In this Springer essential, Angelika Kutz examines how paradoxical double bind communication affects employees and organizations. The aim is to make transparent the self-esteem-destroying machinery and disease-promoting effect of the toxic communication pattern double bind. From the research findings, the author derives the following questions: Are Burnout and Organizational Burnout in truth Double Bind-induced work attachment and work relationship disorders? Does Double Bind and the relationship disorder based on it fuel the increasing loss of values and thus the self-destruction of the global Double Bind society?

Volume 19 of Research in Occupational Stress and Well-Beingexplores and enhances our understanding of how stress and well-being at work can change over time. Much of the prior literature in occupational stress and well-being is designed to look at antecedents of stress and well-being, treating them as dependent variables. Although these models implicitly acknowledge the dynamic nature of stress and well-being, they are often assessed at a single time point and treated as a static end-state. This volume moves beyond this approach by explicitly examining stress and well-being as a dynamic phenomenon by examining changes in stress and well-being that happen developmentally, because of intentional interventions on the part of organizations, in response to job role or job status transitions, or which examine the ways in which changes in stress and well-being is conceptualized and assessed.

Volume 20 of Research in Occupational Stress and Well Beingfeatures contributions that expand the understanding of how occupational stressors can build employee resilience and enhance their well-being while at the same time creating negative employee outcomes such as depletion, exhaustion, and depression. To this end, chapters take a hard look at examining the outcomes of work stressors, the circumstances or conditions that can change or even reverse the relationship between stressors and outcomes, and theoretical accounts for apparent contradictions in this literature. Examining the Paradox of Occupational Stressors: Building Resilience or Creating Depletionrepresents insightful, intriguing, and timely research into the paradox of experienced stress in the workplace.

This handbook comprehensively covers the fundamental key concepts in coaching research and evidence-based practice and shows how coaching can be applied to multiple contexts. It provides coaching scholars, researchers and practitioners with detailed review of the key concepts, research and new insights into coaching research and practice. This key reference work includes over 70 contributions from more than 110 leading researchers and practitioners in the field across countries, and deftly combines theory with case studies and applications from psychology, sociology, business administration, organizational studies, education, and communication studies. This handbook, edited by the top scholars in the field, is meant for an academic as well as a professional readership, and is an invaluable resource for coaches, clients, coaching institutes and associations, and students of coaching.

Managing Employee Burnout covers everything from what burnout is, what causes it and what different forms it can take. It also explores the role of the organization in employee burnout and includes specific guidance on how to manage burnout in remote and hybrid working environments and why dispersed teams may be more susceptible to burnout. Full of actionable advice and real world examples, this book demonstrates what strategies to put in place to safeguard staff retention and productivity from burnout as well as how to promote awareness and emotional intelligence in the business. This book also explains why effective company culture, communication, leadership and an inclusive talent strategy are key to building a healthy, engaged and sustainable workforce.

During the Covid-19 pandemic, almost half of Americans reported that the crisis had a negative effect on their mental health. In the UK, the financial crisis of 2008 resulted in a rise in stress and anxiety and a decline in physical health. When dealing with a crisis, a business will consider the resilience of its structures and processes or the impact on forecasts and budgets but what about their people? Without a supported, engaged and motivated workforce, the business won't be able to achieve its crisis recovery plans. Managing Workplace Health and Wellbeing During a Crisis is a practical guide for all HR professionals and those responsible for talent management. It covers how to deal with employee stress and burnout as well as how to drive engagement, motivation and morale during unsettled times. There is expert guidance on how to deal with role and responsibility changes and explains how to improve productivity through effective employee communication. Supported by case studies from companies including Microsoft, Marks and Spencer, GlaxoSmithKline, Rolls-Royce and Twitter, this book equips readers to deal with a crisis as it is happening and implement longer term post-crisis strategies. Written by an expert author team including Professor Sir Cary Cooper, Chair of the National Board of Health and Wellbeing at Work, this is necessary reading for all professionals needing to deal with the health and wellbeing of their workforce in any crisis that may arise.

