EC Library Guide on fintech: EU statistics and data
EU statistics and data
Fintech
- Digital economy and society | Eurostat
Statistics on digitalisation provide information on:
- uptake and usage of information and communication technologies (ICT), such as e-commerce, cloud, data analytics, artificial intelligence
- digital skills of people
- level of digitalisation of businesses (digital intensity index)
- the size and economic impact of the ICT sector
- broadband internet coverage and prices
- cybercrime
- EU Digital Finance Platform | European Commission, Directorate-General for Financial Stability, Financial Services and Capital Markets Union
The Data Hub provides participating firms with access to synthetic supervisory data for the purpose of testing new solutions and training AI/ML models.
- ECB Data Portal | European Central Bank
The ECB Data Portal is the European Central Bank’s online delivery service for statistical data and related metadata and publications. It is intended for a wide range of users of official ECB statistics, ranging from one-time visitors searching for a specific current statistic or a single data series, to more frequent users such as market participants, journalists, analysts and researchers.
- Payment Statistics | European Central Bank
These statistics cover important aspects of payment transactions in EU countries. They are compiled at EU and euro area levels, and individually for each EU country. They include:
- Traffic settled in the TARGET Services
- Transactions processed by T2S
- Cross-border collateral in Eurosystem credit operations
- Payment services and large-value and retail payment systems
- Securities trading, clearing and settlement - EIB Investment Survey (EIBIS) | European Investment Bank
The annual EIB Group Survey on Investment and Investment Finance (EIBIS) is an EU-wide survey that gathers qualitative and quantitative information on investment activities by small and medium-sized businesses and larger corporates, their financing requirements and the difficulties they face.
The survey covers approximately 12 000 firms across the EU27 and 800 firms in the United States. It covers a wide spectrum of questions on corporate investment and investment finance. The survey’s data provide a wealth of unique firm-level information about investment decisions and investment finance choices. - Fintech: Data assets | EC Data Catalogue
Search and explore the wealth of data assets – datasets, databases, statistical products, reports and more – created or acquired by the European Commission DGs, services and executive agencies. Access via EU Login.
See also
- Data stories | data.europa.eu – the official portal for European data
Explore inspiring stories about open data and related topics.
- European Statistical Monitor | Eurostat
The European Statistical Monitor is updated every month with the latest available data for each indicator.
- Eurostat regional yearbook – 2024 edition
European Commission: Eurostat, Eurostat regional yearbook – 2024 edition, Publications Office of the European Union, 2024
The Eurostat regional yearbook provides you with an overview of economic, social, demographic and environmental developments in the EU regions. It includes data for regions in 27 EU countries, 4 EFTA countries, as well as 9 candidate countries.
- Flagship publications | Eurostat
Flagship publications offer an overview of Eurostat data on multiple topics relevant for society and policies.
- Interactive publication | Eurostat
'Regions in Europe' and other interactive publications present interactive data visualisation, accompanied by short texts on specific topics.
- Statistical data by themes | Eurostat
Eurostat produced harmonised statistics to compare and aggregate data from all EU member states. The statistical datasets cover the following themes:
EU policy indicators | General and regional statistics | Economy and finance | Population and social conditions | Industry, trade and services | Agriculture and fisheries | International trade | Transport | Environment and energy | Science, technology, digital society.
- EC Data Catalogue
Search and explore the wealth of data assets – datasets, databases, statistical products, reports and more – created or acquired by the European Commission DGs, services and executive agencies. Access via EU Login.
Learning materials and user support
- Academy | data.europa.eu – the official portal for European data
Get access to your open data learning hub.
- User requests | data.europa.eu – the official portal for European data
A contact form for your questions, requests and feedback.
- Statistics explained | Eurostat
Statistics Explained is an official Eurostat website presenting statistical topics in an easily understandable way. Together, the articles make up an encyclopedia of European statistics for everyone, completed by a statistical glossary clarifying all terms used and by numerous links to further information and the latest data and metadata, a portal for occasional and regular users.
- User support | Eurostat
Eurostat offers a multilingual user support service that will answer your questions about European statistics. Eurostat's press corner serves journalists and fact checkers. The institutional support service section is dedicated to the staff of EU Institutions, executive agencies and services.