This book provides research that explores the theoretical and practical aspects of implementing new and innovative artificial intelligence (AI) techniques for renewable energy systems. The contributions offer coverage on economic and promotion policies of renewable energy and energy-efficiency technologies, the emerging fields of neuro-computational models and simulations under uncertainty (such as fuzzy-based computational models and fuzzy trace theory), evolutionary computation, metaheuristics, machine learning applications, advanced optimization, and stochastic models.

This book explores the use of AI tools for improving the management of energy systems and providing sustainability with smart cities, smart facilities, smart buildings, smart transportation, and smart houses. Featuring research from International Federation for Information Processing's (IFIP) “AI in Energy and Sustainability” working group, this book provides new models and algorithms for AI applications in energy and sustainability fields. Any short-term, mid-term and long-term forecasting, optimization models, trend foresights and prescriptions based on scenarios are studied in the energy world and the smart systems for sustainability.

This book is devoted to the systems rethinking of the role of the leading digital technologies and circular innovations to reduce the environmental footprint of the modern economy. The target audience of this book consists of scientists who explore environmental economics, energy economics, and sustainable development. In this book, they will find a consistent take on the impact of the economy on the environment from the perspective of a new scientific concept--the environmental footprint of the economy, described through the lens of the UN SDGs. This book is also useful for public agencies of energy and environmental economics and environmentally responsible enterprises. In this book, they will find applied recommendations on improving the efficiency of the use of high technologies and responsible innovations to reduce the environmental footprint of the modern economy. The book provides numerous real-world examples, case studies, and recommendations on unlocking the environmental potential of high technologies (Big Data, Ubiquitous Computing (UC), Robotics, Artificial Intelligence (AI), and the Internet of Things (IoT)) and responsible innovations (ESG investments, environmental taxation, green jobs), which allow reaching net-zero emission and building a carbon-neutral circular economy. The interest in this book is also attributable to the fact that it takes into account the specifics of developed and less-developed countries. The book puts more focus on the real-life and case experience of Central Asia and the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU).

This thought-provoking book follows the EU's journey into the digital age, explaining how it uses legislation and policy to tackle challenges such as the abuse of market power by Big Tech companies and the spread of hate speech and disinformation. Werner Stengg draws on his extensive experience in shaping digital policy to expertly analyse the EU's ambitious legislative and innovation programme, which focuses on human rights and prioritises trustworthy, transparent, and accountable usage of digital technologies. Alongside this examination of legislation and policy, Stengg also outlines the EU's major investment agenda into the digital infrastructures required to become a global player in our data-driven and AI-powered economy. Ultimately, the book highlights that innovations in the digital sphere are essential not only for the global competitiveness of European companies, but also for Europe to safeguard its resilience, autonomy, and technological sovereignty at a time of mounting geopolitical tensions.

This book provides insights of World Conference on Smart Trends in Systems, Security and Sustainability (WS4 2023) which is divided into different sections such as Smart IT Infrastructure for Sustainable Society; Smart Management Prospective for Sustainable Society; Smart Secure Systems for Next Generation Technologies; Smart Trends for Computational Graphics and Image Modeling; and Smart Trends for Biomedical and Health Informatics. The proceedings is presented in four volumes. The book is helpful for active researchers and practitioners in the field.

This edited volume brings together contributions from multiple experts in academia to explore the practical implications of the Net Zero Economy for corporate social responsibility and sustainable value creation in today's world. As the world approaches net-zero emissions by 2050, it is crucial for businesses to take corporate social responsibility seriously and make credible attempts to achieve sustainable value creation while reducing their greenhouse gas emissions. The book provides a comprehensive guide to navigating the complexities of corporate responsibility in the net-zero economy, drawing on the expertise of scholars in sustainable supply chain, environmental sciences, management, sustainable business management, and social sciences. With contributions from multiple experts, it examines the challenges that businesses face in reducing their climate impact and highlights the green growth opportunities that they can take advantage of in the net-zero transition.