There's a force we encounter every day that we aren't aware of - and it threatens to derail otherwise promising careers and lives: microstress. This hidden epidemic of small moments of stress has insidiously infiltrated both our work and our personal lives with invisible but devastating effects. Microstress doesn't trigger the normal stress response in our brains to help us deal with it. Instead, it embeds itself in our minds and accumulates daily, one microstress on top of the other. The long-term impact can be debilitating. Unregistered microstress weighs us down, damages our physical and emotional health, and contributes to a decline in our well-being. What's more, microstress is baked into our lives. The source is seldom a classic antagonist, such as a demanding client or a jerk boss. Instead, it comes from the people with whom we are closest: our friends, family, and colleagues.

This book shows why mindful leadership is the key element for supportive management and leadership in the 21st century. It highlights the fundamentals of mindful leadership in philosophy and history in different cultural traditions and shows latest research on mindfulness and digitalization, technology, social networking, and leading-self concepts. The book bridges the past and the future. By combining a range of research perspectives, it connects mindfulness to serving leadership concepts and describes resilience for both individuals and organizations. In addition, it presents theoretical aspects and practical recommendations on how to implement mindful leadership and supportive environments in organizational cultures. The book encompasses history, present leadership challenges and future management perspectives and enables the implementation of models of good practice into daily working life. It includes contributions from researchers of different continents, and offers an international overview of state-of-the art leadership research.

This volume is comprised of contributions to the 67th Nebraska Symposium on Motivation, which brought together various research disciplines such as psychology, education, health sciences, natural resources, environmental studies to investigate the ways in which nature influences cognition, health, human behavior, and well-being. The symposium is positioned to explore two proposed mechanisms in the most depth: 1) the psycho-evolutionary theory of stress recovery and 2) Attention Restoration Theory. The contributions in the volume represent research guided by both of these posited mechanisms, rigorously examine these theories and processes, and share methodological innovations that can be utilized across programs of research. This volume will be of great interest to researchers on natural environments, practitioners and clinicians working with an environmental lens at the intersection of psychology, social work, education and the health sciences, as well as researchers and students in environmental and conservation psychology.

This handbook discusses the role of sustainability, well-being and growth in engagement and purpose at work. When employees are dissatisfied with their job, they tend to be disengaged and less productive. Given the correlation between job satisfaction and job performance, organizations are looking for ways to increase employee engagement and productivity. Divided into three sections, this work opens with an examination of the concept of work, then discusses fulfillment of workforce members at mental, emotional, and spiritual levels. The next section on wellness explores drivers that advance interhuman approaches and trends, including meaning, leadership, happiness, resilience, and motivation. The last section focuses on personal and professional growth through the cultivation of an entrepreneurial mindset, but also justice, equity, and interactive flourishing through the promotion of positive trends or the conscious reduction of toxic ones. With contributions from a global cluster of scholars, this book offers readers broad perspectives on the potential nature of work as a gratifying vocation. It will serve as a horizon-expanding reference for those researching topics related to meaningful work and workplace fulfillment and thriving.

This handbook brings together an international group of experts to offer a comprehensive resource on occupational stress. Including both theoretical and practical perspectives, it examines ways to reduce and treat stress, as well as the physiological, psychosocial, and neural underpinnings of it. Through 24 original and carefully selected essays, the authors offer new insights, resources, and tools to better understand, manage and treat stress in a professional environment. The book's chapters are divided into 5 parts that address the conceptualisation of stress; present theoretical models (including the contribution of animal models); examine the psychological and physiological aspects of stress and ways to assess it; delve into psychosocial risks at work and their assessment (means and methods); and investigate how to cope with stress at work, including resilience training. Aspects such as the effects of leadership, simulation training, and stress-tests for hiring are also presented and discussed. The volume ends by exploring broader considerations regarding stress and culture, stress and occupational sectors (with a chapter focusing on studentship), and the pharmacology of stress.

