This book takes a historical approach to explore data, algorithms, their use in practice through applications of AI in various settings, and all of the surrounding ethical and DEI implications. Summarizing our current knowledge and highlighting gaps, it offers original examples from empirical research in various settings, such as healthcare, social media, and the GIG economy. The author investigates how systems relying on a binary structure (machines) work in systems that are instead analogic (societies). Further, he examines how underrepresented populations, who have been historically penalized by technologies, can play an active role in the design of automated systems, with a specific focus on the US legal and social system. One issue is that main tasks of machines concern classification, which, while efficient for speeding up decision-making processes, are inherently biased. Ultimately, this work advocates for ethical design and responsible implementation and deployment of technology in organizations and society through through government-sponsored social justice, in contrast with free market policies.

Algorithms: Technology, Culture, Politics develops a relational, situated approach to algorithms. It takes a middle ground between theories that give the algorithm a singular and stable meaning in using it as a central analytic category for contemporary society and theories that dissolve the term into the details of empirical studies. The book discusses algorithms in relation to hardware and material conditions, code, data, and subjects such as users, programmers, but also "data doubles". The individual chapters bridge critical discussions on bias, exclusion, or responsibility with the necessary detail on the contemporary state of information technology. The examples include state of the art applications of machine learning, such as self-driving cars and large language models such as GPT.

As the world increasingly recognizes the importance of sustainability, businesses and investors are looking for ways to integrate sustainable practices into their operations and investment decisions. At the same time, advancements in artificial intelligence (AI) and technology are transforming the finance industry and are enabling more data-driven decision-making. The intersection of these fields presents a significant opportunity to accelerate progress towards a more sustainable future, while also improving financial performance. This book explores the crucial role of AI in sustainability and finance, examining how financial technologies and machine learning are shaping the approach of finance professionals towards environmental, social, and governance (ESG) issues. It provides a comprehensive and integrated perspective on how these areas are becoming increasingly intertwined and examines the ethical and social implications of AI in finance and its potential to unlock new opportunities for sustainability.

This book discusses the implications of artificial intelligence (AI) on post-COVID-19 international relations. With the decline and fall of U.S. global leadership and the emergence of new powerful actors, as hastened by the global pandemic, new arms are now used in new forms of wars with new players. The balance of power swings between geostrategic interests and those linked to the global governance of virtual space and the race to technological sovereignty. Chapters focus on the challenges imposed by these changes on different parts of the international system--law, governance, diplomacy, international psychological security--and articulate new strategies and ethical policies as possible solutions. The volume is interdisciplinary and will appeal to researchers, students, and professionals across fields interested in the ethics of AI in the international system.

This thought-provoking book follows the EU's journey into the digital age, explaining how it uses legislation and policy to tackle challenges such as the abuse of market power by Big Tech companies and the spread of hate speech and disinformation. Werner Stengg draws on his extensive experience in shaping digital policy to expertly analyse the EU's ambitious legislative and innovation programme, which focuses on human rights and prioritises trustworthy, transparent, and accountable usage of digital technologies. Alongside this examination of legislation and policy, Stengg also outlines the EU's major investment agenda into the digital infrastructures required to become a global player in our data-driven and AI-powered economy. Ultimately, the book highlights that innovations in the digital sphere are essential not only for the global competitiveness of European companies, but also for Europe to safeguard its resilience, autonomy, and technological sovereignty at a time of mounting geopolitical tensions.

This book examines the fundamental concepts and principles of digital transformation and AI, including their historical development, and underlying technologies, and analyzes the opportunities arising from digital transformation and AI in different sectors, such as healthcare, finance, education, transportation, and governance. It provides a comprehensive overview of digital transformation and AI technologies and their current state of implementation. It also explores the potential challenges and risks associated with digital transformation and AI, including ethical considerations, job displacement, privacy concerns, biases, impact on inequality, social interactions, and the overall well-being of individuals and communities. Additionally, the books provides and discusses policy and regulatory frameworks that can effectively address the opportunities and challenges posed by digital transformation and AI leading to responsible AI. It also delves into impact of automation on the job market and workforce. The book concludes by proposing potential strategies for navigating opportunities and challenges of digital transformation and AI integration.