In this textbook readers will acquire knowledge of problem-solving and learning to enhance both efficiency and the experience of service users in rapidly changing service environments, that can create new service models. Emphasizing that, above all else, individuals are at the centre of services, the book goes deeply into the nature of public services and their logic-of-practice. By applying learning and problem-solving approaches, the reader gains practical capabilities in addition to an appreciation of the latest research literature. Following a multidisciplinary, international approach, the book suggests a new typology of problem-framing and presents many examples of how new service solutions can be created in any public service context.   The book offers a conceptual toolkit to understand and analyse dynamically changing services and the application of new technologies. Topics covered include pressing issues surrounding public services, such as e-technology, digitalisation, e-services, artificial intelligence, entrepreneurialism, sustainability, climate, inequality, developing economies, and smart cities. Chapters follow a similar structure: issue, problems, what we know, learning framework, worked example, theory and practice conclusions, as well as teacher and learner notes.

"Sustainability Stories" is an impactful book that offers a global perspective on the grand theme of sustainability. Through the lens of practitioners deeply committed to this cause, the book amplifies sometimes unheard voices, inspiring readers from diverse backgrounds to embrace environmental, social, and financial responsibilities. Each contributor, whether an entrepreneur, professor, lawyer, artist, or sustainability expert, acts as a visionary communicator, forging connections and leading by example. Featuring over 30 narratives from countries such as France, Germany, India, Morocco, Spain, Switzerland, and the United States, "Sustainability Stories" is sure to engage an international audience. Through its pages, this book spreads optimism, determination, and a desire for positive societal change. It empowers readers of all ages and educational backgrounds to join the movement toward a sustainable future. By sharing unique insights and experiences, "Sustainability Stories" serves as a catalyst, inspiring individuals to take action and make a difference in their professional practices, communities and lives.

This book provides a theoretical definition, a precise measurement system, and best practice examples for the implementation of sustainable corporate governance. It includes theoretical foundations based on stakeholder and institutional theories from different environments and contexts, such as developed and developing economies, large publicly traded companies and SMEs, and family businesses.

This book provides a precise portrayal of the current trends and future perspectives of e-Government. It outlines new approaches that optimize public services across diverse sectors. Going beyond traditional boundaries, it offers mathematical models for public services supported by convincing case studies. This book significantly enhances various government services, such as education, healthcare, safety, security, and culture. It also strongly emphasizes safeguarding citizens' personal data, ensuring privacy, and obtaining explicit consent. Tailored for students and academics, the book is an invaluable reference for teaching graduate courses in e-Government, Process Modelling, or Artificial Intelligence. Its impact extends beyond the classroom; civil servants from all domains can find practical insights to navigate the ongoing modernization of public services. Even citizens curious about the transformation in their public services can find this book enlightening. Researchers working in the area of e-Governance can use this book to discover the recent developments in e-Government.

This book provides the latest research on zero carbon industry and its practical implications for eco-innovation and environmental sustainability for businesses in current scenario. In a zero-carbon industry, there would be profound, sometimes disruptive, changes in our economy compared to our current one. As the world approaches zero carbon industry by 2050, economic output will shift progressively (and permanently) toward those goods and services that do not emit greenhouse gases. Changes in these dynamics would ripple along entire value chains, transforming industries. Creating a zero-carbon industry will require fundamental changes in both our economies and societies. Taking eco-innovation and environmental sustainability seriously will be crucial to businesses, and companies are increasingly keen to signal this commitment. This book aims to illustrate a detailed exploration of the complex and interconnected domains of zero carbon industry, eco-innovation, and environmental sustainability. In addition to combining the academic expertise of emerging and established scholars from different academic fields, this book provides an integrated understanding of the topic on zero carbon emissions, eco-innovation, and environmental sustainability from a broader perspective by combining the work of established and emerging scholars. There is a need to fundamentally transform the zero carbon industry, eco-innovation ecosystem in order to achieve sustainability through the implementation of Industry 4.0 technologies such as artificial intelligence, Internet of things, blockchain, and cloud technologies.