Artificial Intelligence influences already almost all sectors of society, from production, consumption and recycling of products to education and media, from agriculture to military. The search for AI governance from voluntary standards to international convention and standards is fast and urgent. This book unites contributions of authors from all continents. It also offers a representative collection of official recommendations and guidelines on AI governance from national governments, continental entities like EU and AU to UN-organisations

As the world increasingly recognizes the importance of sustainability, businesses and investors are looking for ways to integrate sustainable practices into their operations and investment decisions. At the same time, advancements in artificial intelligence (AI) and technology are transforming the finance industry and are enabling more data-driven decision-making. The intersection of these fields presents a significant opportunity to accelerate progress towards a more sustainable future, while also improving financial performance. This book explores the crucial role of AI in sustainability and finance, examining how financial technologies and machine learning are shaping the approach of finance professionals towards environmental, social, and governance (ESG) issues. It provides a comprehensive and integrated perspective on how these areas are becoming increasingly intertwined and examines the ethical and social implications of AI in finance and its potential to unlock new opportunities for sustainability.

This informative Handbook provides a comprehensive overview of the legal, ethical, and policy implications of AI and algorithmic systems. As these technologies continue to impact various aspects of our lives, it is crucial to understand and assess the challenges and opportunities they present. Drawing on contributions from experts in various disciplines, the book covers theoretical insights and practical examples of how AI systems are used in society today. It also explores the legal and policy instruments governing AI, with a focus on Europe. The interdisciplinary approach of this book makes it an invaluable resource for anyone seeking to gain a deeper understanding of AI's impact on society and how it should be regulated.

This thought-provoking book follows the EU's journey into the digital age, explaining how it uses legislation and policy to tackle challenges such as the abuse of market power by Big Tech companies and the spread of hate speech and disinformation. Werner Stengg draws on his extensive experience in shaping digital policy to expertly analyse the EU's ambitious legislative and innovation programme, which focuses on human rights and prioritises trustworthy, transparent, and accountable usage of digital technologies. Alongside this examination of legislation and policy, Stengg also outlines the EU's major investment agenda into the digital infrastructures required to become a global player in our data-driven and AI-powered economy. Ultimately, the book highlights that innovations in the digital sphere are essential not only for the global competitiveness of European companies, but also for Europe to safeguard its resilience, autonomy, and technological sovereignty at a time of mounting geopolitical tensions.

This book examines the fundamental concepts and principles of digital transformation and AI, including their historical development, and underlying technologies, and analyzes the opportunities arising from digital transformation and AI in different sectors, such as healthcare, finance, education, transportation, and governance. It provides a comprehensive overview of digital transformation and AI technologies and their current state of implementation. It also explores the potential challenges and risks associated with digital transformation and AI, including ethical considerations, job displacement, privacy concerns, biases, impact on inequality, social interactions, and the overall well-being of individuals and communities. Additionally, the books provides and discusses policy and regulatory frameworks that can effectively address the opportunities and challenges posed by digital transformation and AI leading to responsible AI. It also delves into impact of automation on the job market and workforce. The book concludes by proposing potential strategies for navigating opportunities and challenges of digital transformation and AI integration.

Edge Artificial Intelligence: Algorithms, Applications, Challenges and Ethical Issues introduces the essentials of Edge AI and machine learning. It delves into the architecture, algorithms, and applications of Edge AI, offering insights into regulation and governance. Real-world case studies and practical examples are included, providing readers with the knowledge and tools to harness the transformative power of Edge AI. This book also addresses the ethical considerations and regulatory aspects of deploying AI at the edge.

This book critically examines the ethical challenges of Artificial Intelligence (AI), focusing on facial recognition and AI-assisted reproductive technologies. It explores how these issues intertwine with social and political processes and power dynamics in digital societies. What defines ethical versus unethical in the realm of AI? Why do some ethical debates dominate, while others are overlooked? Which actors and institutions align or diverge in these discussions? To address these questions, the authors introduce the concept of "ethical assemblages," offering fresh perspectives on the complexities of AI ethics and their impact on socio-technoscientific structures.

This book is a comparative study of the laws and regulations involving legal and ethical issues related to Artificial Intelligence (AI), in particular for self-driving cars or autonomous vehicles (AVs). It identifies, analyzes, and points out such issues via a study of laws and regulations in India, Germany, and California, determining the legal liabilities of designer, developer/programmer, manufacturer, producer, users, or AI in the case of AVs. AV technology is being touted as one that is poised to bring revolution in the mobility ecosystem by lessening the number of accidents and by providing other benefits, such as potential to reduce traffic, increase safety and mobility, lower energy usage and generate free time. Despite having such a potential to shape and transform the future, and involvement of tech-giants like Google, Amazon, Facebook, and Microsoft, regulations around AI and AVs are still on the drawing board stage in many countries, as they grapple on how to address this issue which has both local and global players involved and affects both local and global populace. The book studies and compares the existing and evolving regulations in three different regions to bring out the lacunae, loopholes and best practices. It highlights when AI deserves legal personhood, and when it requires to be granted legal standing. It also points out the civil and criminal legal liabilities arising when AV is involved in an accident, and the ethical issues involved in the deployment of AI.

