Hätten Sie gedacht, dass Helmut Schmidt die britische Labour-Partei mit einer brillanten Rede zu Europa bekehrte? Oder dass der französische Präsident François Mitterrand die Schaffung des Euro als Entschärfung der deutschen Atombombe betrachtete? Schauen Sie hinter die Türen der Brüsseler Konferenzsäle und lauschen Sie lange geheim gehaltenen Gesprächen im Élysée-Palast! Folgen Sie Winston Churchill, der kurz nach dem Krieg die Vereinigten Staaten von Europa anstrebte, Charles de Gaulle, der Frankreichs Großmachtstellung durch Europa wiederherstellen wollte, und Angela Merkel, die als „Königin Europas“ verehrt und gefürchtet wurde!

The book provides an exploration of the history of the European Union, tracing its development from inception to recent times. It highlights the roles individuals, member states, transnational actors and European institutions played in both advancing and slowing down European integration in the EU.

Language is a powerful means, able to persuade people and make them cooperative. The authors examine memorable speeches by European leaders who spoke in favor of or against European integration and thus contributed to the emergence of a pro- or anti-European discourse in their countries in order to understand when and whether a Euroskeptic or Eurocritical consciousness began to grow in Europe.

This authoritative dictionary provides informative and analytical entries on the most important people, organisations, events, movements and ideas that have shaped the world we live in. Covering the period from 1900 to the present day.

Kiran Klaus Patel's bracing look back at the myths and realities of integration challenges conventional wisdoms of Europhiles and Eurosceptics alike and shows that the future of Project Europe will depend on the lessons that Europeans derive from its past.

This book remains the standard for concise histories of the European Union. Mark Gilbert offers a clear and balanced narrative of European integration since its inception to the present, set in the wider history of the post-war period.

In light of Europe's prolonged state of crisis, this book reassesses the challenges and prospects of the European integration process. The first part discusses the external dimension of the European Union, including a review of development aid policies and EU foreign policy. The second part focuses on institutional change and asymmetrical integration in the EU. The third part is devoted to the rise of populism and nationalism, including an analysis of the role of civil society organisations in Brexit. In closing, the last part highlights the crisis of the euro as a symbol of European integration and the emerging social and economic divide between countries of the North and South.

The new edition of Historical Dictionary of the European Union has a chronology, an introductory essay, appendices and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 400 cross-referenced entries on important personalities, Member States, internal policies, external relations, basic theories, treaties and law. This book is an excellent access point.

Written by experts, this guide to the workings of the European Union provides comprehensive, straightforward and readable coverage. It explains not only what happens but also why, and analyses the EU's strengths and weaknesses, as well as opportunities for it to be more effective.

Relying on internal sources, Wilfried Loth analyses the birth and subsequent development of the European Union, from the launch of the Council of Europe and the Schuman Declaration until the Euro crisis and the contested European presidential election of Jean-Claude Juncker.
It is one of the best general histories of European integration written in English. (Source: (Source: Gilbert, Mark: European integration, 2020, page 315)

Since its creation in 1974, the European Council has evolved from an informal meeting of presidents and prime ministers, resembling a cross between a society gathering and a diplomatic conclave, to become a full EU institution in its own right and the Union’s supreme political authority, driving its strategy and resolving its crises. Nothing of any significance in the Union can now be set in motion without its consent, nor accomplished without its support. This book tells the story of how this came about.

Histoire, institutions, politiques, lacunes et espoirs... Ce livre fait le pari qu'il est possible de parler clairement de l'Europe.
Sylvie Goulard, ancienne conseillère du président de la Commission Romano Prodi, est présidente du Mouvement européen-France.

This book provides a gripping account of the realities of power politics among European states and between their leaders. Drawing on long experience working behind the scenes, Luuk van Middelaar captures the dynamics and tensions shaping the European Union from its origins until today. Van Middelaar cuts through the institutional complexity by exploring the unforeseen outcomes of decisive moments and focusing on the quest for public legitimacy.

This book has chapters on all the treaties establishing the European Communities in the 1950s as well as subsequent treaties reforming these community treaties (Merger Treaty, Budget Treaties, and the Single European Act) followed by chapters on the Maastricht Treaty establishing the European Union in 1993 and subsequent amendments thereof through the Amsterdam, Nice and Lisbon treaties.

The best introduction to the literature produced by historians on European integration. This book is a collection of historiographical essays by specialist scholars on various aspects of European integration. Its huge bibliography is a starting point for both scholars and general readers. (Source: Gilbert, Mark: European integration, 2020, page 315)

This volume contains the proceedings of the international conference «The Road Europe Travelled Along. The Evolution of the EEC/EU Institutions and Policies», organized by the Associazione Universitaria di Studi Europei (AUSE) (European Community Studies Association - ECSA Italy) at the University of Siena in May 2008.

While there is evidence of declining enthusiasm for European integration, the EU plays an increasingly vital role in tackling problems that can no longer be dealt with at Member State level. Comprehensive and accessible, this book is an essential guide to understanding the relevance of the European Union in the 21st century.

This accessible introduction to the history of the European Union (EU) reflects the significant changes within the EU over the past decades.

Sir Julian Priestley was Secretary-General of the European Parliament from 1997-2007, having been an official there since the 1970s. He looks at a series of key battles that contributed to the development of the Parliament’s powers and influence. The battles selected show Parliament engaged in a struggle not only to expand its formal institutional powers, in areas such as the budget, legislation and appointment, but also to command respect and recognition from the other European institutions.

L'ouvrage de référence qui révèle la prodigieuse aventure d'un homme dont l'action a été déterminante à chaque carrefour de l'histoire contemporaine : guerre de 1914-1918, naissance de la Société des nations, guerre de 1940, engagement américain contre le nazisme, création à Alger du Comité de libération nationale, reconstruction de la France, et enfin édification de l'Europe unie.

Postwar covers all of Europe, both east and west, drawing on research in six languages to sweep readers through thirty-four nations and sixty years of political and cultural change-all in one integrated, enthralling narrative.

Policy-Making in the European Union contains an overview of EU policy-making as a whole, defining the processes and institutions involved. A wide range of policy areas are then explored in detail, including the single market, environmental policy, migration, and foreign policy. From the first edition, this standard publication reflects the development of the European policies, providing also a historical context.

Europa von A bis Z ist Europa zum Nachschlagen. Das Standardwerk enthält eine historische Einführung und bietet historische Einordnungen zu Themen und Begriffe der europäischen Einigung. Es informiert gezielt und zuverlässig über den neusten Stand in europapolitischen Fragen.

This text analyses the history of the region's movement toward economic and political union. According to Moravcsik, economic interdependence has been the primary force to move in this surprising direction. Politicians rationally pursued national economic advantage through the exploitation of asymmetrical interdependence and the manipulation of institutional commitments.