Referencing with EU Style Using Zotero
Referencing a book
Referencing a book
A book
In-text citation
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit (Butcher et al., 2006).
Reference in the bibliography
Butcher, J., Drake, C. and Leach, M. (2006), Butcher’s Copy-editing – The Cambridge handbook for editors, copy-editors and proofreaders, 4th edition, Cambridge University Press, https://doi.org/10.1017/CBO9780511482106.
Bibliographic metadata in Zotero
A book with a corporate author
In-text citation
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit (European Commission: Directorate General for Communication, 2023).
Reference in the bibliography
European Commission: Directorate General for Communication (2023), A Short Guide to the EU, Publications Office of the European Union, Luxembourg, https://doi.org/10.2775/877284.
Bibliographic metadata in Zotero
A book with editors as main creators
In-text citation
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit (Zamora et al., 1995).
Reference in the bibliography
Zamora, L. P. and Faris, W. B. (eds) (1995), Magical realism – Theory, history, community, Duke University Press, Durham.
Bibliographic metadata in Zotero
Books or other complete monographs
Zotero 'Item Type' – 'Book'.
Creator roles (in order of preference as main creator): ‘Author’, ‘Editor’, ‘Translator’, ‘Series Editor’ and ‘Contributor’.
|
Zotero fields |
Bibliographic element |
Status |
observations |
|
Author (or other) |
Creator |
Required if… |
... applicable |
|
Title |
Title |
Required |
|
|
Edition |
Number of edition |
Required if… |
… the edition is not the first |
|
Place |
Place of publication |
Optional |
|
|
Publisher |
Publisher |
Required |
|
|
Date |
Date of publication |
Required |
only the year is required |
|
Short title |
Title |
Optional |
this field will be used to identify the document in in-text citations if no creators are present |
|
URL |
Digital locator |
Required if… |
... applicable |
|
Call Number |
Internal number |
Optional |
it can be used to add an internal reference number |
|
Extra |
[can assume several] |
Optional |
can be used to add additional bibliographic elements that are not included by default, by using specific tags (e.g., doi:) |