Referencing with EU Style Using Zotero
Referencing a preprint
Referencing a journal article
A preprint with a specific 'genre' designation
In-text citation
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit (Fierens et al., 2024).
Reference in the bibliography
Fierens, M., Pandit, H., Tamò-Larrieux, A. and Garcia, K. (2024), ‘A Solid Use Case to Empower and Protect Data Subjects’, SSRN scholarly preprint, Social Science Research Network, Rochester, NY, https://doi.org/10.2139/ssrn.4993170.
Bibliographic metadata in Zotero
A preprint without a specific 'genre' designation
In-text citation
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit (Faiz et al., 2024).
Reference in the bibliography
Faiz, A., Kaneda, S., Wang, R., Osi, R., Sharma, P. et al. (2024), ‘LLMCarbon – Modeling the end-to-end carbon footprint of large language models’, [preprint], arXiv:2309.14393, arXiv, https://doi.org/10.48550/arXiv.2309.14393.
Bibliographic metadata in Zotero
Preprints (academic/scientific papers in a version prior to the peer-review process)
Zotero 'Item Type' – 'Preprint'.
Creator roles (in order of preference as main creator): ‘Author’, ‘Translator’, ‘Editor’, and ‘Contributor’.
In the present version of EU style, the 'Reviewed Author' role is not considered.
|
Zotero fields |
Bibliographic element |
Status |
observations |
|
Author (or other) |
Creator |
Required if... |
... applicable |
|
Title |
Title |
Required |
|
| Gender |
Gender |
Required |
in the absence of a specific designation, the generic term [preprint] will be displayed |
|
Repository |
Distributor |
Required if... |
... applicable |
|
Archive ID |
Repository number |
Optional | |
|
Place |
Distributor place |
Optional |
|
|
Date |
Date of publication |
Required |
only the year is required |
|
Series |
Title of series/collection |
Optional | |
|
DOI |
Digital identifier |
Required if... |
... applicable |
|
URL |
Digital locator |
Required if... |
... applicable and a DOI is not present |
|
Short title |
Title |
Optional |
this field will be used to identify the document in in-text citations if no creators are present |
|
Call Number |
Internal number |
Optional |
it can be used to add an internal reference number |
|
Extra |
[can assume several] |
Optional |
can be used to add additional bibliographic elements that are not included by default, by using specific tags (e.g., place:) |