This book is a comparative study of the laws and regulations involving legal and ethical issues related to Artificial Intelligence (AI), in particular for self-driving cars or autonomous vehicles (AVs). It identifies, analyzes, and points out such issues via a study of laws and regulations in India, Germany, and California, determining the legal liabilities of designer, developer/programmer, manufacturer, producer, users, or AI in the case of AVs. AV technology is being touted as one that is poised to bring revolution in the mobility ecosystem by lessening the number of accidents and by providing other benefits, such as potential to reduce traffic, increase safety and mobility, lower energy usage and generate free time. Despite having such a potential to shape and transform the future, and involvement of tech-giants like Google, Amazon, Facebook, and Microsoft, regulations around AI and AVs are still on the drawing board stage in many countries, as they grapple on how to address this issue which has both local and global players involved and affects both local and global populace. The book studies and compares the existing and evolving regulations in three different regions to bring out the lacunae, loopholes and best practices. It highlights when AI deserves legal personhood, and when it requires to be granted legal standing. It also points out the civil and criminal legal liabilities arising when AV is involved in an accident, and the ethical issues involved in the deployment of AI.

It is a book made up of questions, some without certain answers, that attempts to open the reader's mind to new and, perhaps, futuristic scenarios. There are two diametrically opposed approaches to artificial intelligence today. On the one hand, there are the techno-pessimists who see only dystopian scenarios and experience technological progress with apprehension, emphasising the dangers, and on the other hand, there are the techno-optimists who, on the other hand, tend to overestimate the positive effects, going so far as to attribute almost thaumaturgic virtues to technological progress. Our approach is meant to be secular and scientific; the risks must not be concealed, nor must they be overestimated, just as the positive aspects must not be emphasised. And, in any case, as in any social phenomenon, the governance of processes and the definition of a system of rules and policies are the aspects that can create advantages or disadvantages and, above all, can determine who are the beneficiaries of the advantages and who have to bear the disadvantages.

This book is a collection of chapters in the newly developing area of ethics in artificial intelligence. The book comprises chapters written by leading experts in this area which makes it a one of its kind collections. Some key features of the book are its unique combination of chapters on both theoretical and practical aspects of integrating ethics into artificial intelligence. The book touches upon all the important concepts in this area including bias, discrimination, fairness, and interpretability. Integral components can be broadly divided into two segments - the first segment includes empirical identification of biases, discrimination, and the ethical concerns thereof in impact assessment, advertising and personalization, computational social science, and information retrieval. The second segment includes operationalizing the notions of fairness, identifying the importance of fairness in allocation, clustering and time series problems, and applications of fairness in softwaretesting/debugging and in multi stakeholder platforms. This segment ends with a chapter on interpretability of machine learning models which is another very important and emerging topic in this area.

Recent technological advancements have deeply transformed society and the way people interact with each other. Instantaneous communication platforms have allowed connections with other people, forming global communities, and creating unprecedented opportunities in many sectors, making access to online resources more ubiquitous by reducing limitations imposed by geographical distance and temporal constrains. These technological developments bear ethically relevant consequences with their deployment, and legislations often lag behind such advancements. Because the appearance and deployment of these technologies happen much faster than legislative procedures, the way these technologies affect social interactions have profound ethical effects before any legislative regulation can be built, in order to prevent and mitigate those effects.Ethics in Online AI-Based Systems: Risks and Opportunities in Current Technological Trends features a series of reflections from experts in different fields on potential ethically relevant outcomes that upcoming technological advances could bring about in our society. Creating a space to explore the ethical relevance that technologies currently still under development could have constitutes an opportunity to better understand how these technologies could or should not be used in the future in order to maximize their ethically beneficial outcomes, while avoiding potential detrimental effects.

With the rapid advancement of Artificial Intelligence across all sectors, each day we are faced with urgent questions around how this technology can be used safely and effectively-and nowhere are these questions more complex than in the defence sector. Mariarosaria Taddeo provides a conceptual yet applicable and systematic analysis of the issues that arise with the use of AI in defence, broadening the conversation in an underdiscussed area and offering practical recommendations for policy-makers and practitioners. The book provides a comprehensive view of the ethical challenges around AI and explores real-world examples of how AI can be employed, including intelligence analysis, cyber warfare, and autonomous weapon systems. Centering her argument around the autonomy and learning capabilities of AI technologies, Taddeo creates a coherent ethical framework based in AI ethics and Just War theory to answer the question how can AI in defence be used for good and support policy-makers and practitioners to make informed choices when developing an ethical governance of AI in defence.

