Referencing with EU Style Using Zotero – EC Library Guide
How to create bibliographic records in Zotero
Creating bibliographic records
In addition to manually creating records, Zotero has four main methods for automatically creating bibliographic records:
1. Zotero can import about 20 different file types (see all formats in Zotero documentation) with bibliographic information. The most common are RIS (Research Information System) and BIB (BibTeX Bibliographic Database).
In this first tutorial (see the tab 1. RIS file), a RIS file will be used because it is a more reliable format, but the procedure is essentially the same for the other formats.
2. We can use several unique identifiers (see our guide on persistent identifiers) to create a bibliographic record in Zotero. The Zotero function Add item(s) by identifier can be used with these five identifiers:
In this second tutorial (see the tab 2. DOI), we will use the DOI, but the steps to create a record using identifiers are the same regardless of the identifier chosen.
3. To use this feature, you must install the Zotero connector for the web browser. It is not installed automatically with Zotero.
In this third tutorial (see the tab 3. Web connector), we will use the Zotero connector for Edge.
4. Zotero can automatically extract bibliographic metadata from some PDF files. The ability and accuracy of extraction depend on the properties of the PDF file, which can vary depending on how the file was created.
In this fourth tutorial (see the tab 4. PDF file), we will also explore additional settings to manage PDF files in Zotero.
Importing bibliographic records with a RIS file
Files with the RIS (research information system) or BIB (BibTeX bibliography database) extension contain bibliographic information that can be imported into reference managers such as Zotero. Most academic/scientific document databases (such as Scopus or Web of Science) and bibliographic discovery tools (such as Find-eR, the EC Libraries catalogue) provide one or both options for exporting search results. If you have both options, choose the RIS option, as this is generally a more reliable format.
In this tutorial, we will show how to import bibliographic references from a search carried out in Find-eR, using a RIS file.
Step #1: after performing the desired search in Find-eR, check the boxes (#a) in front of the document records you want to export or check the box (#b) in the grey area to select all references from the results list.
Step #2: click on the three dots on the opposite side to access different export options.
Step #3: we will use the Export RIS (#a) option and click Download (#b).
Step #4: in the Save As window, change the default name “Primo_RIS_Export” to a meaningful name (in this example we will call it “AI_act”), Zotero will use this name for the collection when it is imported.
Step #5: to import the RIS file (either in Zotero 6 or 7) go to File → Import.
Step #6: on the Import window, click Next >.
Step #7: choose the RIS file and open it.
Step #8: before clicking Next >, we can change the default settings.
It is recommended to leave the box checked: Place imported collections and items into new collection (#a). With this option selected, Zotero will create a folder with the name of the RIS file. Otherwise, the references are placed in the main root, without being in a specific folder. This option is not a good organisational practice.
Regarding File handling, the options concern how Zotero should manage possible files (such as full text files) attached to the references in the file we are importing. If we have not changed Zotero’s default settings for syncing, using the default option Copy files to the Zotero storage folder option (#b) could reduce the space available in our online account. This is because potential attachment files will also be copied to our web library. To avoid this, we can use the option: Link to files in original (#c).
Step #9: click Finish...
…and the collection “AI_act” with the 16 selected references is on your Zotero.
Tip: to avoid syncing unwanted files to your Zotero web account (as described in step #8), you can change the default sync settings.
In Zotero 7, go to Edit → Settings...
...and on the tab Sync (#a), uncheck Sync full-text content box (#b) and click OK.
In Zotero 6, go to Edit → Preferences...
...and on the tab Sync (#a), uncheck Sync full-text content box (#b) and click OK.
Importing a bibliographic record with a DOI
The steps for creating a record using identifiers are the same regardless of the identifier chosen. In this tutorial, we will use the DOI (digital object identifier). This identifier is commonly used for research articles, chapters, books and other academic papers, as also in official publications (such as the EU publications).
Step #1: Copy the identifier, we can copy the full URL or only the actual DOI, without the prefix (https://doi.org/).
Step #2: Choose the folder/collection where you want to create the record (#a) and click on the Add Item(s) by Identifier icon (#b). Then, paste the copied identifier into the search box (#c), press Enter key...
…and the record was created automatically.
Importing bibliographic records with a Zotero web connector
To install the Zotero web connector for your preferred browser, go to the web page www.zotero.org/download/connectors. If a specific browser connector is available, you will be prompted to download it.
Step #1: if you want to create a record in Zotero from a web resource, the first step is to open Zotero. Otherwise, an error message will be displayed.
Step #2: in Zotero we should select the folder/collection where we want to create the bibliographic record of the selected resource (#a).
Step #3: go to the web page with the resource that you want to import into Zotero. In most of publisher's websites, Zotero connector will detect the type of document displayed, changing the connector access icon (#a) accordingly.
Compare the icon for a journal article (shown on the left) with the icon for a book chapter (shown on the right).
Step #4: When you click on the Zotero connector icon (#a), a record with the bibliographic metadata will be created in the selected folder/collection (#b).
Back to Zotero we can see the created record.
Tip: in the Zotero connector save box, when you click the arrow next to the folder name (#a), you can choose where the record will be created.
Therefore, Step #2 is not mandatory, however it helps to have greater control over the records we create, especially when we have numerous records in Zotero.
Extract bibliographic metadata from PDF files
Step #1: select the pretended PDF file.
Step #2: drag the file into the desired Zotero collection (folder).
First, you will see only the PDF file in the collection (image on the left,
then, if the PDF file is readable, Zotero will be able to extract some metadata from it (image on the right).
The result can vary, but in most cases from a recent PDF file, Zotero can extract the relevant bibliographic information.
The PDF file was automatically renamed using specific collected metadata from the document. Namely, the author’s name (#a), the year of publication (#b) and the article title (#c).
These settings are enabled by default, but they can be changed.
PDF files copied to Zotero are placed by the application in a folder automatically created by Zotero within the user's documents folder.
To have more control over the folder and many other options related to the management of PDF files, we need to install specific plugins, like ZotMov (for Zotero 7, see step #2 of additional settings) or ZotFile (for Zotero 6).
For additional settings...
Step #1: in Zotero 7 go to Edit → Settings, in Zotero 6 (on the right) go to Edit → Preferences.
Step #2 (Zotero 7 on the left and Zotero 6 on the right): click on the tab General (#a).
For the automatic renaming of files to take place, the boxes: Automatically retrieve metadata for PDFs (#a), and Automatically rename attachment files using parent metadata (#b), must be activated.
In Zotero 7 we can also choose to rename files that are only linked but not moved to the folder created by the application (#c). It is also possible to customize the file names (#d), but its configuration requires some coding (see the image below).
Using the ZotMov plugin, accessible through the respective tab (see image below), we can choose the folder (#a) where the files will be moved or copied, depending on our choice (#b) of action.