This research-to-practice text explores how coaching can support thriving in the workplace. It focuses on positive psychology coaching in the workplace in relation to: the convergence with organisational psychology and coaching psychology, professional and ethical practices, resilience and wellbeing, team and systemic approaches, leadership, tools of intervention, convergence of clinical interventions and virtuousness, and the future of thriving workplaces. The chapter contributions represent a truly international scholarship and bring together complementary perspectives from the fields of positive psychology, coaching psychology, organisational psychology, organisational scholarship, neuroscience, education and philosophy.

The objective of this series is to promote theory and research in the increasingly growing area of occupational stress, health and well being, and in the process, to bring together and showcase the work of the best researchers and theorists who contribute to this area. As you know, questions of work stress span many disciplines and many specialized journals. Our goal is to provide amultidisciplinary and international collection that gives a thorough and critical assessment of knowledge, and major gaps in knowledge, on occupational stress and well being.Research in Occupational Stress and Well Being is focused on power, politics and influence. It has been widely accepted that power, politics and influence are pervasive within most social entities, including work organizations. However, research on the role of social influence in the stress process is still needed. This volume will focus on the connections between socialinfluence processes, broadly defined (e.g., power, politics, political skill and influence), and employee stress, health, and well-being.

This essential provides insights into approaches, procedures and ideas on how resilience, understood as resistance, can be promoted and implemented in a team. Most of the time, these concepts are only applied to individuals. But many of the findings from resilience research can be transferred to teams and even extended. Today, resilience is also playing an increasingly important role in teams: whether it is to strengthen the sense of coherence according to Antonovsky's principle of salutogenesis, or to consider other resilience factors that support team capability

Stress and Well-Being in Teamsis focused on stress and well-being in the context of teams, focused on how inputs of team processes, such as team compositions, leadership, and broader organizational contexts can serve as antecedents of team members' stress and well-being. This 22nd volume of the Research in Occupational Stress and Well Beingseries highlights the importance of team processes and outcomes on the stress and well-being of team members and leaders, and how their stress and well-being may have reciprocal effects on the critical team inputs, processes, and outcomes over time. Chapters in this volume cover a range of topics including: How team inputs such as member composition and task characteristics may influence the stress and well-being of members and leaders. How the internal and external contexts in which the teams operate may impact the stress and well-being of both team members and leaders. How team processes such as cohesion, coordination, and collaboration may have reciprocal effects with the stress and well-being of team members and leaders. How teamwork in extreme contexts may be leveraged to inform teamwork in typical organizational settings and vice versa from both conceptual and empirical perspectives. How and when team processes and outcomes related to members' stress and well-being may relate to other team characteristics and processes over time. Methodological issues and considerations for understanding stress and well-being in the team context. How and when team processes and outcomes related to members' stress and well-being may relate to other team characteristics and processes over time.

This book provides a comprehensive and enriching understanding of the construct of happiness from diverse perspectives. It provides readers with an overview of the issues, problems, and challenges related to well-being and happiness. The book is divided into three sections. It brings together researchers and practitioners from various disciplines, including psychology, sociology, and development studies. Each section includes chapters from leading academicians from across the world. The first section helps the reader understand happiness from a neuroscientific perspective and explores the relationship between happiness and subjective well-being. The second section of the book discusses the importance of building personal resources for happiness from a positive psychology point of view. The last section examines the importance of happiness in the workplace and suggests a sustainable development plan for happiness.

With employee wellbeing at the forefront, Wellbeing at Work is the succinct and practical guide to designing and implementing an effective strategy that will help reduce workplace stress and improve overall performance. This book not only explains the reasons to consider employee mental health and wellbeing in the workplace but states why it is vital and draws from a people's approach on how to provide a clear framework to increase staff engagement. Updated by experts with the latest research, insightful approaches and key takeaways, this new edition illustrates how managers and leaders can introduce and maintain the right environment to reduce presenteeism and employee anxiety, as well as positively influence employees' overall wellbeing. Filled with advice and case studies pertaining to the effects of hybrid working, and how to effectively manage employees without jeopardizing their wellbeing, this second edition takes readers through the entire process of improving wellbeing at work.