why space contracts and risk apportionment as currently known will change in tune with ongoing market transitions. Reference is made to the scope of best practices across various leading states involved in space activities.

The Routledge Handbook of EU Copyright Law provides a definitive survey of copyright harmonization in the European Union, capturing the essential and relevant issues of this relatively recent phenomenon. Over the past few years, two themes have emerged: on the one hand, copyright policy and legislative initiatives have intensified; on the other hand, the large number of references to the Court of Justice of the European Union has substantially shaped the EU copyright framework and, with it, the copyright framework of individual EU Member States. This handbook is a detailed reference source of original contributions which analyze and critically evaluate the state of EU copyright law with a view to detecting the key trends and patterns in the evolution of EU copyright, weighing the benefits and disadvantages of such evolution. It covers a broad range of topics through clusters focused on: the history and approaches to EU copyright harmonization; harmonization in the areas of exclusive rights, exceptions and limitations, and enforcement; copyright policy and legacy of harmonization

Polar law describes the normative frameworks that govern the relationships between humans, States, Peoples, institutions, land and resources in the Arctic and the Antarctic. These two regions are superficially similar in terms of natural environmental conditions but the overarching frameworks that apply are fundamentally different. The Routledge Handbook of Polar Law explores the legal orders in the Arctic and Antarctic in a comparative perspective, identifying similarities as well as differences. It points to a distinct discipline of "Polar law" as the body of rules governing actors, spaces and institutions at the Poles. Four main features define the collection: the Arctic-Antarctic interface; the interaction between global, regional and domestic legal regimes; the rights of Indigenous Peoples; and the increasing importance of private law. While these broad themes have been addressed to varying extents elsewhere, the editors believe that this Handbook brings them together to create a comprehensive (if never exhaustive) account of what constitutes Polar law today.