EC Library Guide on Jean Monnet, President of the European Coal and Steel Community High Authority, 1952-1955: Speeches by Jean Monnet
A selection of speeches by Jean Monnet1
(In chronological order)
Founding fathers of the EU: Jean Monnet
"Ce première marche commune c’est l’Europe que commence à s’unir" déclare M. Jean Monnet à Strasbourg (excerpt from a speech made by Jean Monnet). (Source: Le Monde, publié le 23 juin 1953.)
(Source: European Commission, Audiovisual Service, 2012.)
Los Estados Unidos de Europa han comenzado: La Comunidad Europea del Carbón y del Acero, discursos y alocuciones 1952-1954 by ISBN: 9788474908770Publication Date: 2008Prólogo de Jaime Mayor Oreja: A 50 años de la entrada en vigor del Tratado de Roma y a 25 del Tratado de Maastricht, se publica por primera vez en español esta obra de uno de los fundadores de la Unión Europea, Jean Monet. Los europeos se preguntan por la forma que adoptará Europa, esa Europa que desean o temen pero que no dudan será su destino. Los Estados Unidos de Europa, nacidos de una proposición francesa, aceptada por otros cinco países, a comienzos de 1950, se hacen realidad.
- Une Europe inédite: Documents des Archives Jean Monnet
Lefort, B., Presses universitaires du Septentrion, 2001.
Voir par exemple “L’Europe se fait », Jean Monnet, Bruxelles, 30 Juin 1953 » (pages 176-194), «Exposé de Jean Monnet à la première réunion du Comité d’action pour les États-Unis d’Europe» (pages 201-204).
L'Europe unie, de l'utopie à la réalité: Allocution prononcée au Congrès international de la Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung by Publication Date: 1972
Full text access (Archive of European Integration).
- Une entente plus large entre les hommes et les peuples
Monnet, J., in: Jean Monnet, Centre de recherches européennes, 1971, pages 115-118.
- Address by Mr. Jean Monnet at the annual Family of Man Award dinner, New York City, 29 November 1967
Monnet, Jean, 1967. (Archive of European Integration.)
- European institutions and the organization of peace. Speech by M. Jean Monnet on receiving the Robert Schuman Prize at Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universitat, Bonn, 6 December 1966
Monne, Jean, 1966. (Archive of European Integration.)
Le Chancelier Adenauer et la construction de l'Europe by Publication Date: 1966Texte de l'allocution prononcée par M. Jean Monnet à l'occasion de la remise de la première médaille d'or de l'Association des Amis du Président Robert Schuman au Chancelier Adenauer, le 2 juillet 1966, à Montigny-lès-Metz.", text in French.
Full text access (Archive of European Integration).
- Europe - Amérique: Relations de partenaires nécessaires à la paix by Publication Date: 1964Allocution prononcée à l'occasion de la remise du "Prix de la liberté" à New-york, le 23 janvier 1963.
L'Europe et l'organisation de la paix by
Publication Date: 1964Texte de l'allocution prononcée au Congrès européen du groupe parlementaire social-démocrate allemand le 25 février, à Bad Godesberg, 1964.
Full text access (Archive of European Integration).
- Speech by M. Jean Monnet at the meeting of the Free Trade Unions of the six countries of the European Community, Dortmund, 6 July 1963
Jean Monnet, 1963. (Archive of European Integration.)
Includes French version.
- Address by M. Jean Monnet, accepting the Freedom Award. New York City, 23 January 1963
Monnet, J., Archive of European Integration (AEI), 1963.
Speech in English and French.
- Allocution de M. Jean Monnet a l'Assemblee generale des Syndicats libres des Pays membres de la Communaute europeenne (CISL), Luxembourg, 5-6 Novembre 1959
Monnet, J., Archive of European Integration (AEI), 1959.
Speech by Mr. Jean Monnet at the General Meeting of the Free Trade Unions of the Member States of the European Commmunity in French.
