This second edition of the first commentary of the EU Charter of Fundamental Rights in English, written by experts from several EU Member States, provides an authoritative but succinct statement of how the Charter impacts upon EU, domestic and international law.

The book addresses the rapid development of EU copyright law in relation to the advancement of new technologies, the need for a borderless digital market and the considerable number of EU legal instruments enacted as a result. Alongside full legislative analysis and article-by-article commentary, the Commentary illustrates the underlying basic principles of free movement and non-discrimination. It provides insights into the influence of copyright on other areas of EU policy, including telecoms and bilateral trade agreements.

This book provides an all-encompassing and timely analysis of the EU regulatory framework deriving from the enactment of Directive 2022/2041 on adequate minimum wages. In the first part, the book discusses the function of minimum wage policies in contemporary labour markets and the role of social partners and collective bargaining in governing minimum wage determinants and trends. The second part provides an article-by-article commentary of the Directive, including insights on crucial aspects such as the EU competence to intervene on wages, the concept of minimum wage adequacy, and the measurement and promotion of collective bargaining coverage. The third part assesses the impact of the Directive across the EU, focusing on the main systemic implications of the Directive as well as on the structural changes that Member States will need to implement.

This book provides an all-encompassing and timely analysis of the EU regulatory framework deriving from the enactment of Directive 2022/2041 on adequate minimum wages. In the first part, the book discusses the function of minimum wage policies in contemporary labour markets and the role of social partners and collective bargaining in governing minimum wage determinants and trends. The second part provides an article-by-article commentary of the Directive, including insights on crucial aspects such as the EU competence to intervene on wages, the concept of minimum wage adequacy, and the measurement and promotion of collective bargaining coverage. The third part assesses the impact of the Directive across the EU, focusing on the main systemic implications of the Directive as well as on the structural changes that Member States will need to implement. With contributions written by scholars and stakeholders from across Europe, the book sheds light on one of labour law's most fundamental objectives - to provide for adequate minimum wages.

This Commentary analyses the history, technology, uses, legality, and circumvention of geo-blocking, which affects customers and businesses both inside and outside the EU. Marketa Trimble examines each of the provisions of the 2018 EU Geo-Blocking Regulation, including provisions on non-discriminatory access to online interfaces, goods and services, and means of payment. Key Features: This Commentary analyses the history, technology, uses, legality, and circumvention of geo-blocking, which affects customers and businesses both inside and outside the EU. Marketa Trimble examines each of the provisions of the 2018 EU Geo-Blocking Regulation, including provisions on non-discriminatory access to online interfaces, goods and services, and means of payment.

The new edition of this seminal guide to EU immigration and citizenship has been updated to include all key legislative developments, focusing in particular on: - Asylum Procedure and Reception Conditions Directives - Dublin III Regulation - Qualification Directive - Schengen Borders Code, Visa Code and Frontex Regulation - Family Reunion Directive - Long-Term Residents Directive - Blue Card Directive - Return Directive.

The Law Enforcement Directive 2016/680 (LED) is the first legal instrument in the EU which comprehensively regulates the use of personal data by law enforcement authorities, creating a minimum standard of privacy protection across the EU. Together with the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR), it stands at the heart of the legal reform of the EU's data protection law. Although it was adopted at the same time as the GDPR, the LED has not received the same scholarly attention, despite its significant impact and controversial implementation in Member States.The EU Law Enforcement Directive (LED): A Commentary addresses this by providing an article-by-article commentary on the Directive. Drawing on the expertise of leading scholars, regulators, and practitioners in the EU data protection field, it offers a detailed analysis of its legal provisions, drawing on relevant case law and scholarship to illuminate the key aspects and intricacies of each provision. It analyses national transpositions of the LED while taking into account the GDPR and the regulations on the processing of personal data by EU institutions, bodies, offices and agencies. For further context, it includes introductory chapters on the background and evolution of the Directive, the Council of Europe, and the impact of Brexit on the LED.

This book addresses the key pieces of EU legislation in the field of e-commerce, including on consumer rights, copyright, electronic identification, open internet access, electronic payments, competition law and digital content. Key features of this second edition include: thoroughly up-to-date analysis of decisions of the Court of Justice and the Commission article-by-article commentary on the latest directives and regulations in the field of e-commerce a unique structure featuring detailed tables of cases and legislation and paragraph references, enabling easy access to all substantive legal provisions new chapters featuring analysis of services in the internal market, copyright in the Digital Single market, measures concerning open internet access and more.