It is a book made up of questions, some without certain answers, that attempts to open the reader's mind to new and, perhaps, futuristic scenarios. There are two diametrically opposed approaches to artificial intelligence today. On the one hand, there are the techno-pessimists who see only dystopian scenarios and experience technological progress with apprehension, emphasising the dangers, and on the other hand, there are the techno-optimists who, on the other hand, tend to overestimate the positive effects, going so far as to attribute almost thaumaturgic virtues to technological progress. Our approach is meant to be secular and scientific; the risks must not be concealed, nor must they be overestimated, just as the positive aspects must not be emphasised. And, in any case, as in any social phenomenon, the governance of processes and the definition of a system of rules and policies are the aspects that can create advantages or disadvantages and, above all, can determine who are the beneficiaries of the advantages and who have to bear the disadvantages.

This book is a collection of chapters in the newly developing area of ethics in artificial intelligence. The book comprises chapters written by leading experts in this area which makes it a one of its kind collections. Some key features of the book are its unique combination of chapters on both theoretical and practical aspects of integrating ethics into artificial intelligence. The book touches upon all the important concepts in this area including bias, discrimination, fairness, and interpretability. Integral components can be broadly divided into two segments - the first segment includes empirical identification of biases, discrimination, and the ethical concerns thereof in impact assessment, advertising and personalization, computational social science, and information retrieval. The second segment includes operationalizing the notions of fairness, identifying the importance of fairness in allocation, clustering and time series problems, and applications of fairness in softwaretesting/debugging and in multi stakeholder platforms. This segment ends with a chapter on interpretability of machine learning models which is another very important and emerging topic in this area.

With the rapid advancement of Artificial Intelligence across all sectors, each day we are faced with urgent questions around how this technology can be used safely and effectively-and nowhere are these questions more complex than in the defence sector. Mariarosaria Taddeo provides a conceptual yet applicable and systematic analysis of the issues that arise with the use of AI in defence, broadening the conversation in an underdiscussed area and offering practical recommendations for policy-makers and practitioners. The book provides a comprehensive view of the ethical challenges around AI and explores real-world examples of how AI can be employed, including intelligence analysis, cyber warfare, and autonomous weapon systems. Centering her argument around the autonomy and learning capabilities of AI technologies, Taddeo creates a coherent ethical framework based in AI ethics and Just War theory to answer the question how can AI in defence be used for good and support policy-makers and practitioners to make informed choices when developing an ethical governance of AI in defence.

This book offers an in-depth exploration of the complex and rapidly evolving world of artificial intelligence (AI), focusing on its ethical, economic, and business dimensions. It provides a comprehensive analysis that intertwines historical context, philosophical ethics, global economic impacts, regulatory landscapes, workforce dynamics, corporate governance, consumer behavior, data ethics, and the use of AI for the good of society. After reviewing the evolution of AI, it offers insights into its historical milestones and the trajectory it may take in the future. This sets the stage for a broader discussion on how AI is not just a technological phenomenon but also a catalyst for ethical, economic, and societal transformation.

With the growing capabilities of artificial intelligence, governments are integrating AI technologies into administrative and even judicial decision-making, aiding and in some cases even replacing human decision-makers. Predictive policing, automated benefits administration, and automated risk assessment in criminal sentencing are but a few prominent examples of a general trend. While the turn towards governmental automated decision-making promises to reduce the impact of human biases and produce efficiency gains, reducing the human element in governmental decision-making also entails significant risks. This book analyses these risks through a comparative constitutional law and human rights lens, examining US law, German law, and international human rights law. It also highlights the structural challenges that automation poses for legal systems built on the assumption of exclusively human decision-making.

As AI technology is rapidly progressing in capability and being adopted more widely across society, it is more important than ever to understand the potential risks AI may pose and how AI can be developed and deployed safely. Introduction to AI Safety, Ethics, and Society offers a comprehensive and accessible guide to this topic. This book explores a range of ways in which societies could fail to harness AI safely in coming years, such as malicious use, accidental failures, erosion of safety standards due to competition between AI developers or nation-states, and potential loss of control over autonomous systems. Grounded in the latest technical advances, this book offers a timely perspective on the challenges involved in making current AI systems safer. Ensuring that AI systems are safe is not just a problem for researchers in machine learning - it is a societal challenge that cuts across traditional disciplinary boundaries. Integrating insights from safety engineering, economics, and other relevant fields, this book provides readers with fundamental concepts to understand and manage AI risks more effectively.

Artificial intelligence is a key technology with great expectations in science, industry, and everyday life. This book discusses both the perspectives and the limitations of this technology. This concerns the practical, theoretical, and conceptual challenges that AI has to face. In an early phase of symbolic AI, AI focused on formal programs (e.g., expert systems), in which rule-based knowledge was processed with the help of symbolic logic. Today, AI is dominated by statistics-based machine learning methods and Big Data. While this sub-symbolic AI is extremely successful (e.g., chatbots like ChatGPT), it is often not transparent. The book argues for explainable and reliable AI, in which the logical and mathematical foundations of AI-algorithms become understandable and verifiable.