The scope of the book ranges from the foundations of GenAI, including underlying principles, advanced architectures, and cutting-edge research, to specific aspects of GenAI security such as data security, model security, application-level security, and the emerging fields of LLMOps and DevSecOps. It explores AI regulations around the globe, ethical considerations, the threat landscape, and privacy preservation. Further, it assesses the transformative potential of GenAI in reshaping the cybersecurity landscape, the ethical implications of using advanced models, and the innovative strategies required to secure GenAI applications. Lastly, the book presents an in-depth analysis of the security challenges and potential solutions specific to GenAI, and a forward-looking view of how it can redefine cybersecurity practices.

With the growing capabilities of artificial intelligence, governments are integrating AI technologies into administrative and even judicial decision-making, aiding and in some cases even replacing human decision-makers. Predictive policing, automated benefits administration, and automated risk assessment in criminal sentencing are but a few prominent examples of a general trend. While the turn towards governmental automated decision-making promises to reduce the impact of human biases and produce efficiency gains, reducing the human element in governmental decision-making also entails significant risks. This book analyses these risks through a comparative constitutional law and human rights lens, examining US law, German law, and international human rights law. It also highlights the structural challenges that automation poses for legal systems built on the assumption of exclusively human decision-making.

As technology has come to play an outsized role in shaping our decision-making, the authors argue that a clear understanding of what role guardrails can and should play in our society is essential-and that this in turn can help us determine what kind of transparency and accountability we require of the technology we rely on. The authors first consider some of the challenges of decision-making in the digital world in chapters that focus on information and misinformation, human bias and the promise (or not) of AI to correct it, and decision-making in the face of uncertainty. In each case, they show how the quick embrace of technological solutions can lead to results we don't expect or hope for (for instance, the perpetuation of racial discrimination in the algorithmic assessment of credit-worthiness).

Artificial intelligence is a key technology with great expectations in science, industry, and everyday life. This book discusses both the perspectives and the limitations of this technology. This concerns the practical, theoretical, and conceptual challenges that AI has to face. In an early phase of symbolic AI, AI focused on formal programs (e.g., expert systems), in which rule-based knowledge was processed with the help of symbolic logic. Today, AI is dominated by statistics-based machine learning methods and Big Data. While this sub-symbolic AI is extremely successful (e.g., chatbots like ChatGPT), it is often not transparent. The book argues for explainable and reliable AI, in which the logical and mathematical foundations of AI-algorithms become understandable and verifiable.

This book--Mind, Body, and Digital Brains--focuses on both theoretical and empirical issues and joins contributions from different disciplines, concepts, and sensibilities, bringing together scholars from fields that at first glance may appear different--Neuroscience and Cognitive Neuroscience; Robotics, Computer Science, Deep Learning, and Information Processing Systems; Education, Philosophy, Law, and Psychology. All these research fields are held together by the very object to be discussed: a broad, articulate, and polyphonic reflection on the status of theories and fields of application of Digital Technologies and Artificial Intelligence, seen from the perspective of the digital mind, digital body, and digital brain. Scientific and humanistic issues will be considered through an interdisciplinary point of view, with the purpose of deepening emerging trends about various disciplines. This book offers a framework for different perspectives and, at the same time, a platform for discussion aimed not only at experts, but also at a non-specialist public interested in the digital revolution.

AI technology has come to play a central role in the modern data economy. Through a combination of increased computing power, the growing availability of data and the advancement of algorithms, AI has now become an umbrella term for some of the most transformational technological breakthroughs of this age. The importance of AI stems from both the opportunities that it offers and the challenges that it entails. While AI applications hold the promise of economic growth and efficiency gains, they also create significant risks and uncertainty. The potential and perils of AI have thus come to dominate modern discussions of technology and ethics - and although AI was initially allowed to largely develop without guidelines or rules, few would deny that the law is set to play a fundamental role in shaping the future of AI.