This new commentary analyses, article by article, the two most important regulations on the European banking union: firstly, the Single Supervisory Mechanism with the ECB as the single supervisory authority for major banking institutions; and secondly, the Single Resolution Mechanism with the Single Resolution Fund as the centralized decision-making body in the eurozone.

This detailed Commentary provides an authoritative interpretation of each provision in the main EU Directive on public procurement - Directive 2014/24/EU, and is rich in its critical analysis of the provisions of the 2014 Directive and the case-law. The Commentary also highlights the application problems and interpretative issues being raised in EU Member States, which in due time will make their way up to the CJEU or even require further legislative interventions. Key features include: Updated to include the most significant CJEU case law as of end-2020 Analysis that is informed by the practical issues arising across the EU Member States, as well as in the UK Written by a diverse pool of specialists in each of the aspects of the Directive upon which they comment, with the Commentary underpinned by their collective knowledge of public procurement law in the old 28 EU Member States.

Presenting a systematic article-by-article commentary on the European Service Regulation (recast), and written by renowned experts from several EU Member States, this book gives balanced and informed guidance for the proper operation of judicial cooperation in civil and commercial matters within the EU in the field of cross-border service of documents. First setting out the origins and evolution of the Regulation, the Commentary proceeds to analyse in forensic detail the relevant case law of both the European Court of Justice and national courts on cross-border service. It moreover points the reader to the pertinent legal scholarship from various EU jurisdictions, and provides a pathway for solving practical problems surrounding the service of documents between Member States of the European Union in civil and commercial proceedings.

This book explores the question of how the EU understands the ‘rule of law’ in its external relations, with a particular focus on development cooperation and enlargement. Although the EU’s commitment to the rule of law is strong, the relevant concept remains nebulous. On the basis of a detailed analysis of two key EU external policy areas, the main argument advanced is that the Union has adopted a mostly ‘institutional’ approach to the concept by focussing largely on judicial reform.

Now a volume in the Oxford EU Financial Regulation Series, the second edition of Market Abuse Regulation has been updated to reflect the impact of a number of major developments in legislation and case law following the implementation of the EU Market Abuse Regulation (MAR).Written by leading scholars in the field of capital markets law from a number of European jurisdictions, the book is divided into two main parts. The first consists of chapters considering relevant issues by topic, including aspects not directly addressed by MAR such as enforcement, and the impact of US securities regulation. The second part provides article-by-article commentary on the Regulation, with a detailed and technical analysis of its terms.

This comprehensive Commentary provides an in-depth, article-by-article analysis of the Rome III Regulation, the uniform rules adopted by the EU to determine the law applicable to cross-border divorce and legal separation. Disputes on family matters form part of everyday litigation in the EU, with around 140,000 international divorces per year; this Commentary offers a clear legal understanding of the regulation that governs this increasingly significant area of family law.

France: Recent and pending ECJ cases / Georges Cavalier -- Pending case C-175/20 at the Court of Justice of the European Union: an obligation for Internet advertising service providers to communicate certain personal data to a tax authority / Jānis Neimanis -- Case C-363/20 MARCAS MC v Nemzeti Adó- és Vámhitaval Fellebbviteli Agazgatósága / Rita Szudoczky, Balázs Károlyi -- Germany: Finanzamt Bremen, C-431/211 / Alexander Rust -- Bulgaria: Viva Telecom Bulgaria (C-257/20): Opinion of AG Rantos / Ivan Lazarov -- Norway: interest deduction rules PRA Group Europe AS; request for an Advisory Opinion (case E-3/21) / Eivind Furuseth -- Spain: Procedures on State Aid and informative return on goods, assets and rights located abroad: Banco de Santander (C-274/14); Commission v. Spain (C-788/19) and IP & CZ v. Catalonian Regional Tax Tribunal (C-330/20 and 366/20); Spain v. Commission (T-515/13 and T-719/13) / José Manuel Almudí Cid -- Luxembourg Cases / Werner Haslehner, Katerina Pantazatou -- The Netherlands: Nike and Converse v Commission (T-648/19): State aid and good administration / Mart van Hulten -- Swedish Cases / Bertil Wiman -- C-420/19 Maksu- ja Tolliamet versus Heavyinstall OÜ / Artur Lundalin -- Romania: Case C-828/19 SC Panavitrans SRL and Case C-677/19 SC Valoris SRL / Ioana-Felicia Rosca -- The Gibraltar cases: Mead Johnson Nutrition v European Commission T-508/19 and Fossil (Gibraltar) v Commissioner of Income Tax C-705/20 / Philip Baker -- UK Cases / Philip Goeth -- Finnish cases / Kristina Äimä, Aki Kokko -- Portugal: Withholding tax on dividends distributed to non-resident UCITS: do tax techniques matter? / Ana Paula Dourado, José Almeida Fernandes -- Belgium: Recent and pending CJEU cases 2020/2021 / Edoardo Traversa, Gaetan Zeyen -- Italy: UBS Real Estate (C-478/19 and C-479/19) and Airbnb Ireland and Airbnb Payments UK (C-83/21) / Guglielmo Maisto -- Recent trends in ECJ case law / Melchior Wathelet.