AI technology has come to play a central role in the modern data economy. Through a combination of increased computing power, the growing availability of data and the advancement of algorithms, AI has now become an umbrella term for some of the most transformational technological breakthroughs of this age. The importance of AI stems from both the opportunities that it offers and the challenges that it entails. While AI applications hold the promise of economic growth and efficiency gains, they also create significant risks and uncertainty. The potential and perils of AI have thus come to dominate modern discussions of technology and ethics - and although AI was initially allowed to largely develop without guidelines or rules, few would deny that the law is set to play a fundamental role in shaping the future of AI.

This book uniquely explores the intersection of artificial intelligence, big data, the Internet of Things, and bioinformatics, emphasizing the necessity for a revised ethical framework. It discovers groundbreaking insights into the ethical dimensions of emerging technologies with this comprehensive guide. It highlights the latest scientific and technical advancements, addressing their social impacts and legal challenges. Ideal for academics, industry professionals, and multidisciplinary researchers, this book offers invaluable perspectives on the ethical development of disruptive technologies and uses it to stay ahead in the evolving field of tech ethics, ensuring responsible innovation in diverse areas such as climate change, politics, economy, and security.

This book focuses on facial recognition technology (FRT) and sheds light on previously unexplored aspects that involve systematic legal issues concerning its regulation, the protection of rights and freedoms, the preservation of democracy and the rule of law. FRT employs cutting-edge AI systems capable of processing biometric data for identification, verification and categorization purposes. Although there have been huge strides in the research and development of these systems in the last few decades and computer scientists are following and supporting this evolution, legal scholars have only been investigating the implications for fundamental rights for the past few years. The introduction of new regulations (especially the European Union AI Act) have turned the debate on its head, putting FRT in the spotlight. However, there are still certain aspects that have not yet been explored but will be crucial in the coming years for the democratic, social, technical, ethical, and legal acceptance of this technology. The contributions gathered here address various legal approaches to FRT that are emerging at the global level. In this regard, they particularly examine how the distinction between private and public entities' use of - and consequently also their respective rules on - FRT is becoming increasingly unclear, as some of the latest cases show. Other chapters highlight some of the most challenging and controversial aspects of deploying FRT for specific purposes, such as emotion recognition, and in highly complex contexts, such as smart cities. Furthermore, the papers focus on legal issues stemming from the most recent proposals at the EU level, namely those regarding AI and cybersecurity.

This volume offers a socio-technical exploration of Artificial Intelligence (AI) and the way it reflects and reproduces certain normative representations of gender and sexuality, to ultimately guide more diverse and radical discussions of life with digital technologies. Moving beyond the examination of empirical examples and technical solutions, the book approaches the relationship between queerness and AI from a theoretical perspective that posits queer theory as central to understanding AI differently. The chapters pose questions about the politics and ethics of machine embodiments and data imaginaries on the one hand, and about technical possibilities for a production of social identities characterised by shifting diversity and multiplicity on the other, as they are mediated by and through digital technologies.

Social, Ethical & Legal Aspects of Generative AI: Tools, Techniques, and Systems highlights the transformative exploration of the AI revolution. This groundbreaking discourse deciphers the nexus between cutting-edge generative AI tools and the societal framework that shapes their impact. Generative AI is more than a technological marvel; it's a societal force reshaping industries, education, healthcare, and governance. Explore the ethical dilemmas, legal challenges, and innovative solutions driving its global adoption. This volume provides an insight into the latest innovations and state-of-the-art research in the fields of Social, Ethical & Legal Aspects of Generative AI, showcasing their potential to address AI's profound societal implications.

This transformative book explores the profound impact of AI on society, emphasizing transparency, accountability, and fairness in decision-making processes. It offers invaluable insights into creating AI systems that not only perform effectively but also uphold ethical standards and foster trust. Essential reading for technologists, policymakers, and all stakeholders invested in shaping a responsible AI future.

Acquire the knowledge needed to work effectively in conversational artificial intelligence (AI) and understand the opportunities and threats it can potentially bring. This book will help you navigate from the traditional world of dialogue systems that revolve around hard coded scripts, to the world of large language models, prompt engineering, conversational AI platforms, multi-modality, and ultimately autonomous agents.

This book explores the latest advances in artificial intelligence, big data, the Internet of Things, and other disruptive technologies, while also addressing the ethical and social challenges they pose. It brings together peer-reviewed research presented at an international conference, offering a multidisciplinary perspective that combines technical innovation with critical reflection. The volume highlights new developments in AI applications, intelligent systems, and data-driven solutions, alongside analyses of their real-world impact.

Les travaux ayant mené à l’élaboration de cet ouvrage sont nés du projet intitulé « Penser le transhumanisme » au sein de la Commission nationale française pour l’UNESCO, chargée de porter une réflexion pour répondre aux défis éthiques de la science et de la technologie. Si le développement des sciences et des techniques participe à la qualité de vie des êtres humains et à leur adaptation à l’environnement, il interroge lorsqu’il vise le transhumanisme, défini comme l’amélioration des capacités humaines par l’utilisation des sciences et des techniques intégrées au corps.