- Les États-Unis d'Europe ont commencé: La Communauté européenne du charbon et de l'acier, discours et allocutions 1952-1954
Monnet, J., R. Laffont, 1955.
Table of content: I. L'Europe au rythme du monde -- II. La Communauté européenne du charbon et de l'acier à l'épreuve des faits -- III. L'Europe et la paix -- Orgine des textes cités -- Annexes : I. Dédicace de Mr. Franz Etzel -- II. La déclaration du 9 mai -- III. Chronologie de la Communauté européenne du charbon et de l'acier.
- Discours d'adieu de Jean Monnet à la Haute Autorité de la CECA (9 juin 1955) [audio avec transcription]
Monnet, Jean, CLT-UFA [Prod.], 09.06.1955. CLT-UFA, Luxembourg. - SON (00:04:35, Montage, Son original).
Le 9 juin 1955, soit moins d'une semaine après la clôture de la conférence des Six à Messine, Jean Monnet quitte définitivement à Luxembourg ses fonctions de président de la Haute Autorité de la Communauté européenne du charbon et de l'acier (CECA).
- Allocuzione del Signor Jean Monnet, presidente dell'Alta autorità, davanti all'Assemblea comune Sessione ordinaria, maggio 1955, Strasburgo
Monnet, J., European Coal and Steel Community, 1955.
- Address by Mr. Jean Monnet, President of the High Authority,Strasbroug, 12 May 1954
European Coal and Steel Community, 1954. (Archive of European Integration).
- Address delivered by Mr Jean Monnet,President of the High Authority before the Common Assembly at the opening of the extraordinary session of January 1954
European Coal and Steel Community, The High Authority, 1954.
Acceptance speech delivered on behalf of Mr. Monnet, President, High Authority, European Community for Coal and Steel, by William L. Batt, Member, NPA Board of Trustees, at the Twentieth Anniversary Joint Meeting Awards Dinner of the National Planning Ass
Monnet, Jean, 1954. Archive of European Integration.
Text of speech by Jean Monnet.
- Allocutions prononcées par Monsieur Jean Monnet, Président de la Haute Autorité, devant l'Assemblée commune au cours de sa session de janvier 1953 à Strasbourg
European Coal and Steel Community, The High Authority, 1953.
Interventions by the President and the Members of the High Authority before the Common Assembly
European Coal and Steel Community, 1953.
Address delivered before the Common Assembly by Mr. Jean Monnet, President of the High Authority (Strasbourg, 12 January, 1953, page 7-22).
Der Karlspreisträger 1953 Jean Monnet: Rede von Jean Monnet [webpage]
Jean Monnet, Stiftung Internationaler Karlspreis zu Aachen, 1953 (accessed on 29 October 2024).
Discours de M. Jean Monnet devant la commission d'organisation de la CECA, Réunion du 8 novembre 1952
European Parliament, EP Archives Dashboard.
Speeches delivered by Mr Jean Monnet, President of the High Authority, at the inauguration of the High Authority on August 10th, 1952, in Luxembourg and at the opening session of the Assembly on September 11th, 1952, in Strasbourg
European Coal and Steel Community, The High Authority, 1952.
Speech delivered, on the occasion of the inauguration of the High Authority, August 10th, 1952, Luxembourg -- Speech delivered at the opening session of the Common Assembly, September 11th, 1952, Strasbourg.
Excerpt from a speech made by Jean Monnet (Luxembourg, inaugural session of the High Authority, 10 August 1952) [audio extract]Audio : Monnet, J., Ouverture de la première séance de la Haute Autorité de la CECA , Luxembourg, CLT-UFA, CLT [Prod.], 10.08.1952, SON (02:00, Montage, Son original).
Photo: Le premier projet pour l'Europe unie, qui servit de base au Plan Schuman, fut conçu par Jean Monnet , Luxembourg, NARA, Noir et blanc.
In his opening speech delivered on 10 August 1952 at the inaugural session of the High Authority, Jean Monnet makes it clear that the ECSC wishes to be totally open to other States and international organisations.
- For different language versions, check the EU Publications website.