In this thoroughly revised new edition of what quickly became the authoritative work when first published in 2017, Fernando Castillo de la Torre and Eric Gippini Fournier, two of the most experienced litigators in EU competition law, update their systematic analysis of the case law of the EU Courts on the rules of evidence, proof and judicial review, as they are applied in EU competition law. Fairness in the public enforcement of EU competition law is closely scrutinised and therefore maintaining robust rules on the presentation of evidence, and on the burden and standard of proof is paramount, so much the more in the context of digital markets. Also critical to the EU's commitment to fundamental rights is sound procedure and the right to judicial review. All of these are carefully reviewed in this book from the perspective of those who have been closest to the cases, with the result that the authors construct a definitive yet balanced portrayal of the state of EU competition law.

This is the first book to offer a profound, practical analysis of the framework for the judicial and pre-judicial protection of rights under the supranational banking supervision and resolution powers in the European Banking Union (EBU). It is also unique in its in-depth commentary on the developing case law from the European Court of Justice in this new field of EU litigation.

This multi-jurisdictional guide explores the framework and practice in relation to judicial review of competition cases across leading jurisdictions. In a comparative study composed of seventeen essays, current and former judges, alongside notable academics and enforcers, provide global perspectives on universally relevant issues. Topics addressed include questions of fundamental rights and due process, as well competition-specific concerns regarding merger review, monopolization, inspection decisions, fine-setting by the European Commission, and State aid in tax-related matters, among others. Edited by two eminent voices from the bench, the collection fills an important gap in the literature, and constitutes essential reading for all concerned with the rule of law in the competition area.The jurisdictions covered include Australia, China, the European Union, France, Germany, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, India, Italy, Japan, Poland, South Africa, the United Kingdom and the United States.

Le recueil Jurisprudence de la CJUE 2023. Décisions et commentaires réunit les décisions de la Cour de justice prononcées au cours de l’année 2023 qui ont été considérées comme étant les plus significatives dans chacune des matières couvertes par le droit de l’Union européenne : questions institutionnelles, sources du droit de l’Union européenne, droits fondamentaux, recours, questions préjudicielles, citoyenneté, libertés économiques, droits sociaux, environnement, fiscalité, ententes, abus de position dominante et concentrations, aides d’État, espace de liberté, de sécurité et de justice, action extérieure, propriété intellectuelle, marchés publics, banque et assurance, consommation, transports, droit international privé, protection des données, finances publiques, union économique et monétaire et union douanière. Pour chacune de ces matières, un spécialiste, faisant autorité en droit de l’Union européenne et plus particulièrement dans la matière concernée, a sélectionné une ou plusieurs décisions de la Cour de justice considérées comme étant significatives des tendances de la jurisprudence actuelle, voire importantes pour les évolutions du droit de l’Union européenne.

This insightful and timely book provides a comparative assessment of selected legal issues emerging from the EU legal context which impact profoundly on the national legal systems. It argues that judicial interaction can answer complex legal questions relating to the implementation of the EU Charter. Featuring practical cases of judicial interactions between European and national courts, the contributions in this book analyse the multi-dimensional impact of a wide array of judicial interaction techniques such as the preliminary reference procedure, consistent interpretation, comparative reasoning, mutual recognition and disapplication. Constructed in an insightful manner, the book stimulates debate and dialogue across the boundaries of practice and academia, featuring exchanges of expertise and knowledge between legal practitioners and leading scholars.

Do independent boards of appeal set up in some EU agencies and the European Ombudsman compensate for the shortcomings of EU Courts? This book examines the operation of EU judicial and extra-judicial review mechanisms. It confronts the formal legal rules with evolving practices, relying on rich statistical data and internal documents. It covers detailed institutional arrangements, the standard of review, the types of cases and litigants, and the activity of the parties in the process. It makes visible the diverse but complementary ways in which the mechanisms enhance the authority of EU legal acts and processes. It also reveals that scarce resources and imprecise rules restrict the scope of review and hinder independent empirical investigations. Finally, it casts light on how a differentiated system of judicial and extra-judicial review can accommodate various kinds of technical and political discretion exercised by EU institutions and bodies.