This book uniquely explores the intersection of artificial intelligence, big data, the Internet of Things, and bioinformatics, emphasizing the necessity for a revised ethical framework. It discovers groundbreaking insights into the ethical dimensions of emerging technologies with this comprehensive guide. It highlights the latest scientific and technical advancements, addressing their social impacts and legal challenges. Ideal for academics, industry professionals, and multidisciplinary researchers, this book offers invaluable perspectives on the ethical development of disruptive technologies and uses it to stay ahead in the evolving field of tech ethics, ensuring responsible innovation in diverse areas such as climate change, politics, economy, and security.

In this open access book, Carlos Montemayor illuminates the development of artificial intelligence (AI) by examining our drive to live a dignified life. He uses the notions of agency and attention to consider our pursuit of what is important. His method shows how the best way to guarantee value alignment between humans and potentially intelligent machines is through attention routines that satisfy similar needs. Setting out a theoretical framework for AI Montemayor acknowledges its legal, moral, and political implications and takes into account how epistemic agency differs from moral agency. Through his insightful comparisons between human and animal intelligence, Montemayor makes it clear why adopting a need-based attention approach justifies a humanitarian framework. This is an urgent, timely argument for developing AI technologies based on international human rights agreements.

This volume offers a socio-technical exploration of Artificial Intelligence (AI) and the way it reflects and reproduces certain normative representations of gender and sexuality, to ultimately guide more diverse and radical discussions of life with digital technologies. Moving beyond the examination of empirical examples and technical solutions, the book approaches the relationship between queerness and AI from a theoretical perspective that posits queer theory as central to understanding AI differently. The chapters pose questions about the politics and ethics of machine embodiments and data imaginaries on the one hand, and about technical possibilities for a production of social identities characterised by shifting diversity and multiplicity on the other, as they are mediated by and through digital technologies.

We are currently witnessing the emergence of a 'third culture', driven by unprecedented developments that are changing the playing field. These include advances in AI, big data analysis and robotics. The traditional 'two cultures' view (S. P. Snow) distinguishes between the sciences and the humanities. The wisdoms these two cultures offer are separated from each other, with little to no interaction or mutual comprehension. However, over the past two decades, and for the first time in human history, a new, third culture has appeared. This new culture, rooted in new technologies, not only pursues its own form of rationality but also supports advances in the original two cultures, deepening and expanding our individual and collective consciousness so that we can see more and do better. It will eventually give rise to new forms of consciousness based not on biochemical signals, but on copper wires and lithium chips. These new machine intelligences will change the world and force us to realise: we are no longer alone. The human species' position in the twenty-first century will be fundamentally redefined: not as a conductor leading the orchestra, but a single string player within it.

This transformative book explores the profound impact of AI on society, emphasizing transparency, accountability, and fairness in decision-making processes. It offers invaluable insights into creating AI systems that not only perform effectively but also uphold ethical standards and foster trust. Essential reading for technologists, policymakers, and all stakeholders invested in shaping a responsible AI future.

Acquire the knowledge needed to work effectively in conversational artificial intelligence (AI) and understand the opportunities and threats it can potentially bring. This book will help you navigate from the traditional world of dialogue systems that revolve around hard coded scripts, to the world of large language models, prompt engineering, conversational AI platforms, multi-modality, and ultimately autonomous agents.

Les travaux ayant mené à l’élaboration de cet ouvrage sont nés du projet intitulé « Penser le transhumanisme » au sein de la Commission nationale française pour l’UNESCO, chargée de porter une réflexion pour répondre aux défis éthiques de la science et de la technologie. Si le développement des sciences et des techniques participe à la qualité de vie des êtres humains et à leur adaptation à l’environnement, il interroge lorsqu’il vise le transhumanisme, défini comme l’amélioration des capacités humaines par l’utilisation des sciences et des techniques intégrées au corps.

This book explores the issue of (un)explainable technology. As we face technologies, mostly autonomous, machine-learned algorithms (AI) that elude a seamless explanation on how they work ("black boxes"), several issues both from an epistemological as well as ethical perspectives emerge. It is thus not surprising that there are plenty of technological attempts in illuminating the black box as well as philosophical efforts in conceptualizing and re- assessing our concepts of an explanation and understanding, as well emerging ethical questions on how to deal with this unexplainable technology. This book thus offers a succinct and comprehensive, opinionated but fair view on the emerging ethical debate on explainability of AI and its relevance for using AI for different more or less sensitive decision-making procedures. As a short book, the goal is to introduce the reader to the issues at hand while also offering normative arguments from different sides that motivate, complicate, and resolve these issues.